We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ice cream”
Review of Brymor Dairy

Brymor Dairy
Ranked #1 of 10 Shopping in Masham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful ice cream”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Keep coming back here every few weeks. Huge choice of ice cream,cornets,tubs etc. Value is great and you can have lovely whipped cream on as well. If your having a special occasion they do wonderful ice cream cakes. Weve had at least 4 of these they are that good. They also serve tea/coffee etc. Great even on a cold day. Kids can even visit the cow shed. Must try it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy6466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    81
    27
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A regular treat for all our family”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have been coming to Brymor for years - it's the top treat for my children when there's something to celebrate. Easy parking, lovely rural setting, super icecream in loads of different flavours, a chance to visit the calves in the barn, and some delightful hens / ducks / geese / turkeys to admire: what's not to like? Sadly, though, I would agree with another reviewer that the staff leave one with a slightly sour taste in the mouth. I know it must be an intensely boring job for them, but for us it's a special occasion, and the heavy sighs as my daughter dithers over her flavour choice really do put one off. We too have experienced the 'we're coming up to closing time and it's too much effort to serve you' syndrome. It's a great shame, because better service would really raise this into the excellent category.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best ice-cream dairies - just don't expect a smile!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We always stop off at the Brymor Dairy (and have done for several years now) - the ice-cream is the best we have found and the range of flavours is very impressive. You can see the cows in the barn and there are toilet facilities.

Our favourite flavours are: Black Cherry Whim Wham, Supergold and Raspberry Cheesecake. We usually have the three scoop sundaes with sauce and a wafer (it is usually a once a year visit after all!)

We have found, though, that we don't usually get a smile or much courtesy from the staff who can come across as quite surly. On our last visit we arrived 45 minutes before closing and felt very much that we were seen as an inconvenience for turning up at that time! We weren't allowed to have our ice-creams in a glass bowl (apparently because of the time) and staff were hoovering around us. It's still well worth a visit though - and even a detour - for the wonderful ice-cream. You can take tubs home with you so take your cool bag!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuttlefish_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sundae Best!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very very busy ice cream parlour, but no wonder the ice cream is lovely, really nice texture and flavour. I had a nutty crunch ice cream sundae and it was worth every calorie. The ice cream parlour itself could do with a bit of an up-date, but who cares when the ice cream is yum, you eat it quickly anyway, so are not there long. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SBLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ice-cream ever, and a lovely spot”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Brymor is on the edge of the Dales, and worth calling in to if you are travelling through Leyburn, Masham or on your way up Wensleydale.
They have a large car-park, and kids will like to visit the lovely Jersey cows who provide the milk for the totally delicious ice-cream (try the Praline Pecan Delight). They also serve cream teas and ice-cream sundaes. They have indoor and outdoor seating.
You can also buy tubs of the ice-cream to take home.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richyr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brymor Dairy also viewed

Middleham, North Yorkshire
Jervaulx, North Yorkshire
 
Masham, North Yorkshire
Masham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Brymor Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing