We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Bear Country Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Masham
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveler rating
454
99
15
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
454
99
15
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousethe pubcomplimentary cakethe black sheep brewerylounge arearoaring firebeer breadhigh standardwalk in wardrobethe ground floortheakstons breweryfish pielovely hotelgreat beerlight lunchyorkshire hospitalitylovely atmosphere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 583 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Cold late November Friday lunch for 4 adults(with baby). Good menu, including specials.All freshly prepared, whether fish and chips or vegetarian pasta. Nice log fire took off our chill. Nice puss whether sticky toffee or lemon posset.Nice and can recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tyke190776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Nice warm welcome to this great hotel.
Nothing was too much, the staff were excellent.
We stayed for evening meal. Mine was excellent, unfortunately my wifes had to be sent back as it was cold, really cold.
Rooms were very well appointed and modern.
Nice lounge area for a quite drink before bed.
Breakfast was amazing - top quality and large portions.
All in all a very nice hotel in Masham and in this price band, the best place.
We love Masham and will definately come back here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-From-Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here during this year's Sheep Fair. What a treat! We had a gorgeous en suite room; spacious, clean, well decorated and comfortable. We loved it! We also ate here on both nights of our stay and had great food. Tasty, well cooked and inventive. Well done to Sue and her team. We're already booked in for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarebitwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night as I was attending a function at the nearby brewery (Black Sheep). I could not fault the bar, the room or the food - everything to a great standard and the staff were absolutely welcoming and the breakfast was simply marvellous - I need only to find a good excuse to return!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The rooms at the hotel are excellent this was our second stay here and chatting to other guests here, it seems everyone comes back.
We stayed in the penthouse suite which is huge it has wooden beams spanning the room wood burner (not real) but makes the place feel really cozy and the room is warm just as well the w burner isn't real. Large bathroom with double sink shower and bath. I have to say the whole room is tastefully decorated you cannot fault it. The pub attached to the hotel is just how a local country pub should be three open fires burning great staff very friendly and accommodating. We had two lovely nights here the food is very good and serving local ales perfect
The white bear is definitely a must give it a try you will not be disappointed

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews