We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Place to Visit.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Bear Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Wonderful Place to Visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Many thanks to Sue and your staff . We had a marvellous time !! Wonderful atmosphere, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautifully decorated and cleaned to a very high standard.The food was superb!!! The pub itself was full of charm and so welcoming with the open fires in the bars.
.Great location. A visit to Theakston brewery a must. It is refreshing to find a place with everything about it so good ,well done !!!! WE WILL BE BACK .

Room Tip: What ever room you choose it will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank JULIE w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    91
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
286
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in the Theakston room (Penthouse). The room was amazing, the staff were so friendly, the food was good. An excellent place to explore the beautiful Yorkshire Countryside and local sights.
Thank you to Sue and her team for making us feel so welcome and for the extra little baked treats that awaited us in our room every day when we returned from our travels.
We arrived feeling stressed and tired and left feeling relaxed, re-energised and slightly heavier!
Why can't all hotels manage this combination of luxury, informality and excellent service?

Room Tip: Theakston (Penthouse) is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbingdonOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose The White Bear for a recent break in Masham. This was our first stay in the area so took a lead from tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel was warm,comfortable and the staff very friendly, making our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. The room was excellent, it was well appointed and clean, one would find it difficult to find fault.
The open fires in the bars contributed to the warm welcome we were given on our arrival and during our stay, the selection of beer on offer was more than adequate all of which was brewed within a short distance of the hotel.
The quality of the food was first class. Although a little bit pricey from the A La Carte menu the bar meal menu seemed better value for money. My pet moan is not being able to understand how good quality food can be served on COLD plates, even the hearty Yorkshire breakfast was marred by lukewarm food, this was our only criticism and other than that thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Yes we would revisit this hotel again and thanks to everyone at The White Bear.

Paul & Sue East Yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowantree2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the White Bear, for the second time, while visiting the Black Sheep Brewery (for a Bistro night that ended up being cancelled). We received a warm welcome and were shown promptly to our lovely room. It was well decorated, clean and comfortable (although the mattress was a little too firm for our liking). The bathroom was spotless and very elegantly decorated, and contained good quality fittings (great shower!).
This hotel has the best combination of a lovely pub with open fires and (of course) great beer, with modern hotel facilities.
We were very happy with the breakfast, which included home baked banana bread which was delicious. After commenting on how nice it was, I was told I could take some for later, and did not hesitate to do so! Good quality food, lovely surroundings, and again very friendly and helpful staff.
Overall, a great place to stay for exploring the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked one night stay in theakston suite at the white bear for a special celebration. Room was amazing, staff were really friendly & helpful.
Dinner in the restaurant was very enjoyable (good honest well cooked food) & the breakfast excellent.
All in all a superb stay, only downside was we just had one night!!!
Looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skmakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Took friends here for a meal last week for Sunday lunch. The quality of the meat did not live up to the expected standards, it seemed rather poor, not having the qualty of other places in the area. The meat seemed somewhat processed and overcooked, not having that freshly carved texture. The vegetables were flavoursome but just felt we could have cooked a better Sunday lunch at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tessa98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night, as a stopover on a long drive from home (Edinburgh) to Cheltenham and it was excellent.

We called from the motorway on the way down and couldn't negotiate the room rate but when we arrived to see a music festival in the forecourt that made sense. The musicians an crowd decamped into one of the outbuildings about 2230 so no noisy disturbance but a happy buzz to the place.

Our room was in a newly renovated(?) building and was big, nicely furnished and comfortable. The bathroom was the cleanest I've ever seen in a hotel! Not that I make a big point of studying them but his one was strikingly unblemished and gleaming everywhere.

The place was very busy with 'country set' in plus fours and the odd range Rover, Aston Martin etc. Despite booking in late, the restaurant staff reserved us a table, the barman talked informatively about the beers and gave tasters. Good beer well served and a really nice draft cider.

Dinner was excellent: Lea had Pork belly with black pudding and an 'extra' of a Yorkshire pud that was on the menu as part of another dish. I had bacon wrapped something (I forget what), but could have been lamb; but pudding remains in my mind - Sticky toffee with oodles and oodles of sauce and custard. I asked for lashings and was very happy with the 5x5 bowl full to the brim - fantastic. Lea had Lemon posset and berries, which she said was taste-bud-poppingly-good (sic)!

At breakfast we had an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes, local bacon and sausages is always a plus. Lea was very impressed with the fact she could indulge in cake for breakfast; a banana loaf, made by owner Sue. A definite place to return to on any journey down south.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
2.0 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#3 of 7 in Masham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#2 of 7 in Masham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Bear Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bear Country Inn

Property: The White Bear Country Inn
Address: 6 Gun Bank, Masham HG4 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Masham
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Bear Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel White Bear
The White Bear Country Inn Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing