We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a fantastic B & B with perfect hosts Sue and Andrew. We had a two night stay in this beautiful historic home. Our double room was immaculate and we too was greeted with delicious freshly baked scones. My husbands precious motorbike was stored in Andrews garage, thankyou Andrew for this. The breakfast was superb, really set us up for the day, a full English and home made bread what more could one ask for. Millgate is very well situated in Masham for all the local amenities and attractions. We will certainly be back and Sue you will have to come out with us to the Karaoke as you have a fine voice and great leg movements!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krakow2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Krakow 9
Well my secret is out now! We were both delighted when we read that our home was beautiful and historic; we were pleased you found the room immaculate and the breakfast superb; we were happy that you appreciated Andrew giving up his garage for your shiny precious motorbike;
BUT
You really don’t want to hear me sing…..no honestly you don’t. ( I do have great leg kicks though!).
Thank you for the review. You were both lovely company and we would be delighted to join you on a night out in Masham when you return.

Best wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 721 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Millgate with our 2 teenage boys during our trip to revisit places of our families past. What an amazing find Millgate B&B was, we stayed in the clean, comfortable and cozy family room which shares a bathroom, but is divided into 2 separate rooms; just perfect for any family's needs.
We were greeted with fresh scones and we particularly loved the tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The coffee can be freshly brewed in a small cafetiere (not the usual instant granules!) and the fresh milk awaits you in a flask to keep it cool. After our dinner in the village and a walk around we returned to our room and found the duvet folded back with a chocolate on the pillows to sweeten our dreams.
The breakfast is amazing, with fresh fruit salad, freshly baked home made rolls and a choice of full English Breakfast or scrambled eggs and Scottish salmon.

A real gem, not to be missed if you visit Masham.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyGCLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Family GCLJ

Thank you for the review of us and our home. The title of the review is quite an accolade and we value your tribute highly. The Family/friends suite is lovely for a family group and it was our pleasure to share our home with your charming family. Your boys are a credit to you both.

The services we provide to help our guests to feel special give us pleasure when they are appreciated. We were very pleased to be given an Visit England Award for our Breakfasts but we value your comments just as highly – Thank you again.

We hope you enjoyed your trip down memory lane in England and would love to play host to you and the boys should you pass this way again.

Love to you all
Sue & Andrew Burrell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Can only mirror other peoples reviews. Sue and Andrew are the perfect hosts, genuine and pleasant couple. The house is beautiful, homely and steaped in history,we've stayed at a few b&b's in our time and this is the best so far.Sue couldn't do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible and Andrew offered to take his treasured car out of the garage so I could get my motorbike in to save unloading it. Thanks for a lovely stay.Margaret&Steve

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Margaret & Steve

What a wonderful review - Thank you for your thoughtful comments about us and our home. We are so glad you appreciated the history of Millgate and enjoyed your stay sufficiently to describe us as “the best so far” of B&B’s you’ve visited.

Do come back and stay a little longer as your visit was all too brief and there is so much more to see and do in and around Masham.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Millgate is well appointed in Masham for all the local attractions such as local market and quaint old shops,lots of good walks,good pubs and an excellent chip shop.

There are lots of local places to visit such as Ripon and the lovely Newby Hall gardens provide a good day out and then you get a very warm welcome back at Millgate where you can relax in the garden with bertie or take a long hot shower before venturing out to sample the local ales on offer.









  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonandGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Alison and Glen

Thank you so much for the comments you posted on our booking site –

“Super stay, very welcoming hosts nothing was too much trouble. Excellent room with very comfortable bed and facilities. The choice of breakfast on offer was second to none and the food was outstanding. A brilliant stay and brilliant hosts”,

and for this informative review of Masham and Millgate.

You were lovely guests who really appreciated everything we had to offer and we look forward to your return visit.

I have posted a new page on our web site giving details of all the quaint old shops in Masham as there is something for everyone with two breweries, a fabulous choice of pubs, cafes, bistros and resturaunts and our new chippy.

We hope that you are able to stay longer when you return.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just stayed for one night in the double ensuite room at Millgate & our only complaint was we didn't want to leave! We will definately be going back for longer next time. Sue & Andrew are such genuine & warm hosts, the whole place and experience is a credit to them and their attention to detail is second to none. The breakfast is absolutely delicious (we even had some trout that Andrew caught the previous day!) and how lovely to eat it in such historic surroundings. As for the scones ...... totally gorgeous!! You will certainly not be disappointed if you book a stay at Millgate B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Louise

Thank you for calling Millgate “fantastic”. We didn’t want you to leave after only one night so we are looking forward to your return. Andrew has loads of ideas for day trips and adventures.

He was delighted that you enjoyed the Rainbow Trout he caught for your breakfast eaten in Masham’s old Jail Cell. You might like to try my Kedgeree on your next visit to Masham’s old Poor House.

Love and best wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is not a B & B at all - it is like visiting friends. The welcome with warm scones and the rooms are lovely, nothing is too much trouble and the location is great.
I mentioned to Sue I was a vegetarian and she asked what I would like for breakfast or if I would prefer a surprise.
I was definately surprised! This is easily the best vegetarian breakfast I have ever had - very imaginative and far beyond the call of duty!

Thank you so much Sue for all your effort.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debirymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Debi

Thank you for your amazing review. We are so flattered that you felt you were visiting friends – that is the best compliment we can have.

It was a real treat for me to be given free rein to produce a two course vegetarian speciality breakfast to surprise you. I promise you it was no effort on my part as I love to spoil my guests any way I can.

Hope you both come back soon
Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Only stayed one night but were made very welcome, scones and jam freshly made just for us.Sue and Andrew made us feel like old friends visiting. Excellent accommodation and breakfast.
We would definitely go back if we were looking to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Glen & Alison

Thank you for your review and I am really sorry for the delay but the review I sent was not logged onto the system.

You were here for such a short time but you made a big impression on us both. We are so glad you felt you were staying with old friends and that you rated the accommodation and breakfast excellent.

Do come back and stay a while longer
Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
23 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
438 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#3 of 7 in Masham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range: $72 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing