We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly and suberb hosts”
Review of Bank Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank Villa
Ranked #3 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly and suberb hosts”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A very clean, well decorated and full of character establishment with owners that are very helpful and friendly delivering a charming and gracious attitude. Could not fault our overnight stay in any way and breakfast was a sheer pleasure.

We noticed a sign on one of the walls saying "arrive as strangers and leave as friends" and this is absolutely true. We will have no hesitation in staying here again if every we are in the vicinity.

Thank you Graham and Liz

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It was a delight to meet you both. We really enjoyed your company. Thank you for your wonderful comments.
We look forward to meeting you again soon, especially as the weather is now not only sunny but warm!
Best wishes,
Graham and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    21
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
151
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A very clean, well decorated and full of character establishment with owners that are very helpful and friendly delivering a charming and gracious attitude. Could not fault our overnight stay in any way and breakfast was a sheer pleasure.

We noticed a sign on one of the walls saying "arrive as strangers and leave as friends" and this is absolutely true. We will have no hesitation in staying here again if every we are in the vicinity.

Thank you Graham and Liz

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review. It is good of you to take the time after such a short stay.
We hope you can visit us again before too long and stay a little longer. Even though we are not far from Leeds, Masham does have the quality of feeling like another world.
And we had sunshine!
Best wishes,
Graham and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very friendly service and fine attention to detail! Lovely clean room! Graham and Liz made my stay the best I could have hoped for and more. Everything from the shower to the heating was a pleasure to enjoy! Tea and coffee as well as chocolate and biscuits! A lovely area with a nice view, close to the centre of town and still on the edge! Just down the hill from the Black Sheep Brewery and only a few minutes walk into the town centre! Would highly recommend and would visit again. SmileS =::-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-Tiffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you both and help celebrate the 'milestone' birthday. We are delighted that you both had such a good time and look forward to meeting you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were over due for a family break so we chose Masham. Why? Well with the Black Sheep Brewery and a cobblestone market place in such an idyllic setting, with plenty to see round about where else would you go? Oh, and my dad was a Yorkshire man another very good reason.The weather was pretty abysmal so we were hoping we had made the right choice with our accomodation. Within minutes of arrival at Bank Villa I knew we had. Such a warm genuine welcome from Graham and Liz our hosts. Being a bit of a stickler when it comes to cleanliness my eyes were every where, but with a spotless house from decoration to bedding they were right to have been recommended. When at home I usually have a light breakfast but when staying away spoil myself with a full English, in this case a full "Yorkshire" - absolutely delicious.. Again full marks for Graham & Liz they came up tops again. Using local suppliers for food they prepared a meal fit for a king. Just when I thought it couldnt get any better I found out that the Black Sheep Brewery was next door. So with a guided tour arranged off we went. Then with a little sampling and some to take home it turned out to be a fantastic addition to what has been a truly wonderful trip. Many thanks to Graham & Liz . We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipple39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
What a fantastic crowd you were!
It is wonderful to know you had such a good time, because we did as well.
We love having a family take all the rooms as it gives you chance to relax and not worry about bothering other guests whilst you are having fun.
We hope it will not be too long before you can return. We look forward to that.
Many thanks for the lovely flowers you sent. They are wonderful and much appreciated.
Best wishes to you all.
Graham and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here a few days ago and had a wonderful time. The hotel has great character and the rooms have been decorated in a way that is both modern yet sympathetic to the house. The top floor rooms are all en-suite which is surprising giving the age of the property. Both Graham & Liz were very gracious hosts who entertained us throughout the days we were there.

The hotel is very 'quirky'. Which adds to the experience. It's just a shame it was snowing constantly throughout our stay, as the conservatory and garden would have been lovely to sit in on a hot summers day.

The breakfast was fantastic, and well needed before a trip to the Black Sheep Brewery next door (literally!)

Next time I'm needing somewhere to stay in that neck of the woods, I will definately be giving them a call!

Thanks again for your hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonzieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Graham and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, North England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have returned from a weekend break in Masham where we stayed at the Bank Villa hotel. We had a lovely time and were made to feel really welcome by Liz and Graham who run the hotel. We stayed in room 4 and the room was lovely with lots of character and great facilities - tv and ipod dock in the room, lovely hot shower with plenty of clean towels changed daily and the bed was very comfortable. The room was cleaned to a very high standard. Breakfast was home cooked by Liz and this was delicious on both mornings and there was plenty of choice at breakfast including fruit, cereals and yoghurt. This hotel really was lovely and Liz went out of her way to make us feel special, even suprising me with a birthday gift of a bottle of wine and a card which was a lovely special touch. We would highly recommend Bank Villa and would gladly stay there again. Thank you so much for an enjoyable stay and for making us feel so welcome.

From Mr and Mrs Hawkins, Barnsley, South Yorkshire

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyMooise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What a great review. Many thanks. It is always appreciated when guests take the time share their good experiences.
It was a delight to meet you both and contribute to the birthday celebrations.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This weekend break was a Red Letter present for my wife. What a fantastic place.
Hosts were very welcoming and friendly and I got the impression that nothing would too much trouble. Room was lovely and breakfast was superb. We had a nice meal at the White Bear which was suggested to us by Liz & Graham. We would have no problem in recommending this place to anyone. and if we come back up this way we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your 'Red Letter Day' experience with us. It is heartening to know you enjoyed your stay and have taken the time to let others know by posting this loively review. Thank you.
We hope to see you both again soon.
Kind regards,
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Villa

Property: Bank Villa
Address: Bank Villa Bank Villa The Avenue, Masham HG4 4DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire Dales is a beautiful and varied area to explore. Bank Villa in Masham is in the most perfect location for you to enjoy all that is on offer. You may not need to drive anywhere! Which is a good thing with first class restaurants, pubs and both Black Sheep and Theakstons breweries on the door step!If you want to get out and about there are fantastic walks, cycle rides and drives from our door which will take you into the beauty and tranquility of the Dales. We are on the actual route of the Tour de France. Cyclists will have their bikes locked away overnight. Motorbikes are locked behind gates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bank Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Villa Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing