We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Ranked #5 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummers”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was in Masham for a wedding this week and The King's Head was my very first encounter with North Yorkshire hospitality. I was hugely impressed! We didn't stay in the hotel, just popped in for something to eat after a very long day travelling from the north of Scotland. The bar was cosy with the fire burning, it had a great atmosphere - lots of locals in having a Sunday pint, getting the craic, warming up after the pouring rain. Even though it was blatantly obvious we weren't from Yorkshire, we were made to feel very welcome by the staff and locals alike. There were lots of real ales, as you would expect with the fantastic breweries right on the doorstep, and a menu which we all found to be incredibly good value for money before we had even ordered. Being from Scotland, we like a good bargain, and we certainly found that here. I had roast beef with the best Yorkshire pudding I've ever had, my other half had the gourmet burger and said he could've eaten it twice, if it wasn't so huge! Neither of us could manage pudding, but they looked fabulous on paper. In fact, the whole experience was so enjoyable, we returned 2 days later for lunch, and were again blown away by how lovely everything was.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    221
    117
    60
    51
See reviews for
151
422
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

What a find! My wife andI stayed for two nights in a superior rated room. Our first suprise was the extensive free parking available in the town square immediately outside the hotel.

All the staff we encountered on our stay were extremely friendly,helpful with great sense of homour and a wealth of local knowledge.

The hotel interior was tasteful with many interesting local photographs decorating the walls. The superior bedrooms are located around the hotel rear courtyard and have a "wow" factor.

The food we ate during our stay was absolutely top quality, delicious and good value for money.

My wife and I were so impressed with our short stay at the Kings Head Hotel, we are looking for an excuse to book another stay at the hotel asap.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anthony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here last Saturday for a birthday treat. The room was lovely an Executive Room in the courtyard at the rear of the pub. We had a meal in the restaurant on Saturday evening which was very good. Very friendly staff. would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Ate at the restaurant over our three night stay in Masham, and whilst the weather was atrocious, the welcome fire in the hotel, and the excellent and reasonably priced fare more than compensated.
Can especially recommend the excellent roast beef Sunday lunch.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We were put in a low beamed room which for two 6ft people was a bit ridiculous. There were signs on all the beams but were constantly ducking and banging our heads. Nice big comfortable bed and shower (although another two beams to avoid). Breakfast was gorgeous apart from an undercooked sausage.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harriet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for one night at the end of January as we had a Black Sheep Brewery tour booked. The lady on reception was very helpful and welcoming. We were booked into a courtyard room which was lovely and cosy and very comfortable.We had a lovely meal in the evening in the restaurant couldn't fault it. All the staff were really nice. We would definitely go back here to stay .We found Masham to be a peaceful village with plenty to offer in the way of coffee shops ,a tourist information centre and of course Black Sheep Ale! Plenty of nice walks in the surrounding areas. We did a walk in Hackfall Forrest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireWanderer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here with granddaughter (8) overnight, room (16) very comfortable and clean (but warm) food excellent, really good atmosphere, hubby happy as good selection of real ales, staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 142Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel Masham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel Masham

Property: Kings Head Hotel Masham
Address: Kings Head Hotel Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel Masham 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Kings Head Hotel Masham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Masham Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing