We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Susan and Andrew Burrell gave us a warm and friendly welcome accompanied by fresh scones. Our room was cosy with a comfortable bed and well equipped en-suite with an array of toiletries. Breakfast was in 'the jail' a room now part of the house which had been Masham's detention room. There was a full choice of fruit, cereals and yogurts and a traditional 'full English' but by chance were offered fresh trout caught locally the day before by Andrew. It was wonderful. We recommend Millgate without reservation for its quality and Dales location.

Room Tip: There are two rooms - both are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Colin

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We really appreciate guests taking the trouble to write about their stay at Millgate.

Thank you for your recommendations about the quality of our facilities and our location. We are so lucky to be able to share our home with so many wonderful and interesting visitors.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 717 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a delightful time staying at the Millgate B&B. As a young family with 2 children (aged 2 & 5) we stayed in the family suite with the top floor of the accommodation to ourselves. We only stayed for one night as we were in Masham for a wedding reception at the Black Sheep Brewery, however Sue and Andrew made us feel extremely welcome. They were very good with the children and full of knowledge regarding local attractions and activities which the kids would enjoy. The quality of the accommodation, including the fixtures and fittings, furniture and decoration is first class. Lots of attention to detail, very clean and modern whilst maintaining the cottage feel of the property. Although the accommodation itself is impressive I must say the complimentary fresh scones upon arrival were a lovely touch and the breakfast the following morning was gorgeous and reason in itself to stay there. I highly recommend the B&B to any young family staying in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Peter

What a delightful review – Thank you. It was kind of you to say that you would highly recommend us to any young family. The family /friends suite is ideal for young families as there is plenty of space and privacy as the top floor of the house.

Andrew and I have loads more ideas for fun days for your children (who were charming company).

I was very pleased to have my breakfast described as gorgeous – Thank you.

Love and Kindest Regards to your lovely family.

Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Warm and friendly welcome, hot scones a delight on arrival. Breakfast was excellent with lovely warm freshly made rolls. Bird life superb while eating breakfast, nut hatchs, robins and blackbirds all on the bird feeding station outside.

Sue and Andrew were brilliant hosts and very knowledgeable of the history and places to visit in the area.

Accommodation was very clean with very comfortable bedding.

Thank you for a lovely stay, we will definitely stay again in the future and recommend you to friends and family.

We visited Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal which have beautiful gardens and lovely walks.

We also visited Ripon Catherdral which had an art exhibition when we visited.

We ate at the White Bear and The Bay Horse and both meals were very good and reasonably priced.

Two breweries in the village, so there was lots of local ale to sample.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham-and-Sheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Graham and Sheree

Thank you for this delightful review. It is so kind of you to share your experiences in Masham for the benefit of other travellers.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the scones, breakfasts and my freshly baked rolls. Thank you for highlighting some of the marvellous visitor attractions in the area and the lovely food available in two of our fantastic pubs & hotels.

Kind regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Do come and visit us again soon as Andrew has some more suggestions of places for you to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had a one night stay on business. The accommodation, service and food were as good as 5 star and I left wanting to get to know Sue and Andrew better - something you never feel in a hotel. If every B&B was like this I'd never stay in a hotel again, and save a lot of money in the process!
Thanks for all your efforts.
Rich J

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Richard
Andrew & I were thrilled to read your review of Millgate, Thank you for taking the time to write so generously about your stopover in Masham.

As a new bed & breakfast we aim to give great service so feedback like yours is wonderful. It is rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay at Millgate so much and we really appreciate the 5 star tribute.

We hope you are able to return as a visitor so that you can sample some more Masham ales and visit our famous Black Sheep and Theakstons Breweries at your leisure.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at millgate for 4 nights, Monday to Thursday. The room was very cosy and clean, the tea and coffee making facilities were excellent particularly owed to the range of teas, coffees and biscuits available (and replenished daily). Breakfasts

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomwilks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry for not responding earlier but I had hoped you might have been able to resubmit your review with the missing bits added.

I was really pleased to have 2 vegetarians staying who gave me free rein to try out my vegetarian breakfast treats. You two were a delight as you ate everything: The couscous and chick pea bake with poached eggs and toasted cheese, the vegetable pizza, and the crepe baskets with fruit harvested from Millgate close to the river.

It was lovely for me to be able to cuddle your adorable baby girl whilst you ate your breakfast in peace and we send her our love. We hope you are able to return to Millgate so that we can see how she has grown.

Best wishes and love to you all

Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good location for sampling the local breweries and meandering about the village. We were made to feel extremely welcome and were spoilt for breakfast - including homemade rolls and freshly caught trout!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_Columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear K

What a lovely surprise to get this review - Thank you. Andrew has not been able to catch Trout recently because the river is getting too much water. You were one of the lucky ones.

We are so glad you enjoyed Masham and hope to see you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

From start to finish our stay was fantastic. We had lovely hot scones on arrival and the room was beautiful and relaxing. Sue and Andrew were perfect hosts and very knowledgeable of the area and the history of the house. Breakfast was delightful with hot homemade bread and a good cooked breakfast. Could not wish for anything more, didn't want to come home. Lovely lovely people and guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda y y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Amanda
This is a delightful review and we are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay. You were only here for one night but you made a big impression on us.

Thank you for your comments about my homemade bread and the breakfast. We look forward to your return to Millgate and lovely Masham.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
23 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,041 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.2 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#3 of 7 in Masham
231 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range: $94 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing