We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back & Relaxing Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Ranked #5 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed at the King's Head between Christmas and the New Year for four or five years, which tells you that we must be satisfied with the accomodation!

The hotel is situated at the side of the market square, and is a characterful Georgian Building, which at one time was a Posting House and an Excise Office! For the first four years it was managed by a couple who had been in post at the King's Head for approximately 12 years. Whilst the building was "characterful" it was showing signs of needing refurbishment - both in the decorations and fittings. A complete overhaul took place in June 2011, when new management took over.

If you are looking for a slick city type 5 star accomodation then forget the Kings Head. It has a very laid back atmosphere. On each occasion when we have arrived there has been a wait at reception, probably due to the fact that an extra member of staff would have made all the difference.This is not a direct criticism, merely a comment on how the hotel tends to run. Rush and speed are not words within the vocabulary of this hotel - it runs at a far more relaxed pace.

The staff have always been helpful and friendly, even though at times it is obvious that they are working in a very busy set up. Once again an extra pair of hands would have made life a bit easier for them!

This is a dog friendly establishment, and as we always bring our chocolate labrador with us,we have always had one of the rooms set aside for dog owners. These are in the stable accomodation at the rear of the hotel.

The rooms contain a very comfortable bed, wardrobe, dressing table, tea/coffee making facilities,hairdryer,telephone, en suite toilet with bath & shower, and TV with a goodly selection of channels. We have always found the rooms to be spotlessly clean on each of our visits. As the weather is usually cold when we arrive, it is lovely to go into a very warm room. One niggle would be that it is sometimes too warm! However judicious adjustments of the radiator thermostats can set the room temperature to a more manageable heat!

The food is farily basic hotel chain fair, but there is quite a reasonable selection on the menu. I have seen comments from other visitors that the fact that breakfast is a separate charge (at £5.95 for continental and £7.99 for cooked) and is a bit steep, and would tend to agree. Evening meals tend to take a little while to arrive, and this is probably due to the fact that an extra pair of hands is needed!

Room Tip: If you are staying in the stable block be prepared to go out of the hotel to get to your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillatBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 850 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Following our disaster a while ago when they failed to book us a room despite several phone calls and emails correcting the wrong confirmations they kept sedning us, we complained direct to the company that ran this hotel. Our reply from the Manager was so badly written a young child would have been ashamed of the English and grammer used, and was wholely unconvincing. However, we were offered a complimentary night's stay as recompense for thier mistakes. Willing to give them a chance we accepted but wished we hadn't.
We were given the "Theakston" room, at the back of the hotel overlooking broken outhouses, various wires sticking out of the building, and next door's recycling bins. The room itself was similar to a chain hotel with no character, which is fine if this is what you are expecting. We thought it was at least clean but on the morning of leaving, as it was a little cold, my partner moved the chair by the radiator to turn it up. This revealed someone's (ie it definatley wasn't ours!) bunion bandage lying on the floor. Disgusting.
The manager herself checked us out, but offered no apology for the last incident which had involved her booking, or not booking, our room herself. We decided it was pointless to complain again as the people running the place obviously don't care anyway, and left feeling that, at free, we had been ripped off!
There are several other hotels in the town, try and get in them if you can.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol7774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having camped near by we knew masham was a great ace to visit and having had a few drinks in the kings we knew we wanted to return.

A group of four with two rooms stayed here new years eve and day, new years eve meal was a bit rushed but was great.

The hotel itself was boiling hot most of the time and the room on the second floor was uncomfortably hot at night. The room on the third (top) floor was ok but still warm.

The staff where great and always on hand and helpful.

Breakfast on both morinings was well stocked and the cooked breakfast was top noch.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siwalker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Spent 2 nights at the hotel, read the previous reports so weren't expecting too much. We had paid a little bit more for an upgraded room, so were allocated a room upstairs at the back of the courtyard. We were pleasantly surprised by the room, nice and large, it had a super kingsize bed with beams overhead. Bathroom had a large shower cubicle and bath and toilet. There was a bit of a smell of the drains(?) but we kept the door shut. Very comfy bed, nice and quiet and had 2 good nights sleep. Got a bit of a fright first night as someone tried the bedroom door. Didn't eat here but at the Bay Horse which was very good. Had a drink the White Bear pub which was quite expensive, £4.15 for a pint of theakstons ale which is made around the corner!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Have already wrote a comprehensive review on laptop about the food. Can't comment on rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sid c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I did'nt expect too much from our stay at the Masham. We needed accommodation and the Kings Head was the only place with two rooms. On first looks it seemed the rooms were comfortable but in both rooms the showers leaked and in our friends bathroom so much so the constant dripping kept them awake. Breakfast was a mediocre experience part self serve with shortages of bowls, hot water and butter, and the served part which resulted in burnt toast and cooked breakfasts served on cold plates. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Kings Head is still an imposing building on the market place in Masham but it has lost its old charm and quirkyness, probably due to the "corporate image" it is following as a Good Night Inn. The beer is also very expensive - £3.40 for a pint of Old Peculier!!. The hotel is now just a bland copy of nmany others which is a shame.

Room Tip: The outside rooms allow pets, and the main hotel rooms have more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLEASANTCRESCENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
490 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
447 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel Masham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel Masham

Address: Kings Head Hotel Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range: $62 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel Masham 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kings Head Hotel Masham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Masham Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing