We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Bear Country Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Masham
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveler rating
455
99
15
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
455
99
15
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousethe pubcomplimentary cakethe black sheep brewerylounge arearoaring firebeer breadhigh standardwalk in wardrobethe ground floortheakstons breweryfish pielovely hotelgreat beerlight lunchyorkshire hospitalitylovely atmosphere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 584 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Masham is a little off the beaten track but is a well a located and charming small town for visiting Leeds, Harrogate, York and the Dales. The White Bear Hotel was one of our best finds to date. Backing onto the Black Sheep Brewery the hotel is a sensitive conversation of old buildings alongside a traditional country pub with a newish restaurant extension. The rooms are well furnished, generous in size, have restful decor and, above all, are quiet in a peaceful setting. The restaurant and public bar have a good stock of wines and local real ales and the attractive menu offers first rate and well priced fayre (meat, fish, speciality). The breakfasts are generous. The staff team are friendly and attentive and the clientel a joy to share time with. Highly recommended for couples or groups of friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin_p_everett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have stayed in Masham several times using self-catering and this was the first time we have stayed at the White Bear Hotel. Our room was huge (we stayed in the Masham room) with a comfortable bed and plenty of space for our two children to explore. The en-suite was also a good size with a bath and a walk in shower. We dined in the pub attached on the first night and although the food was lovely (fresh homemade chicken nuggets for our 5 year old) it was very pricey for what was just a nice pub meal, I had roast pork (just 2 thin slices) with Yorkshire pudding and side order of vegetables which was £9.95 but worth £6.95 really.
Breakfast was lovely and all the staff we saw were very friendly and helpful, it is served from 8am until 9:30am and they were still setting up and laying tables as we arrived at just gone 8am. As we have 2 young children we are up very early so 8am seems late to us for breakfast and having to wait even longer - it was gone 8:30 before we had eaten was a little annoying.
We love the area of Masham and it is a good base for exploring the beautiful countryside surrounding it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed for our honeymoon and it couldnt have been better. The room was large,beautiful and very clean. The bed was huge and very comfy and the en-suite excellent. The food was fantastic and all of the staff were extremely attentive and helpful.
Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Masham.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnygirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We visited here for lunch with the family. We waited a long time before they took our order and throughout the various courses also. We found the food bland and lacking flavour. The mash was lumpy, we had three carrots each and found them stingy with most of the portions. Eventually after waiting 15 mins for the billl we had to go to the bar and pay. We were asked if we enjoyed our meal and was honest with them....we were rudely told we were entitled to our opinion and that was that. All in all... Not impressed!

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank Solution44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Friendly welcome,attentive staff,roomy accommodation ,good food- reasonably priced,great beer,easy walking distance from attractive Masham.
I would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank nicholas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews