We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay at The Millgate B & B, Masham, North Yorkshire.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Millgate came with a top reputation. We were not disappointed in any way. Superb Olde World accommodation, set in a part of North Yorkshire ideal for exploring The Dales.The Millgate is warm, clean and very comfortable. The hosts are warm, friendly and will do anything they can to make a stay as comfortable as possible.
The breakfast at The Millgate as been the subject of awards for the quality on offer, once again we not disappointed, the selection & quality of the food on offer was truly spectacular by any standards.
We would not hesitate to stay there again, and to recommend The Millgate to family & friends.

Room Tip: We had the " basic " room which came with a personal bathroom exclusively for our use. The...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Anthony W
Thank you for your review. Your thoughtful comments about your stay were very flattering.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the Award Winning Breakfasts.

We love to spoil our guests and I am so glad that you enjoyed the lemon, parsley and black pepper sole served with sauteed potatoes and poached eggs as it is one of my favourite breakfasts. We often serve Andrew's rod caught rainbow and brown trout for breakfast too. As summer approaches Andrew prepares hot smoked Masham rainbow trout and I pan fry the fillets and serve them on Masham Free range scrambled eggs for a sensational breakfast dish.

I am glad you enjoyed our lovely Wensley Twin room with it's own private bathroom and we are delighted that you will be recommending us to family and friends.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Millgate Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 704 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Had a lovely 1 night stay at this wonderful B&B on Thursday 8th May. Sue and Andrew were very welcoming hosts and both lovely people. From the homemade scones on arrival to the filling full english we had before we departed this is certainly a place to remember.The room we stayed in was of high standard very clean and comfortable. Millgate will be highly recommended by both myself and my husband and we will definitely be booking to stay again - next time for longer!
Thank you Angela and Mark Harvey

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Angela and Mark
Thank you for your first class review of your short but sweet stay in our home. We are delighted that you are highly recommending us and we look forward to your next visit.

I am glad that you plan to stay for a few more days on your return as there is so much of the area that you did not have time to explore. We have first class walks on our doorstep and Masham is a fabulous town to visit with our two Famous Breweries and loads of cafes, pubs and fine dining restaurants all in walking distance.

Don't forget to book early as we are very busy and already taking booking for October at the weekends.

KIndest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

An excellent B & B in every respect. The "cottage" was wonderfully unique with bags of character; its location was very convenient in respect of Masham venues (restaurants and breweries!).
Sue and Andrew were exceptional hosts, without being overbearing; breakfast was perfect - and the arrival scones very tasty!
We'll certainly be visiting again on our next northbound journey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear MJW
Thank you for naming us "the Gem of Masham". We love your review with your marvelous comments about our central location and our Award Winning Yorkshire Breakfasts.

The best part of the review is where you say you will be visiting again. We will have your scones ready and waiting when you return.

Best wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Looking for a bed and breakfast with character, all mod cons, outstanding breakfast, a great location where everything in the town is on your doorstep and a walk by the river just around the corner? Millgate has it all and exceptional hosts Sue and Andrew too. It's so good there is a temptation to keep it to yourself!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear GeorgeNorman
Thank you for this first class review of your stay in Millgate earlier this year. We are delighted that you had such a good time. We love the location of Millgate just off the Market Place with all the shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants within walking distance. As you pointed out, we are only 2 minutes from the beautiful River Ure at the bottom of Millgate.

Thank you for resisting the temptation to keep it to yourself as we really enjoyed reading your review. Do come again soon.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have just had a wonderful 2 night break at Millgate House in Masham. Two adults and two boys of 8 and 9 and we had promised to take them to the Forbidden Corner. What a gem Millgate is. Sue and Andrew were very welcoming hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Home made scones on arrival, plenty of choice of teas and coffee in the rooms including tea-pot, cafatiere AND fresh milk! Great breakfast with lots of choice and all locally sourced produce. We had the top floor to ourselves. One double, one twin and great bathroom with state of the art shower. We also had sole use of the shower room on the 1st floor so no queues for the bathroom. Quiet location, close to a park with swings/slides for the boys, and river walk. Masham is the kind of English village we all want to live in or at least experience every now and then. Large village square, market twice a week, independent boutiques and shops, good cafes and more than enough good restaurants/pubs. A folder in our rooms gave us good information about the area, things to do and see, and some good tips on local restraurants and cafes. We had a wonderful few days and hope very much to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannahbatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Joannahbatiste
We were both delighted to read your review. Thank you very much. We really enjoyed having you and the boys stay with us and the boys were a credit to you both.

Your review paints an enchanting picture of Masham which is truly a lovely place to live or to visit. We look forward to your return as there is still so much to see and loads of adventures for the boys. Hackfall Woods is a must do on your next visit.

We send our good wishes to you all
Love from Sue & Andrew Burrell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A lovely B and B in lovely Masham. Sue and Andrew could not be more welcoming and go to great lengths to make sure that just everything needed for a comfortable stay is covered. Breakfast is truly delicious with locally sourced ingredients ( not just great bacon, sausage, eggs and black pudding but first class tomatoes and mushrooms too) home made bread and a daily special! You will not need to eat lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnieK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear MinnieK111

Thank you for your 5 Star review of your recent stay in Masham. Your comments about the quality of our breakfast were really appreciated.

We buy all our produce locally. The award winning sausages, Masham dry cured bacon, black pudding and free range eggs are from Beavers Butchers in Masham.

Andrew and I hope you will come back and stay with us again and we wish you both the very best.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We received a warm welcome from Sue at her delightful cottage at Masham. Freshly baked scones were brought to us and we were shown our spotlessly clean and pretty bedroom. Breakfast were super and very filling. The home made rolls were particularly delicious. Sue was generous with her time and suggested some helpful ideas for days out. The village of Masham is lovely. Nice walk by the river and up to the church. Delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavilionbuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Pavilionbuxton

Thank you for your 5 star review. Your thoughtful comments are really appreciated. Andrew and I are delighted that you loved the food, our Millgate double en suite, and the lovely town of Masham.

Thank you for highlighting the picturesque river walk just outside our front door. We are so lucky to be just off the market place with all the shops, cafes pubs and restaurants yet only minutes from river walks along the beautiful River Ure.

We both hope that you will return to Masham very soon.

KIndest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#3 of 7 in Masham
227 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range: $83 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing