We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover en route via Calais”
Review of Hotel L'Escale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ile d'Yeu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Escale
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ile d'Yeu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We chose this hotel as it is less than 20 minutes drive from Calais ferry and had positive reviews. We were happy with our choice. The rooms are basic but exceptionally clean (with nice toiletries). We ate at the restaurant and the seafood was excellent. Prices were reasonable. The breakfast was also good, with lots on offer. The surrounding location is very scenic and we drove along the coast the following day, stopping off at the beach. Would choose again when travelling via Calais.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klara-lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Escale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed one night there during a 2 day visit to the Ile d'Yeu. We left the hotel with mixed feelings.
On the one hand, staff was very nice at reservation and on arrival. Our room was tiny but perfectly clean. Hotel is well located at a 5 minute walk from the harbour and city where all shops and restaurants are. Our room opened on a small garden with chairs and tables to enjoy the sun or take a snack. A perfect setting for the price paid.
On the other hand, breakfast buffet was too basic and poor for the price paid (no fresh fruit, no cheese, etc.). Main complaint is that, when we came back to our room around 11h30 am on departure day , we found that our room had been made up for upcoming guests although 1) time of checking out was 12 noon, 2) we had not checked out, 3) we had kept our key, 4) wer had left all our belongings in the room. Furthermore, some of our items had disappeared from our room, either taken by housekeeping to their own office (e.g. one valuable bottlle of wine we had left on our table; we managed to have this given back to us) or simply dumped (we never found back these items...). Front desk apologized, as housekeeping but we still do not understand how such things might happen! Obviously the room was not available for housekkeping to prepare it for upcoming guests! Finally, when we paid our bill, front desk made a mistake when giving change back (of course, ropbbing us), clerck never gave us an invoice, and answered the phone instead of dealing with us.
To sum up, we do not know whether inefficiency or dishonesty is responsible for the bad way our stay ended.

Room Tip: Grougn level rooms with access to patio seem bettr
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric_Beylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank triperboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank niala19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank adelgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Teste33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ile d'Yeu
16.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Lara
Hotel Punta Lara
#6 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
282 reviews
13.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thalasso
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thal...
#2 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
1,247 reviews
19.7 mi away
Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE
Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa...
#1 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hotel de Bretagne
Hotel de Bretagne
#1 of 1 in Fromentine
60 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel  La Villa en l'Ile
Hotel La Villa en l'Ile
#2 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
348 reviews
12.3 mi away
Resid'Azur
Resid'Azur
#6 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Escale

Address: 14 rue de la Croix-du-Port | Port-joinville, 85350, Ile d'Yeu, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Ile d'Yeu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ile d'Yeu
Price Range: $74 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the charm of the Hôtel Escale which reflects the traditional style houses on the Ile d'Yeu : white walls, pink roofs, brightly painted shutters... You will love this peaceful, welcoming establishment, the marine decoration, the comfortable rooms, the friendly breakfast service (buffet), the antique well which we just had to keep. All this, just a 3 minute walk from the harbour.You surely dreamt of a haven such as this. So stop off here for a visit ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Escale France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing