We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 1st caravan outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Station Yard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Station Yard
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our 1st caravan outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have camped for years, but this was our first caravan outing. This is by far the cleanest site I have ever come across. The staff/owners are very helpful and assisted us both on and off our pitch without being asked. A short walk took us into the village and the brewery!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenp956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
18
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I came across the motorhome and caravan site by chance and as It was my last outing of the year in my motorhome I decided to give it a go and I contacted the family owners to book a pitch with electric power. I was in the area on business and the site was en route. I duly arrived, carefully following the directions given to me. After the usual formalities I was positioned and 'hooked up'. The site is situated on the exact route of Stage 1 of the 2014 Tour de France. Unfortunately, the site is fully booked next July for two days either side of 5 July, and that includes extra facilities being put on on adjacent fields. The businesses of Masham are keenly awaiting the "Greatest Show on Earth". The whole site was spotless, bearing in mind the recent inclement weather conditions was not conducive to keep things tidy. I was very impressed with the facilities, with the washrooms being amongst the best for cleanliness. I have not seen this high a standard normally associated with four star hotel establishments. This family owned business is a great credit to Yorkshire and will leave a lasting legacy for those who stay on this site. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportfagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to this site (The Old Station Caravan & Camping Site, Masham). The site is well kept and although just off the main road into Masham you don't notice any traffic noise. The pitches are generous and well marked.

The toilet block is modern, clean and warm, there's even a step stool provided so children can reach the taps to use the basins. The showers are free and hot.

Electric Hook-Up is 16amp and is activated on arrival, if you use up all the electric allocated on arrival you have to top it up and pay an additional fee, makes you use your electricity sparingly.

The site is a 10-15 min walk into Masham, you can walk along the footpath by the side of the main road or cut across the old showground/field.

In Masham you will find both The Black Sheep Brewery and Theakstons Brewery, well worth a visit. On Saturday morning you can visit the local market, along with various shops and cafes.

There is a new Co-op supermarket, opposite the Petrol Station in Masham on the Leyburn Road, which also has a cash-point.

Room Tip: If you have a long (8m) twin axle caravan you will need to pre-book and advise the site as some pitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stopped here during July, the pitches are of a great size, the showers and toilets are superbly clean! It's amazing considering! Must clean them all day!

It's a nice 10 minute walk into Masham, ideal really!

Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeefOfYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.6 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bivouac at Druid's Temple
0.5 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#2 of 7 in Masham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Station Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Station Yard

Property: Old Station Yard
Address: Station Road, Station Yard | Low Burton, Masham HG4 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Masham
Also Known As:
Old Station Yard Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing