We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very happy time together at La Saga in France”
La Saga pool, courtyard and sun terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Saga pool, courtyard and sun terrace
outside dining area sun terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
La Saga pool, courtyard and sun terrace
outside dining area
sun terrace
living area with wood-burning stove
dining area
kitchen with a six hob range cooker
master bedroom with en-suite bathroom
en suite to master bedroom
Second bedroom with lounge area and wood-burning stove
middle floor bathroom
middle floor hall
3rd bedroom double
4th bedroom double
5th bedroom double
6th bedroom twin
top floor bathroom
La Saga at night time
outside dining area night time
Abbaye de Sénanque
Sunflowers
local boulangerie
La Saga is in the heart of the wine-making region
Poppy field in flower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Pernes-les-Fontaines, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jos8a2016
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very happy time together at La Saga in France”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We recently returned from a really enjoyable stay at La Saga in Pernes les Fontaines. The house is enchanting with a warm and inviting pool at the front in which we swam often and beside which we rested or ate as the mood took us. There was also a generously sized Sun Terrace with Sun Loungers but, for those of us who are not sun-worshippers or keen swimmers, relaxation could be sought in the house's comfortable lounge with its TV, a splendid stock of DVDs, films and numerous travel books covering the area. Also a log burning fire for the cooler evenings. Meals were prepared in the in the well-equipped kitchen from produce we purchased from the excellent local markets in and around Pernes and it evident from high standard of equipment available for use in the kitchen that the owners are themselves adventurous cooks and enjoy their food. Adjacent to the kitchen is a well-planned dining area with a splendid dining table and matching chairs where we often ate. We found the bedrooms, showers and toilets on the two floors above to be clean, comfortable and well equipped and the main room had a door leading directly on to the sun terrace. La Saga is an old stone barn which has been tastefully converted into a fine house and Pernes les Fontaines is a village full of character with its many fountains, good restaurants and and interesting shops. there is good public transport which we used to visit local markets (Orange, Carpentras etc.) as well as cities further afield such as Nimes and Avignon.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay soaking up the wonderful atmosphere of Pernes and its environs and enjoying all that La Saga had to offer. We hope to return again to this wonderful part of Provence and will most certainly make La Saga our base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the house and its proximity to centre of village
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_janetdaw...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace, quiet and sun, what more do you need?”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed at La Saga with my family - three generations. The house is extremely spacious and well equipped, The pool and outside space is perfect for relaxing and has places to find sun and shade. Step out of the door into a beautiful medieval town well worth taking a walk around. Wonderful patisserie just a short walk away.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: swimming pool and outside space
Liked least: Not a thing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareJame
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

"My family and I had a lovely stay at La Saga, the house is a lovely size and has everything you need. The kids loved the pool and the huge DVD collection. Even though it is right in the middle of Pernes you feel as if you are miles from anywhere once you are in the courtyard.

The house is in a great location for visiting the Luberon, the south coast and also all the small villages nearby. We loved the markets and found nearly one every day to go to.

Our favourite meal out was at La Camarette, recommended by Pete and Becky. The food was delicious and they cater for children too.

A brilliant time was had by all, and we shall definitely be returning."

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie w
1 review
“La Saga is not simply a property...it is truly a home!”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovingly appointed and maintained by its owners, Pete & Becky, no detail has been overlooked at La Saga! Absolutely beautiful and spotlessly clean, La Saga is not simply a property to be rented for a vacation. It is truly a home; shared with us by its owners and, along with their new friendship, to be remembered for a lifetime...and hopefully revisited! The excellent kitchen lacks nothing. Delightfully comfortable beds and bedrooms, each with lovely views of the rooftops and/or the courtyard, offer plenty of room. There are many spacious, well furnished and relaxing living spaces both indoors and out! A wonderful refreshing pool in a very private courtyard is cool and inviting after a day of exploring the many treasures of the town and surrounding area. Through the arched door of the courtyard you enter the charming Rue Emile Zola with a fabulous Patisserie and excellent Charcuterie close by at one end, across from one of the beautiful gates of this medieval walled town. There are restaurants and shops equally conveniently located at the other end of the quiet lane. There are markets and festivals to enjoy in Pernes Les Fountaines and in the many neighboring towns to explore. Pernes, as its name indicates, is home to dozens of ancient fountains, each one unique and all exquisite! There is a river walk greenway to be discovered as well! The local wine and olive oil are not to be missed...be sure to visit nearby La Camarrette for superior bottles both of these, as well as the some of the best dining in the area. Nancy and her sister run the vineyard, winery and olive groves and oil production while Nancy's husband, Chef Hugo presents a fabulous culinary experience in a truly gorgeous setting.
La Saga is the perfect home away from home for a truly rich experience of quintessential Provence. It is a wonderful location from which to base your exploration and a welcoming, relaxing and renewing place to which you will eagerly return! Many thanks to our new friends Pete and Beck for sharing this jewel with us!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our vacation!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosselb
Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most perfect relaxing holiday - well needed this year!”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our first stay in La Saga despite knowing the area quite well. We went as a large family group and the house was perfect for our needs. We really wanted a getaway and this was just the place. The house is so well equipped, the kitchen has everything you could need (even found a large tart dish for traditional French apple tart making), there are lots of DVDs which kept my children happy when they needed a break from the sun and we loved the outdoor table where we ate every meal. The weather was fantastic and it was great that there were places for the sun worshippers amongst us as well as the shade lovers!! The pool was perfect and the children spent most of their time there. We ate at La Camarette as recommended by Pete and Becky, and the food was outstanding, as was the wine! The week unfortunately flew by so we definitely want to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house so well equipped
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dajonesny
Hildenborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing House, in a Beautiful location”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This ranks as one of the best if not the best properties we've stayed in. Fully kitted with pretty much anything you could wish for. The owners could not have been more helpful and the whole process was made simple - Thanks Pete and Becky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: An amazing House!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qwerty111...
1 review
“La saga”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed with Valerie and her family.
La saga was very disappointing and did not live up to the pictures which are misleading.
The whole place is in dire need of redecoration and the damp needs to be sorted out.
Near all the ground floor walls have damp and peeling paint and plaster.
There is black mold behind the kitchen side table.
The place smells of damp and the air freshners do very little to mask the smell.
The kitchen is very narrow and will not seat more than 4 people.
The court yard has very little direct sunlight and you have to chase the sun around the pool.
There is a small sun terrace but only has 3 sun loungers, it could do with more.
There is no air conditioning and the whole place gets very humid and the damp smells intensify .
The pool is too small, it was cloudy and cold. Looked much larger in pictures

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Dear Qwerty1111111

Thank you for your feedback. Pete and I take pride in knowing that La Saga is fully prepared for the holiday season and do our best to maintain the high standard throughout the year. To receive such a review without any positives is very disheartening, especially as we accommodated your financial needs. We assume you got aggravated when your security deposit was refunded later than you requested (but on time as per our terms & conditions).

To clarify the points you made, the photographs are as the house is. The pool is 4x6sqm, we have never advertised it as anything different. I agree, it can feel cold when you first get in due to the air temperature being hotter than the water, especially during the summer season. There is an option for the pool to be heated if you wish.
We do have a maintenance man who visits once a week to service the pool. However, If the water appears cloudy there are instructions on how to remedy this in the house book (it normally happens if the sun has been particularly hot or it has had a lot of use). If you don't fancy doing this yourself it is suggested you contact us and we can talk you through it (also written in the house book).

There is no air conditioning but electric fans in each room, we have never claimed to have air con.

There is a dining table that seats twelve people a couple of metres from the kitchen, we don't suggest you try to fit your party around the kitchen table (it seats six).

La Saga was built in the 1700's and unfortunately there was no damp proofing put in place back then, like all old buildings. However, it is not damp, every year we ensure the property is fully aired and definitely not smelly! We redecorate ever year (this year we did the lounge area and master bedroom). Your comments claiming the house is in ‘dire need of redecoration’ and ‘smells of damp’ are simply not true.

We are extremely sorry if La Saga didn't live up to expectations. We really do try our best to provide everything and more for our guests. At any point during your holiday if you are not happy we do stress to get in touch and we will do everything we can to sort any problems out. Pete has since spoken to Valerie who stated that her party had a great holiday. We can only hope you enjoyed discovering the beautiful surrounding area, tasting the delicious, fresh local fayre and experiencing the sights of Provence more than you did your stay at La Saga. I'm sure that's one thing we can agree on, Provence really is a fabulous holiday destination.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing