We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”

The Black Sheep Brewery
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Masham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A lovely meal had for the whole family looking forward to returning. Quality food, a little expensive but worthwhile for a special occasion.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    153
    36
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the visit, potential for improvement”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very nice and interesting place to visit, with excellent beer and good food. They have a nice shop where you can buy a variety of beers (obviously) and cool trinkets. They do a tour of the brewery, which is the main attraction, and it is the tour we found could do with some approval - the main issue being that we could not hear the guide over all the noice in the brewery. She tried using a antique sound system and mic but it was close to impossible to follow what she was saying. Also the tour was too quick and if you are not familiar with beer brewing from before you wont be much wiser after the tour, unfortunately. The beer though, was absolutely delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super brewery tour!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful brewery tour (and we have done several in the last years) with exciting ales. The tour itself was well done and very informative and the two third pint samples a good way to taste their offerings. We had one of each of the 4 on tap. My favourite was the "All Creatures"... light and refreshing but with plenty of body. The gift shop has an excellent selection of really nice souvenirs of good quality at a reasonable price. The pub/ restaurant offers a good selection of snacks or full meals. We had the smoked salmon plate and it was excellent. A great place for lunch or dinner plus the chance to see how the excellent ales are made.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were having a couple of nights away in Harrogate and decided to visit The Black Sheep Brewery. we are so glad we did. We joined one of the tours and had a very pleasant lady guide who was very knowledgeable, as others mentioned sometimes it was difficult to hear, but it is a working factory so you expect some background sound. We enjoyed the tasting afterwards, but did not have any food but what we saw looked lovely. The car park was very tight, as it serves the Bistro and tours it could be a bit congested, but we managed to squeeze in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireYorkie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyed !!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Took my partner for a birthday treat to see his favourite beer being brewed .
The tour was very reasonably priced and it included 2 third pints at the bar , which was great.
The talk and tour were interesting .
The shop has some reasonably priced things to buy as gifts.
Sadly the restaurant was not open for meals whilst we were there but we had snacks and of course a pint :)
The gluten free pudding was a bonus for me .
A must for anyone that appreciates real ale .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Sheep Brewery also viewed

Masham, North Yorkshire
Masham, North Yorkshire
 
Masham, North Yorkshire
Middleham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Sheep Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing