We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Bear Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked one night stay in theakston suite at the white bear for a special celebration. Room was amazing, staff were really friendly & helpful.
Dinner in the restaurant was very enjoyable (good honest well cooked food) & the breakfast excellent.
All in all a superb stay, only downside was we just had one night!!!
Looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skmakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 562 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Took friends here for a meal last week for Sunday lunch. The quality of the meat did not live up to the expected standards, it seemed rather poor, not having the qualty of other places in the area. The meat seemed somewhat processed and overcooked, not having that freshly carved texture. The vegetables were flavoursome but just felt we could have cooked a better Sunday lunch at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank tessa98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night, as a stopover on a long drive from home (Edinburgh) to Cheltenham and it was excellent.

We called from the motorway on the way down and couldn't negotiate the room rate but when we arrived to see a music festival in the forecourt that made sense. The musicians an crowd decamped into one of the outbuildings about 2230 so no noisy disturbance but a happy buzz to the place.

Our room was in a newly renovated(?) building and was big, nicely furnished and comfortable. The bathroom was the cleanest I've ever seen in a hotel! Not that I make a big point of studying them but his one was strikingly unblemished and gleaming everywhere.

The place was very busy with 'country set' in plus fours and the odd range Rover, Aston Martin etc. Despite booking in late, the restaurant staff reserved us a table, the barman talked informatively about the beers and gave tasters. Good beer well served and a really nice draft cider.

Dinner was excellent: Lea had Pork belly with black pudding and an 'extra' of a Yorkshire pud that was on the menu as part of another dish. I had bacon wrapped something (I forget what), but could have been lamb; but pudding remains in my mind - Sticky toffee with oodles and oodles of sauce and custard. I asked for lashings and was very happy with the 5x5 bowl full to the brim - fantastic. Lea had Lemon posset and berries, which she said was taste-bud-poppingly-good (sic)!

At breakfast we had an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes, local bacon and sausages is always a plus. Lea was very impressed with the fact she could indulge in cake for breakfast; a banana loaf, made by owner Sue. A definite place to return to on any journey down south.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Probably the best part of our one-night stay here was the helpful and attentive staff who went out of their way to make it an enjoyable stay.
Accommodation here is modern and well furnished with tea/coffee making and complimentary toiletries. Our room was very spacious and had a large en-suite with separate shower. The rooms are in a separate block which form one leg of an "L" with the main part of the pub building and look to have been a fairly recent renovation so are modern and well equipped.
Food was a good standard being mainly locally sourced (according to the menu) and what we had certainly reflected that. Breakfast was particularly good with a good choice of fresh fruit, cereals, juices etc. and the cooked breakfast ingredients were good quality and well cooked.
The bar had a good selection of real ales from the local brewery so another plus there!
It is essentially a pub with food and accommodation so has no pool, spa or conference facilities but for a very comfortable stay with good, honest food and a well stocked bar it is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went here twice while we were in the area. The first time we just had a light lunch and the coronation chicken sandwiches were excellent, lots of chunky chicken. The second time my husband had the game pie which was a proper one with pastry top and bottom and I had wild duck which was tougher than I am used to. When the waitress asked if I had enjoyed my meal, I told her this and the landlady came over to apologise and said the cost would be taken off the bill - what more could you ask? Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pinnie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Called for a meal Sat great as usual but menu changed and I found it hard to make a choice but did find something and it was lovely if your in this neck of the woods give itv a visit. just a note all the staff are great and attentive good selection of wines and beer

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIZZADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Really lovely rooms, really comfy beds and amazing shower... Really spacious and even though we were on the ground floor overlooking the pub entrance it wasn't noisy at all...

Only slight criticism was that breakfast was good but not quite as good as the room - but still a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.2 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bruce Arms
The Bruce Arms
#3 of 6 in Masham
45 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bivouac at Druid's Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Bear Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bear Country Inn

Address: Wellgarth Crosshills, Masham HG4 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Masham
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Bear Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel White Bear
The White Bear Country Inn Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing