We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home comfort”
Review of Bank Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank Villa
Ranked #3 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home comfort”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Bank Villa is warm, comfortable, characterful, relaxing and felt like home.The welcome was excellent - Liz and Graham are wonderful hosts - friendly and informative. Hearty, well- cooked breakfasts set us up for the day. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and even though we were only there for two nights we had fresh towels both days. We wished we'd been staying longer so we could take advantage of the cosy lounges. Easy walk into Masham, which is charming. The proximity to the Black Sheep Brewery was a bonus! Thank you for making a "special" weekend extra- special!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_H388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Yes being close to everything in Masham, especially the Black Sheep Brewery is a bonus!
We are delight to hear you enjoyed your stay and our locally sourced 'Deliciousl Yorkshire' breakfast.
We look forward to meeting you both very soon.
Kind regards and best wishes,
Graham and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    21
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
151
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had a surprise birthday present, wife booked hotel when we got their 14 friends and family were waiting. Banks villa were fantastic and friendly hosts. Graham and Liz are such a friendly couple.
our room was clean and our bed was huge.
Breakfast top notch. Interesting villa, loads of history.
Masham is a great place , we had a brewery tour and did the leafs walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyTraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you had a great Birthday House Party and we were delighted to be a part of it. 14 Elvis's, one card board Elvis and Elvis on the cake! Brilliant!!
We enjoy hosting house parties and your party was the best yet. Hope you can all return soon. Not sure if we will rocognise anyone as themselves so you had better come as Elvis!!
Happy Birthday once again. See you all soon.
Love and Best wishes,
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our second trip to Bank Villa and we enjoyed this time as much as the first. On arriving we received a warm welcome from Graham and Liz. We've stayed in rooms 5 and 6 and both were nicely decorated and very clean, including the en-suites and the house is full of character. The breakfast was lovely. Choice of cereal, toast, fruit, etc followed by a full english, tea and coffee.
It's in a great location as it's only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Masham and the Black Sheep Brewery is literally a stones throw away, which was great as it was one of the main reasons we visited - it does excellent food as well as the beer!! The surrounding areas are lovely and it's not too far to drive to Ripon.
Would definately recommend Bank Villa and Masham and will be visiting again :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
How kind of you to write this wonderful review! It was a delight to meet you both again.
It is great that you enjoy the wide selection of goodies on offer at breakfast. We do our best to satisfy everyones needs and wishes with a wide selection and locally sourced quality produce. This area has so much good food it is hard not to.
We are really pleased you are planning a return visit, it is great fun having you both around.
Take care,
Once again thank you,
Best wishes
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I booked Bank Villa as a anniversary gift away for my parents. I hoped my telephone experience in boooking would extend to my parents stay; and it absolutely did. They had a wonderful weekend and on their return couldn't compliment their stay enough.
They received a very warm welcome, the accommodation was fantastic as was the convenience of location. The food was very lovely. It seems nothing could beat the friendliness, sense of humour and kindness of the hosts; and I cannot thank them enough.
I would not hesitate in recommending Bank Villa for anyone's stay, it's a beautiful location and I hope to visit with my family. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3taylor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
With sincere thanks for your review. It was a delight to speak to you on the phone and be able to welcome your parents to Bank Villa for their anniversary. We are delighted they enjoyed their stay, we certainly enjoyed their company.
Who knows we may even meet you in person as well before too long.
It is good to know our 'Gift Voucher' worked so well for you.
Love to your parents,
Kindest regards,
Liz and Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have been coming since 2004 and the hospitably from Graham & Liz is still outstanding, they are both so thoughtful and helpful. This time our impeccably clean double room, which had been stylishly redecorated, now contained a television. We even had Wi-Fi up in the bedroom! The bed was so comfortable that the only thing to tempt us out of it was the delicious award winning breakfast!
We dined in the restaurant every evening during our stay and really enjoyed the cuisine.
We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review. It has been our pleasure to welcome you to Bank Villa over the many years. Gosh is it so long, it seems like yesterday when you first brightened our lives. It is always a delight to welcome you and sad to see you leave. At least when you go we have your return visit to look forward to, and your brilliant emails to enjoy along the way.
With love and best wishes,
Until your next visit. Happy Jewellery shopping!!
Graham and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The weather wasn't up to much but our stay at Bank Villa more than made up for that, fantastic hosts Liz and Graham and a beautiful room.
I am partial to a nice breakfast and it was one of the best that I have had, setting me up for a days sightseeing, yes the sun did come out :)
Lovely area, beautiful scenery and very friendly locals.....oh and the Black sheep brewery is only a few yards away serving excellent food and of course one of the best Yorkshire ales.
I can honestly recommend Bank Villa to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
How lovely of you to write your wonderful review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the room and longed for Sunday Roast and 'Deliciously Yorkshire' breakfast.
Sorry the weather was not up to much but there was some sunshine...... eventually.
Yes having the Black Sheep brewery at the top of the garden is a bonus!
We hope it is not too long before you return, it was great fun meeting you both.
Kind regards,
Graham and liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location of the bank villa spot on !!
The amenities were really good ! The place was absolutely spotless !! The breakfast was excellent too !! The only negative point was the landlady ! On more than one occasion she was very rude and abrupt with us ! She reminded me of a very bossy headmistress ! And made us all feel like naughty school children ! But her husband was the total opposite ! Perfect host and very friendly ! She would have been better keeping out of the way and letting her husband deal with customers and would have been much more diplomatic !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickhel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

With regard to Liz, she quietly and politely asked you not to drink your own alcoholic drinks in the conservatory. We are a licensed premesis and it is against the law to consume your own alcohol in our public areas without our consent . In ten years we have been inspected five times by the police, if they had found you drinking your own drink they would have prosecuted US (Not you).
It would be a very heavy fine and our license revoked, this would affect our business greatly.
Would you go in to a pub or restaurant with your own drinks and not expect the licensee to ask you to stop?
I am very sorry you have this oppinion of Liz (My Wife) she works extremly hard to achieve our high standards and to make peoples stay as happy as she can. She also has to look after me because I am in very bad health. Our guest think she is really good, that is why we have an 85% repeat business, most people leave our home as our friends.
Once again thank you for your comments. We hope you can see our point of view now.
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Villa

Property: Bank Villa
Address: Bank Villa Bank Villa The Avenue, Masham HG4 4DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire Dales is a beautiful and varied area to explore. Bank Villa in Masham is in the most perfect location for you to enjoy all that is on offer. You may not need to drive anywhere! Which is a good thing with first class restaurants, pubs and both Black Sheep and Theakstons breweries on the door step!If you want to get out and about there are fantastic walks, cycle rides and drives from our door which will take you into the beauty and tranquility of the Dales. We are on the actual route of the Tour de France. Cyclists will have their bikes locked away overnight. Motorbikes are locked behind gates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bank Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Villa Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing