We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversay Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Bear Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the White Bear for our second wedding anniversary, having previously stopped here a few years ago and we found the White Bear to be as special as we remembered. We had a lovely room on the ground floor with the bonus of being able to bring our little dog with us on the stay. Great beer and wine and fantastic food on both nights and for breakfast. Little extra touches like cake served in the guest lounge - although we did not realise this until the second day! The White Bear is just outside the main town area, but only a few minutes walkaway, so is nice and peaceful too. We absolutely love Masham and the surrounding area and hope to return soon the the White Bear Hotel very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonandDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 562 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here previously in March 2012 and were charmed by the genuine welcome and the first class bedrooms. Thus we were delighted to find some further improvement on this short visit. We checked in at the bar of the pub/restaurant and were escorted to "Masham". A lovely large room at the end of the corridor with the late afternoon sun streaming through the windows. What a boon to find that all rooms have Wi-Fi and it is free and fast. The bathroom is huge with a walk-in shower, large and deep bath tub, shelving along the full length of the wall behind the generously sized basin. This easily took all the contents from both outsize wash bags. Plenty of kit for making teas and coffees (no Earl Grey which was a very minor grumble) which we supplemented by a piece of (free) delicious home-made lemon drizzle cake available in the communal lounge area for all guests. The double bed was high, wide and mighty so took us both most comfortably. Great night's sleep. Supper in the pub comprised a selection of popular dishes, cooked well, presented attractively and priced sensibly. With a pint of the excellent local Black Sheep ale, plus glasses of wine, sparkling mineral water the total for a starter + main course each was £65......We had booked one night B&B so the next morning I indulged with a really good Full English of 2 fried eggs, local sausages and back bacon, mushrooms and black pudding plus baked beans. All served piping hot on a hot plate with hot toast produced at the same time. However my wife was far more adventurous and had large field mushrooms, covered in a fine layer of hummus, then little plum tomatoes, with a slice of melted halloumi and topped with a perfectly poached egg. This was an exceptional dish which we will try to reproduce for visitors at home (probably supper too?) This is not a luxury retreat but it does what it does to a very high standard and at a sensible price - hence my unusually high marking.

Room Tip: Ask for late afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Organised a small meeting for 8 people at this Hotel. The accomodation was comfortable and spotless, and the food (and drink) superb. All seven other delegates agreed, and we will be returning.
The meeting room was very well equipped.
The staff looked after us in an efficient and friendly way.
Looking forward to the next visit.
Great value and great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I recently stayed at the White Bear to celebrate my 50th birthday. We chose the penthouse room as it was a special occasion and it turned out to be one of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, anywhere. Bright, light, spacious, huge bathroom, massive bed, comfortable furniture, perfectly cleaned and presented. It left nothing to be desired. Ok this is the most expensive room, but from what we saw of the others they are not far behind. Touches like leaving fresh flowers and cake for the guests also help.

That was the good news. Unfortunately the restaurant did not live up to the accommodation, either in terms of ambience or food. It was all ok, but the hotel side of the business deserved better. I was particularly disappointed on the night of my birthday to have a very small table in the bar part of the restaurant rather than the main room, sitting next to a plain wall that could seriously do with a lick of paint.

On a personal note no effort was made from a service point of view despite the hotel being aware that we were there for a celebration. I know this is a small thing but it would have been appreciated and made the night more of an occasion.

We would recommend this hotel, but probably not for a special occasion and if we stayed there again I doubt we would eat in the restaurant. I also wish it was a Black Sheep pub rather than Theakstons, especially after the tour of the Black Sheep brewery.

Room Tip: All the rooms look nice but why not push the boat out and go for the penthouse. You won't regret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We called in one afternoon to reserve a table for the same evening. The day was freezing with rain come sleet falling nearly all day & we made a spur of the moment decision to call in to arrange a table for that night!
Anyway, we duly returned to find a roaring fire, all tables lit with candles, curtains closed to the cold evening & greeted by very friendly staff.
The food was excellent, the service was great & the homemade beer bread was delicious! The atmosphere to the whole place was cosy, welcoming & a jolly nice pup!
I would definitely return & would highly recommend this place. It wasn't busy so I'm not sure what it would be like when busy & crowded or even on a hot summers evening. But on a cold March evening it was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A near-faultless experience. The room was really comfortable, the staff attentive and did everything with a smile, great choice of beers and wines in the bar, good ingredients used in the cooking (melt in the mouth beef), and great attention to detail - they'd noted that it was my birthday and there were balloons on the table, a small thing but a great touch. The Full English breakfast is both large and of supreme quality. Tiny quibbles - would have liked a bottle of the filtered house water in our bedroom, the bathroom was large enough for a bigger bath, but these are tiny points and the overall experience was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in Aysgarth and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a lovely evening meal while staying up the road in fearby at the black swan ,staff were very efficient and welcoming our food was the best meal of our 3 day stay in the dales wish we had booked to stay there instead to be honest lovely atmosphere and roaring fire which was well stocked up with logs and not left to burn away , lasagna was delicious and well presented definately stay there next time instead

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.2 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bruce Arms
The Bruce Arms
#3 of 6 in Masham
45 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bivouac at Druid's Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Bear Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bear Country Inn

Address: Wellgarth Crosshills, Masham HG4 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Masham
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Bear Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel White Bear
The White Bear Country Inn Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing