We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very clean & pleasant B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very clean & pleasant B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here back in March 2012. I believe the B&B had not long opened and I was certainly made to feel very welcome by Susan (the owner), who had warm scones with butter & jam ready for my arrival. I stayed in a room on the top floor which was very clean and perfectly adequate. The property was nice and quiet, set back from the village square at the end of a dead-end road. I would have no hesitation recommending this B&B to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomR12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Tom – lovely to hear from you after so long, (you were our third visitor) and thank you very much for the delightful review.

You mixed up the location a little as we are at the start of Millgate not the end. Millgate is a lane for walkers as it leads to the magnificent Ripon Rowel and Hackfall Woods walks along the River Ure in one direction and through the wood at the bottom of the lane to the river walk leading to Masham’s famous and charming fisherman’s hut in the other direction. Millgate is also part of the Oak leaf trail around Masham leading to the beautiful Parish Church.

We need to have you stay again to refresh your memory so please come back soon.
Kind regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
485
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Millgate for one evening so we could attend a wedding nearby. The room was lovely, a good size with a modern bathroom. Andrew and Sue were brilliant hosts, making us fresh scones for our arrival, recommending local pubs and offering us a lift to the wedding venue. The breakfast was lovely and served with freshly baked bread. I would highly recommend a stay at the Millgate

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Percy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Catherine

Thank you for your review – we really enjoyed having you both and we are hoping you will come back soon to visit.

Thank you so much for the lovely compliments they are much appreciated.

Best wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great room, fantastic bacon like gammon for breakfast ! Home made scones on arrival, run by a lovely friendly couple. The bedroom we stayed in was ultra clean and the bed linen was crisp and fresh. The location is ideal as well, 200 yards to a fantastic pub. Just a lovely place to stay .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Dave

Thank you for your review – we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Millgate. Hope to see you both again very soon as there is so much more for you to see and do in and around lovely Masham.

Have a great Xmas and New Year.
Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My Mam, Grandma and I stayed in Millgate for one night when visiting Masham and, Carlsberg jokes aside, it is quite simply the best B & B any of us have ever stayed in. Every last detail of your stay has been considered, and from the decor to the service the experience was an absolute treat. Sue and Andrew are warm and full of useful information, they take such pride in ensuring their home and business are nothing short of first class. Special mention must go to the catering; the scones, breakfast and bread rolls were exquisite (keep a close eye on any spare scones, mind......!) In sum, the excellent reviews on here are well deserved and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Claire,

Thank you – if Carlsberg did reviews then this would be how they would be written! Your comments are just so kind and Andrew and I were really pleased to have made your stay so pleasant.

We would love you all to come back to Millgate – 3 generations, delightful company and a real pleasure for us to entertain you all in our home.

Love and Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This B&B accomodation is terrific. Why? Where do we start. My wife & I booked for 2 nights in this top rated, Grade 2 listed B&B, it was soon easy to see why, after we were greated by the owners, Sue & Andrew, who are very homely, immediately making us feel welcomed, more as 'old friends' than guests. Millgate is one of those quirky, unusual B&B's that has it's own unique history - take that on board as you find this little gem, in a lane - a short spur off the lovely market square at Masham - itself a lovely little Yorkshire village. Low ceilings, a little climb up the stairs to the bedrooms, but all adding to the charm, as was: home made hot scones on arrival, fresh flowers, complimentary toiletries and clean towels for your use, fresh milk (not UHT cartons) with your tea/coffee tray, water & glasses, an amazing breakfast which you order in the morning (when you'll know what you fancy!) and eat in the converted 'jail' now a breakfast room. Our hosts are a mine of information regarding the locality and provided menus of most of the ample number of eating hostelries, many within walking distance of 'Millgate', (best to book tho, most are very popular). We've visited countless B&B's in the UK over many years and would certainly rate 'Millgate' as one of the best we've ever staying in, complimented by the super little village of Masham. Go along and enjoy!! :)

Room Tip: The en-suite double bedroom may be better than the twin bedded room for couples if you prefer to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear John
Thank you for your amazing review. I do not think a hotel inspector could have done a more comprehensive write-up of our quirky and unusual B&B.

You two were both so entertaining and informative and it was our pleasure to have you as our guests. Thank you for rating us so highly – it really made our day.

Do come back soon to lovely Masham.
Love & best wishes to you both

Sue & Andrew Burrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend in Masham, staying at Millgate B&B. Sue & Andrew were really helpful and made us feel so welcome. The house is lovely and homely in that totally relaxed non-fussy kind of a way. The cooked breakfasts and Sue's baking (scones on arrival and a different freshly baked bread every morning) were amazing. On Sunday morning we were even treated to fresh trout that Andrew had caught the previous day. They'd really thought of everything. We're planning our next visit already!

There are loads of really good places to eat in Masham within easy walking distance of Millgate B&B. If you're fancying dinner at Vennells though - best to book in advance, we couldn't get in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Catherine

Thank you so much for this review and for highlighting the fact that Masham has so many fabulous places to eat. Andrew was also chuffed that his trout got a mention and I am still blushing from the praise you gave my home baking and breakfasts.

Hope every thing goes well with your 'soon to be' new arrival and we hope to have 3 of you back to stay with us next year.

Love and Best Wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Antoni de Calonge, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Susan and Andrew Burrell gave us a warm and friendly welcome accompanied by fresh scones. Our room was cosy with a comfortable bed and well equipped en-suite with an array of toiletries. Breakfast was in 'the jail' a room now part of the house which had been Masham's detention room. There was a full choice of fruit, cereals and yogurts and a traditional 'full English' but by chance were offered fresh trout caught locally the day before by Andrew. It was wonderful. We recommend Millgate without reservation for its quality and Dales location.

Room Tip: There are two rooms - both are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Colin

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We really appreciate guests taking the trouble to write about their stay at Millgate.

Thank you for your recommendations about the quality of our facilities and our location. We are so lucky to be able to share our home with so many wonderful and interesting visitors.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.2 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#2 of 7 in Masham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Property: Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive 100% Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing