We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A red letter day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swinton Park Birds of Prey

Swinton Park Birds of Prey
Ranked #7 of 17 things to do in Masham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a wonderful centre which offers many experiences for the whole family. Falconry, Birds of Prey hunting, demonstrations, childrens events etc. They also have fun things like Hawk and Bafrn Owl Ring Bearing and Dove release for weddings. The center is found at Swinton Park, but is owned and run by Sophie Abbott. Very much appreciated experience!
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A red letter day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

A brilliant experience! With owls up close and personal and the hawk 'Ari' was awesome! Sophie is brilliant, she knows these birds inside and out. Such a fantastic day. We took our nephew for his 18 th birthday and saw him smile like he did when he was 10! A complete joy to watch! Thanks so much.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Half Day Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my husband did the 2 hour half day experience. At first I thought the £75 per person charge was a little expensive but once we got started I realised it was well worth the money. Sophie who is the Falconer there and who actually owns all the birds there, is a lovely girl and is very knowledgeable about all the birds. We got to fly a range of birds of pray including Harris Hawks and a very large Eagle Owl which was amazing. All the birds seem very well cared for and Sophie is great with them, so if you're staying at Swinton Park or are in that area and you like birds of prey then I would strongly recommend booking the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacck190040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Hawk Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was my second visit to Swinton Park Birds of Prey.From the offerings we chose the hawk walk and it was great to meet H the Harris hawk again.
Accompanied by Sophie the three of us plus hawk set of for a gentle meander around the Swinton Park Estate. H set the
pace for us as he flew from the tree tops to our gloves.
Sophie gave us instruction , information and for a fantastic hour, H was ours :-).
This was an amazing experience. Sophie's passion and knowledge shine forth. Should you be visiting the area, pay a visit to Swinton Park and meet the Birds Of Prey

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Owl experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A wonderful close up introduction to some beautiful birds of prey. An opportunity to fly the birds yourself with a lot of expert guidance from Sophie who really knows her stuff. A brilliant hour. Just try not to be squeamish about the birds diet!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank els182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Time Out !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Really enjoyed the Falconers Lunch ... flying some of the owls with the lovely Sophie ... followed by a fine dining lunch experience ... then a super walk in the grounds ... a great and relaxing day out!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAZHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swinton Park Birds of Prey also viewed

Masham, North Yorkshire
Masham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Swinton Park Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing