We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yorke Arms(Pateley Bridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
723
13
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
723
13
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade sconessue and andrewb bon arrivalperfect hostscaught troutblueberriesattention to detaileach morningplaces to visitfresh milka lovely staylovely couplechilled waterwarm welcomelittle extraslocal knowledge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 740 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Warm and friendly welcome, hot scones a delight on arrival. Breakfast was excellent with lovely warm freshly made rolls. Bird life superb while eating breakfast, nut hatchs, robins and blackbirds all on the bird feeding station outside.

Sue and Andrew were brilliant hosts and very knowledgeable of the history and places to visit in the area.

Accommodation was very clean with very comfortable bedding.

Thank you for a lovely stay, we will definitely stay again in the future and recommend you to friends and family.

We visited Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal which have beautiful gardens and lovely walks.

We also visited Ripon Catherdral which had an art exhibition when we visited.

We ate at the White Bear and The Bay Horse and both meals were very good and reasonably priced.

Two breweries in the village, so there was lots of local ale to sample.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham-and-Sheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Graham and Sheree

Thank you for this delightful review. It is so kind of you to share your experiences in Masham for the benefit of other travellers.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the scones, breakfasts and my freshly baked rolls. Thank you for highlighting some of the marvellous visitor attractions in the area and the lovely food available in two of our fantastic pubs & hotels.

Kind regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Do come and visit us again soon as Andrew has some more suggestions of places for you to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had a one night stay on business. The accommodation, service and food were as good as 5 star and I left wanting to get to know Sue and Andrew better - something you never feel in a hotel. If every B&B was like this I'd never stay in a hotel again, and save a lot of money in the process!
Thanks for all your efforts.
Rich J

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Richard
Andrew & I were thrilled to read your review of Millgate, Thank you for taking the time to write so generously about your stopover in Masham.

As a new bed & breakfast we aim to give great service so feedback like yours is wonderful. It is rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay at Millgate so much and we really appreciate the 5 star tribute.

We hope you are able to return as a visitor so that you can sample some more Masham ales and visit our famous Black Sheep and Theakstons Breweries at your leisure.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at millgate for 4 nights, Monday to Thursday. The room was very cosy and clean, the tea and coffee making facilities were excellent particularly owed to the range of teas, coffees and biscuits available (and replenished daily). Breakfasts

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomwilks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry for not responding earlier but I had hoped you might have been able to resubmit your review with the missing bits added.

I was really pleased to have 2 vegetarians staying who gave me free rein to try out my vegetarian breakfast treats. You two were a delight as you ate everything: The couscous and chick pea bake with poached eggs and toasted cheese, the vegetable pizza, and the crepe baskets with fruit harvested from Millgate close to the river.

It was lovely for me to be able to cuddle your adorable baby girl whilst you ate your breakfast in peace and we send her our love. We hope you are able to return to Millgate so that we can see how she has grown.

Best wishes and love to you all

Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good location for sampling the local breweries and meandering about the village. We were made to feel extremely welcome and were spoilt for breakfast - including homemade rolls and freshly caught trout!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_Columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear K

What a lovely surprise to get this review - Thank you. Andrew has not been able to catch Trout recently because the river is getting too much water. You were one of the lucky ones.

We are so glad you enjoyed Masham and hope to see you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

From start to finish our stay was fantastic. We had lovely hot scones on arrival and the room was beautiful and relaxing. Sue and Andrew were perfect hosts and very knowledgeable of the area and the history of the house. Breakfast was delightful with hot homemade bread and a good cooked breakfast. Could not wish for anything more, didn't want to come home. Lovely lovely people and guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda y y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Amanda
This is a delightful review and we are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay. You were only here for one night but you made a big impression on us.

Thank you for your comments about my homemade bread and the breakfast. We look forward to your return to Millgate and lovely Masham.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews