We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Ranked #5 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed here now a few times, hard to fault it, good value for money. Food available all day everyday which is handy at sensible prices. Rooms in the hotel and in the courtyard up to a decent standard, if in the courtyard you don't want a room near extractor fans from kitchen, can hum a bit. Car parking not a problem in big market square. I like this hotel for its location, as the main road thru is away from the Square on the other side of town, the Breweries, Theakstons and Black Sheep are all walking distance so ideal, also central to explore the Yorkshire Dales.

Room Tip: In the summer probably prefer the Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0wie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    224
    122
    63
    51
See reviews for
154
433
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We booked a night at the Inn and upon arrival were pleasantly suprised at the quality of the room that we was allocated, very clean and very well equiped with a lovely large bath as well as a good consistent shower.

We ate downstairs in the bar area and the food was very good and resonably priced.

My only comment is that the bar closed at 01:00 am, we was advised that this was due to the fact that it was an "Inn" and not a "Hotel" however all through the building you could find signage stating the Kings Head Hotel !! and as such all facilities closed at 01:00 am, bit of a hassle as we were with friends and we wanted to have a late drink. With no warning from the staff we were ushered out of the bar in a rather abrupt fashion.

We would stay there again but with knowledge that the bar closes at 01:00 am

Room Tip: Room 2, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is not a bad little place for those wanting a night to stay in the area. The hotel has 27 rooms a good portinon of which are small outbuildings to the rear of the main house. The room we stayed in was clean with all the necessary equipment. The bed though a little hard for my taste was comfortable. The food in the hotel is standard pub fayre. Well cooked and a good selection with ample sized portions. The breakfast was one area that could have done with improvement. The food was fine it was the service and layout that was a bit messy and on the day we stayed the staf were a little over run by virtually all the guests coming down to breakfast at the same time. Overall not a bad place for a stay in the area.

Room Tip: get a room in one of the annex buildings that way you avoid the noise of the general pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King_Kanute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed at the King's Head between Christmas and the New Year for four or five years, which tells you that we must be satisfied with the accomodation!

The hotel is situated at the side of the market square, and is a characterful Georgian Building, which at one time was a Posting House and an Excise Office! For the first four years it was managed by a couple who had been in post at the King's Head for approximately 12 years. Whilst the building was "characterful" it was showing signs of needing refurbishment - both in the decorations and fittings. A complete overhaul took place in June 2011, when new management took over.

If you are looking for a slick city type 5 star accomodation then forget the Kings Head. It has a very laid back atmosphere. On each occasion when we have arrived there has been a wait at reception, probably due to the fact that an extra member of staff would have made all the difference.This is not a direct criticism, merely a comment on how the hotel tends to run. Rush and speed are not words within the vocabulary of this hotel - it runs at a far more relaxed pace.

The staff have always been helpful and friendly, even though at times it is obvious that they are working in a very busy set up. Once again an extra pair of hands would have made life a bit easier for them!

This is a dog friendly establishment, and as we always bring our chocolate labrador with us,we have always had one of the rooms set aside for dog owners. These are in the stable accomodation at the rear of the hotel.

The rooms contain a very comfortable bed, wardrobe, dressing table, tea/coffee making facilities,hairdryer,telephone, en suite toilet with bath & shower, and TV with a goodly selection of channels. We have always found the rooms to be spotlessly clean on each of our visits. As the weather is usually cold when we arrive, it is lovely to go into a very warm room. One niggle would be that it is sometimes too warm! However judicious adjustments of the radiator thermostats can set the room temperature to a more manageable heat!

The food is farily basic hotel chain fair, but there is quite a reasonable selection on the menu. I have seen comments from other visitors that the fact that breakfast is a separate charge (at £5.95 for continental and £7.99 for cooked) and is a bit steep, and would tend to agree. Evening meals tend to take a little while to arrive, and this is probably due to the fact that an extra pair of hands is needed!

Room Tip: If you are staying in the stable block be prepared to go out of the hotel to get to your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillatBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Following our disaster a while ago when they failed to book us a room despite several phone calls and emails correcting the wrong confirmations they kept sedning us, we complained direct to the company that ran this hotel. Our reply from the Manager was so badly written a young child would have been ashamed of the English and grammer used, and was wholely unconvincing. However, we were offered a complimentary night's stay as recompense for thier mistakes. Willing to give them a chance we accepted but wished we hadn't.
We were given the "Theakston" room, at the back of the hotel overlooking broken outhouses, various wires sticking out of the building, and next door's recycling bins. The room itself was similar to a chain hotel with no character, which is fine if this is what you are expecting. We thought it was at least clean but on the morning of leaving, as it was a little cold, my partner moved the chair by the radiator to turn it up. This revealed someone's (ie it definatley wasn't ours!) bunion bandage lying on the floor. Disgusting.
The manager herself checked us out, but offered no apology for the last incident which had involved her booking, or not booking, our room herself. We decided it was pointless to complain again as the people running the place obviously don't care anyway, and left feeling that, at free, we had been ripped off!
There are several other hotels in the town, try and get in them if you can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol7774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having camped near by we knew masham was a great ace to visit and having had a few drinks in the kings we knew we wanted to return.

A group of four with two rooms stayed here new years eve and day, new years eve meal was a bit rushed but was great.

The hotel itself was boiling hot most of the time and the room on the second floor was uncomfortably hot at night. The room on the third (top) floor was ok but still warm.

The staff where great and always on hand and helpful.

Breakfast on both morinings was well stocked and the cooked breakfast was top noch.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siwalker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Spent 2 nights at the hotel, read the previous reports so weren't expecting too much. We had paid a little bit more for an upgraded room, so were allocated a room upstairs at the back of the courtyard. We were pleasantly surprised by the room, nice and large, it had a super kingsize bed with beams overhead. Bathroom had a large shower cubicle and bath and toilet. There was a bit of a smell of the drains(?) but we kept the door shut. Very comfy bed, nice and quiet and had 2 good nights sleep. Got a bit of a fright first night as someone tried the bedroom door. Didn't eat here but at the Bay Horse which was very good. Had a drink the White Bear pub which was quite expensive, £4.15 for a pint of theakstons ale which is made around the corner!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel Masham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel Masham

Property: Kings Head Hotel Masham
Address: Kings Head Hotel Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel Masham 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kings Head Hotel Masham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Masham Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing