We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in the Kings Head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Ranked #5 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Me and my partner have just returned from a great stay at The Kings Head. The hotel itself is located centrally in Masham, easy walking distance from anywhere you would wish to visit in the town.

We were lucky enough to be given room 20, a large double room outside which was spread over two floors! The room was well presented, spacious and very clean. Everything you would need and more. We also ate in the restaurant, the food was reasonable in terms of price and the quality was very high. Even though it was busy, we recieved great service.

This was our sixth stay at this hotel and have always enjoyed our stays but this has been our favourite so far. I could not name a fault. The Only downside...we only decided to stay one night!

Thanks to Gillian and the staff, we will be seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel Masham, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Daniel S,

Thank you for your recent review of the Kings Head, we are pleased to hear how you continue to enjoy staying with us and how this was your best yet.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 815 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

An impressive facade announces the venue with ample public parking in the square.
The hotel is charming in appearance and its age and history add to it's pleasing character.
The staff, without exception, offered genuine hospitality in a courteous and friendly manner. My first floor single room was towards the rear of the property with a view to an outside seating area and what appeared to be a more modern extension.
The room was functional and contained all that you would expect - TV, Kettle, wardrobe space, bed , table and chair, The bathroom was modern and clean - just a wait for hot water to arrive! You may want to check out the room spec in the extension??
I had been booked on an inclusive package that included the set dinner meal. It was disappointing that "the till system" employed did not have the facility to accommodate choosing from the more appealing and extensive menu and paying a surcharge!! Having said that the food was genuinely enjoyable.
For an Olde world style venue I could think of many places far worse than this Kings Head and the staff are to be commended for their welcoming approach to hospitality - something of a rarity I find.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel,booked mainly because of the location in this lovely village and the good prices available. We had Room 17 the Hayloft, the room was very large with a king bed and a very large bathroom. It should be noted that because of the old beams in the room it may not be suitable for taller guests (especially if they have visited the 2 brewery's in the village) as they may forget to duck when visiting the toilet in the middle of the night.
We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was exceptionally good and compared to other places in the village very good value.
All the staff were very friendly and we were made to feel welcome the moment we arrived.
The only fault I can make is the room on our second day wasn't cleaned until after 2pm.

Room Tip: Stayed in the courtyard rooms on both occasions I would think that these were all lot quieter than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked a couple of superior double rooms to take my mother away for her 80th. We were given rooms 25 and 26 in the courtyard. Both has nice big beds and large bathrooms with bath and large walk in shower, perfect for my mum. We are in the bar which was spacious and the food was excellent. It was good to see how busy the place was on a Monday night, a mixture of diners and locals. Breakfast was just as good, large fresh selection of cereals, fruit, pastries etc, whilst the cooked breakfast was plentiful but not too large. We originally tried booking The White Bear but their refusal the move on the price of B and B made us book here, their loss was The Kings Head GAIN !!! & ours as we could not have enjoyed our stay better. Thanks to all the staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Convenient location sitting on the market square (which has ample parking). Comfortable lounge, varied menu which included offers, ideal for a bite to eat when in or around Masham. I had a pint of Black Sheep which was simply perfect.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Naissuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

having left the George at Wath after i night and not knowing the area i phoned the Kings Head who offered me a double garden room with my dogs at short notice for a very good price which I accepted. The room which was quiet and large well furnished with a large bathroom and roor to the outside ( wonderful). Here I could walk the dogs down to the river without any nuisance to other guests. The breakfasts were three tier according to what you wanted to pay with a very varied choice. Meals could be taken in the bar area or in the dining room and a very good choice.The staff were also helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble and of course always quite full for meals. All in all very clean and the manager was very helpful and available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 197patriciad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel Masham, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear 197patriciad,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay and hope that you would stay with us again if you're ever in the area.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Head on Friday 5th April 2013 in one of the converted stables (executive double) A lovely room, spotlessly clean. The service offered by hotel staff was second to none - they couldn't do enough for you.
Gillian was so friendly on arrival, then later in the evening, before she went off duty she came through to the bar to check that we were ok and if there was anything else she could do for us. It's often that personal touch that is forgotten.
We enjoyed our evening meal then and then breakfast the next morning. There was a good choice of hot and cold and variations of the set menu were no problem. Masham is a lovely village and I would definately recommend a stay at the Kings Head. I know we'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
7.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
406 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel Masham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel Masham

Address: Kings Head Hotel Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range: $78 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel Masham 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kings Head Hotel Masham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Masham Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing