We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Bear Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is an excellent hotel situated a few minutes from the centre of Masham and we could not fault our stay.

We had a warm welcome upon arrival and the staff were very friendly, personable and helpful throughout.

The room was large, clean and to a very high standard with a large bathroom and powerful shower. Guests are invited to make use of the guest lounge which has a good range of books, DVDs and games.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice on the menu as well as the usual continental offerings.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and if we have the chance we’ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank persean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 564 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We recently stayed for 2 nights and found it a very enjoyable experience. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The bedrooms and bathroom are modern, well decorated and equipped to a high standard. The rooms are very spacious and some of the best sized rooms we have experienced for the price. Breakfast was cooked to order and was extremely good with lots of choice. The restaurant menu choice and food in the evening was also well presented and good quality. The only downside we found with The White Bear was the cost of a pint of beer. The pub is owned by Theakstons brewery in Masham and yet it was the most expensive pint of Old Peculiar that I have purchased!!! However don’t let the price of the beer put you off, you can stay at The White Bear and walk to another pub very close by if you want to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequentravellers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Really really nice and very generous room. Light and airy, nicely designed; huge comfy bed, fantastic bathroom, fantastic breakfast and less than a hundred quid all in. Will definitely be back again.
DVD player in rooms and little selection of DVD's to borrow in the really funky lobby but don't borrow Fat boy Run what an appalling film I am blaming The White Bear for this!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillRusling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room was spotless, spacious and well furnished.

The breakfast was very nice and there was plenty of it.

We also found the staff in the bar to be friendly and helpful and the food and drink we had for lunch was first class.

I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlythLambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

As real ale fans, we made the trip to Masham in Yorkshire to visit the breweries based there. We booked an overnight stay at the White Bear, which backs on to the Black Sheep Brewery.

We were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room we stayed in. The bed was comfortable and enormous! There was a walk in closet, a good sized bathroom and a powerful shower (although the bath was quite slow to drain). The whole room was well finished and had all the extras you would associate with a 5* rated inn (good TV, DVD player, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities etc).

However, our experience was spoilt a little by breakfast the next morning. The breakfast period was between 8:00 - 9:30am and we arrived a little after 9:00am. The staff seemed pre-occupied with cleaning the bar area and almost seemed surprised to see us for breakfast (along with other couples who arrived to eat at the same time), despite their overnight price including breakfast. There were no tables set up for the breakfast service, and the experience almost seemed a bit haphazard. The staff set up the table whilst we were sitting there, so some cutlery was forgotten. There was a good sized menu and food was reasonable, but not quite to the same standard as the room.

Finally, check-out seemed a little early at 10am, which made breakfast and the morning a bit rushed.

Overall, the hotel is well situated for visiting the Masham area, the rooms are lovely and attached to a nice pub, but the breakfast experience needs some work to match up to the othewise excellent facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McRoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at The White Bear for 2 nights as we were going to a wedding in the area. The staff were lovely, really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast included in our rate and it was delicious - perfect hangover cure!! We were particularly impressed with one of the barmaids who organised transport to the wedding venue. Only small complaint was that the rooms were really hot although leaving the window open wasn't a problem as its in a peaceful spot.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauLou16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was lunch only. Nice enough. Didn't enjoy being repeatedly addressed as "youse guys" by young male waiter, but young female colleagues were fine. My parents had highly recommended this place and it was in fact ok; my wife's order got screwed up but the food was quite nice overall. My scampi was a bit dubious - looked like prawns to me - but I'm not complaining. Masham is a lovely town and I'm quite happy to believe this is the best of what it has to offer foodwise.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank lawdylawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.2 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bruce Arms
The Bruce Arms
#3 of 6 in Masham
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Bear Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bear Country Inn

Address: Wellgarth Crosshills, Masham HG4 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Masham
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Bear Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel White Bear
The White Bear Country Inn Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing