We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Bear Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed for our honeymoon and it couldnt have been better. The room was large,beautiful and very clean. The bed was huge and very comfy and the en-suite excellent. The food was fantastic and all of the staff were extremely attentive and helpful.
Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Masham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnygirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 562 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

We visited here for lunch with the family. We waited a long time before they took our order and throughout the various courses also. We found the food bland and lacking flavour. The mash was lumpy, we had three carrots each and found them stingy with most of the portions. Eventually after waiting 15 mins for the billl we had to go to the bar and pay. We were asked if we enjoyed our meal and was honest with them....we were rudely told we were entitled to our opinion and that was that. All in all... Not impressed!

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank Solution44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Friendly welcome,attentive staff,roomy accommodation ,good food- reasonably priced,great beer,easy walking distance from attractive Masham.
I would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank nicholas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed at the White Bear for just one night 17/03/2012 but will definitely return. Beautiful rooms (we were in the Aysgarth room). Very warm but okay once the window was opened. Huge comfy bed and lightweight but very warm duvet. Well stocked tea and coffee tray. Super pub with excellent staff. The food on the Saturday night was superb and there was an excellent wine list with reasonable prices. Breakfast did not let the pub down - good choice of cereals and fruit juices and some lovely fresh fruits and yogurt. Good choice of cooked breakfasts - the full english looked lovely, but the smoked salmon and scrambled egg was just right. Beautiful fresh flowers everywhere. A great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jabaxse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

great accommodation, friendly efficient staff, good food and excellent beer. Amazing flower displays and a real cosy place to stay , far better than inhospitable corporate chains.
We loved it and will revisit. They even apologised for the smell of paint in the recently re- decorated room.Go visit

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevitTreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just stayed the one night as a stop over on the way back from Norfolk to Scotland and will be using this establishment again. The room was very spacious including a huge bed, TV & DVD. Ate elsehwere on the night of our stay but headed back to the lounge bar for brekkie before a wander around Masham. Breakfast was spot on, tasty bacon & sausages and I've a soft spot for a wee bit of fried bread (oh the cooked tomato was the best I've had in a breakfast).

In short I was gutted I only got to stay the one night.

Room Tip: Masham room was very spacious, sep seating area and bathroom large with sep bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Superb all round - Good Food, classy clean accommodation yet friendly pub atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble. I will definately recommend the White Bear Hotel at Masham to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. They are clean, warm, quiet and have TV and tea/coffee making facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPGPAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
431 reviews
2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bruce Arms
The Bruce Arms
#3 of 6 in Masham
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Bear Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bear Country Inn

Address: Wellgarth Crosshills, Masham HG4 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Masham
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Bear Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel White Bear
The White Bear Country Inn Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing