We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Welcoming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Horse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Bay Horse
Ranked #3 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Bradford Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

We visited Masham overnight on a Wednesday. We arrived at 3pm and were welcomed at the bar, and shown straight to our room after being asked what time we wanted breakfast, rather than being told what time it was. This could be due to them being quiet mid week, but it was a nice touch.

I must admit that on being taken upstairs to the room I wondered where we had come as the staircase and hall were not the tidiest. However on being shown into room 1 it was tidy, clean, bright, new bathroom and a flat screen TV mounted on the wall.

We ate at the pub that evening and it was reasonably priced and excellent, really good tasty food. At this point we asked what time we had to be back and was advised for about 11.00pm as you only get a key to your room and not an outside door, however this was fine with us.

On talking to Sharon the landlady, she advised they had only been there 18 months and they were slowly doing the place up, as when the 1st took it over it was grotty. It seems that they have new bathrooms in 3 or 4 of their rooms now, and are planning to complete the rest in the near future.

We went down to breakfast about 9.00am, and what a breakfast!!! Cereals, juice, toast, coffee, and a massive full english (sausage, bacon, egg, beans, loads of mushrooms, not your usual token effort, whole grilled tomato, black pudding, and fried bread). It was excellent, and filled us for the day!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bay Horse and would go back, my only slight criticism is, they need to get rid of the clutter from the hallway outside of the rooms, but I am sure once it finishes being a work in progress it will happen.

Parking is ample in the Square which is run on an honesty box.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradford_Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaken, owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Thank you for your great review. We are nearly finished all the rooms now so hopefully we can keep landing clear of Kens tools! Hope to see you soon and thanks once again.

Sharon and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    86
    23
    22
    22
See reviews for
34
199
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

Would really recommend this pub if looking for a base in this lovely part of the world. Having read several reviews about this place being a bit "grotty" I can only think it has had a full refurb since then as they rooms were clean and tidy. All the staff were really friendly and the pub is very popular with the locals.

Really nice home cooked food.

Great jukebox, the beer was excellent (as it should be being only 200 yards from the Black Sheep Brewery.

Many thanks for making my 40th trip with the lads one to remember and keep those breakfasts coming!

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — Top room was a bit smelly - problem with the drains being looked into with Brewery
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DavenAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaken, owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Thank you Bob! it was great having you all - although it took a while for me to catch up on my sleep after you all went home!

Hope to see again.

Many Thanks,

Sharon and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

There is a stereotype of northern folk that us southerners like to dismiss as sentimental doggerel. It maintains that those from up-country, like Southern Italians and Irish, are more welcoming and accomodating than those from the cynical South. True or not, last weekend I was afforded a glimpse as to why perhaps this cliche pervades.
I was playing in a band at a wedding nearby and my bandmates and I were expecting to get back to our digs, The Bay Horse in Masham, some time after last orders were called. The gig was a few miles up the road. Incredibly, the Landlord came to pick us up at 2am and conveyed us back to Masham. Propping up the bar upon our return I soon discovered that this was no isolated act of kindness; he and the Landlady (his v kind wife) were regularly rescuing guests in the small hours who take the wrong turning, narrowly saving them a night on the moors. After some more nocturnal discussions around the hearth we finally turned in at about 3. Coming down bleary eyed at about 10 I was greeted by the astonishingly cheery face of Ken offering cereals, teas coffees and of course, the Full English. These are good people, heart-warmingly kind, who go above, beyond and profoundly to the furthest side of the call of duty. The way they make you feel at once like you are in their home but also exceedingly welcome is astoundingly refreshing. I thoroughly recommend this charming establishment, especially to those publicans out there who still havn't learned that good service doesn't begin at 9 and end 5; these guys have, and it really shows.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank zanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaken, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
I would just like to thank you for your very kind review. I remember sitting on the door step waiting for my husband to collect you from Swinton - and then staying up for a drink when you got back. We had a good chat that evening. Hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

Sharon and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

i came to masham two weeks ago for a long weekend . and found a very lovely little town . We stay at the bay horse inn in the centre of masham . on arrival we found a warm friendly welcome of the staff and the locals. The rooms where clean tidy . and adequatley sized for a pub that does rooms .we went down to the bar to sample the local beers both are very good pints (. my personal prefence been the black sheep). The food in the bay horse was all homecooked food . On both nights we both had lovely meals .and very large portions . with the two roaring fires it really was a enjoble stay , anyone going to masham should go to this pub and try the steak pie (its out of this world) The staff and the owners were all really helpful and friendly . and i would recomened to anyone .who is visting mashm.

Helpful?
Thank yorkjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

I cannot agree with 'Londonpootle' enough. I recently stayed at the Bay Horse Inn on a Saturday night and found the experience quite unpleasent.

Upon entering the estabishment, it was clear that it was more 'pub' than 'B&B', had to queue at the bar to enquire to where we checked in?

The room was dirty and obviously had only been cleaned in the area that you can see, or indeed pass a hoover over! The on-suite was a tiny cupboard that was built into the room, it was visually clean, but did not smell so!

The pub downstairs was Noisy, but that is to be expected on a Saturday night. However ,there seemed to be a lock in and other resisdents did not go to bed until 3am and I was awoken by the sound of Burping, vomiting & laughing.

The following morning, after fighting for space within the on-suite to clean myself, I went down stairs for breakfast only to find no staff, teanage kids playing pool in the bar and dog itself around the breakfast items.

Throughly unpleasent stay, I will not be returning, I strongly advise anyone considering this B&B to go elsewhere!

  • Liked — Very central in town
  • Disliked — Everythign else
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sausage65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaken, owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, May 9, 2008
We took over the Bay Horse in September 07 and we are in the process of giving the pub a complete makeover which we have done in most of our bedrooms, the outside area, and the bar. We have a new cleaner, due to the inexperience of our last cleaner. The rooms are supposed to be non smoking so if one of the glasses had been used and washed by the person who had used it - the cleaner may not have noticed it. The rooms are adequately sized for an old pub. The beds have been changed so if couples stay they have room to get in on both sides of the bed and bed side tables on each side. New carpets have been layed in all but two of the rooms, the final two are being layed shortly. We have just finished putting a new bathroom in one of the rooms and the others will follow when money becomes available. New curtain poles have been put up in all the rooms. All the bedding and curtains are new since we came in. Masham is a beautiful town and we have a lovely, friendly pub, with great homemade food, a gorgeous beer garden, two roaring fires in the winter and home-made chips! Please do not let this review put you off coming to see us. You are welcome to see our rooms before you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

From the outside this pub looks ok, and even when you go inside it still seems ok. It's small and quite cosy. Full of friendly people having a drink and relaxing with their friends, not at all unpleasent. But then we were shown up to our room, and our thoughts changed quite quickly. The room was tiny, we both needed to get into bed from the same side as there wasn't any room at the bottom of the bed to walk around. Certainly not a double room. The curtains were hanging half on/half off the rail, so wouldn't close properly. The carpet was dirty. The bathroom had a terrible mouldy smell, and again felt quite dirty. The chest that had tea/coffee etc on was thick with dust, the mugs, again, thick with dust. But the worse bit for me was the water glasses. One had clearly been used as an ashtray!! It smelt and you could see the mark at the bottom of the glass where someone had stubbed out a ciggerette! It was DISGUSTING!!! Then to top it all off in the evening, when we felt a much needed drink was in order, we went downstairs to find the pub over run with children. And the only table free being the one right next to where these children were playing darts!!!! Not my idea of a quiet drink in a nice cosy pub. And all this for £65 a night...a bargain i'm sure you'll agree!!!

Don't let this review put you off Masham though, as it's a beautiful place to visit. Just find somewhere to stay where the care and attention has gone into making your stay comfortable, pleasent and above all....clean.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonPootle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
2.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Bruce Arms
The Bruce Arms
#3 of 5 in Masham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#2 of 7 in Masham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse

Property: The Bay Horse
Address: 5 Silver Street, Masham HG4 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Masham, The Bay Horse is an ideal base to stay if you wish to enjoy the beauty of both what we have on our doorstep as well as the stunning surrounding areas. At The Bay Horse, Masham you will get, a community local pub, that has a fantastic range of real ales, locally sourced food and real fires - we're not a hotel, we're a quality local, with well-appointed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing