We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Ranked #5 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My girlfriend and i stayed here for two nights over the weekend and we had a lovely time. The staff are really friendly and attentative. I'm a little cheaky and always ask for a free upgrade if possible which they gave me as they were not fully booked,m to a superior suit. it was a lovely apartment (no kitchen) just bedroom on upper floor and bathroom down stairs - ooh, stand alone bath was devine. The rooms are out the back of the pub which has a marvellous atmosphere and serves great food. Masham itself is a lovely village and there is lots to do. Highly recommended place to stay. will definately be back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyrobfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    221
    119
    64
    51
See reviews for
152
429
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

After reading some of the reviews we nearly didn't book this hotel but we're glad we did ! Reception - we were greeted by really friendly staff who wasted no time in showing us to what we all want to see --- our room ! Bedroom- We opened the door and found a lovely, spacious room. The heating and lights were on so it immediately felt warm & welcoming. Complimentary tea & coffee, colour TV, hairdryer etc. Lovely, large comfy bed. Bathroom - again spacious, complimentary toiletries, nice white fluffy towels & lovely hot water. Cleanliness - nothing to complain about with either the bedroom or the bathroom. Noise - we never heard anything, it was lovely & quiet. Bar area - very pleasant. Again, very friendly staff. Only compaint here is that the 'pew' seats weren't very comfortable & seating for guests & locals is limited. Dining room - lovely. Tables nicely spaced out. Very comfortable. We ate here on both evenings & the food was lovely & inexpensive. Good wine selection. Not much to do in Masham itself but there are some lovely surrounding areas. All in all we had a lovely, relaxing weekend & would definitely return to the Kings Head Hotel in Masham.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireDena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I feel it my duty to give my feedback about our stay at this hotel to avoid other 'would be' customers enduring our experience. On arrival we refused the first room 'Coach House' - The carpet was disgusting and the cushions on the bed and the settee were so filthy (I wouldn’t have allowed my dog to use them) how anyone can clean a room and change a bed to then put on cushions that looked as though they’d been used outside is beyond me - also it was directly adjacent to the smoking area outside of the bar so the room stank of smoke! To be fair we were given another room (Carriage House) and although small, it seemed better than an hours drive home in bad weather conditions. This was an 'interconnecting room' and should only ever be let out as this as we found out at 12oclock at night. Without going into detail we heard word for word our neighbours conversations and goings on - you can imagine the grand finally at 2oclock! My wife was horrified with the 2 hours we endured - we put the toilet fan on and the TV to try and drowned out the noise but this did not help. The room was not sound proof what so ever and putting everything else to one side the cleanliness did leave a lot to be desired (we had to get on our hands and knees to remove leaves and other things from under the bed and in the bathroom on arrival. If the weather had not been so bad we would have drove home immediately! Finally , the night - at best - could only be described as cheap motel accommodation. Breakfast was good but nothing else was worth paying for. We were offered a free night stay but for obvious reasons we declined.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rossjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Just returned from a short break in fabulous Yorkshire, with my husband and two teenage sons. I nearly didn't book this hotel after reading the recent scathing review but glad I did.
Our large room in the annexe was full of character, had exposed beams, good quality bathroom fittings and was very clean, including the carpet! ( I think the hall carpet leading to the rooms would benefit from being replaced by wood or tiles however, as anywhere exposed to wet/dirty feet is bound to suffer) The staff we encountered were polite and friendly and I really hope we can return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendbloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Went on a Buy a Gift weekend, so it was a good value stay. The carpet to the room was not very clean, but the room was really nice. It was large with beams and very clean. The bed was large and comfortable. The food in the pub was excellent and we ate there both nights. The full British breakfast was also good. Prices for both drink and food was reasonable. Our room was reasonably quiet and we slept well. It is in a lovely area and we did a brewery tour of the Black Sheep Brewery which we thoroughly enjoyed. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirlBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed here as we were guests at a swinton hall wedding. The check in guy stated he couldn't assist me with my luggage as he had to stay put at the desk, there were other members of staff milling around. The barn rooms at the courtyard looked pleasant enough but inside it was filthy. The carpets had not been vacuumed, there were cobwebs everywhere, it was dark and dingy, poor quality bedding and mattress. The bathroom although looked luxurious with a huge roll top bath, was again filthy. Yak. The location is lovely and the breakfast was pleasant, we were offered another nights stay free of charge, but we declined, didn't have the time and desperate to get home to get clean!!! Don't try it. I honestly don't think the rooms are cleaned perhaps the bins are emptied and new grubby towels dispensed, there is no way a duster had seen the room in a long time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shropsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

A decent local pub with rooms adjacent to the hotel. We stayed Sat 8th January. The rooms are not hugely soundproofed so you will enjoy hearing what goes on next door.The restaurant was fully booked with a 50th birthday party so we had to eat in the bar area. A good evening meal menu was on offer. Nice room but main radiator not working and we weren't informed about this. A cold night in bed !! A good breakfast menu.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillBiggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,268 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
762 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel Masham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel Masham

Property: Kings Head Hotel Masham
Address: Kings Head Hotel Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel Masham 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kings Head Hotel Masham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Masham Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing