We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Steak Pie ever!!!!”
Review of The Bay Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Horse
Ranked #2 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best Steak Pie ever!!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stopped off here on our way South, and had a superb lunch. Atmosphere, genuinely friendly staff, attentive service and the best Steak Pie we have had for a very long time. You do have to wait, so if you are into fast food go to McDonalds. The food here is cooked fresh and to order and my goodness well worth the wait. Our daughter is a finicky eater and even she had a clean plate!! Looking forward to going back soon to try out their accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraineandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    97
    23
    22
    22
See reviews for
39
229
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Magnac-Laval, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Midway between Dover and Tarbert a stop to catch the ferry to Islay, an excellent place to make a break. The town of Masham is fascinating but there is no need to leave the pub for everything is there. The food is massive, the best local produce means meat that tastes like meat, eggs that have a proper colour, ie orange and not an insipid yellow. There is also the added advantage of the local beers. Black Sheep and Theakstons, both of which are served here to perfection. The rooms are comfortable and warm and for a change from many places the shower is a proper job.
The locals make life quite interesting. A course in Yorkshire talk could be helpful for those not au fay, but it is great fun.Here is a pub that has got it right.

Room Tip: It helps if you like real ale but the larger is good also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dormert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I grabbed a quick meal here with my daughter to fill in time out of the rain. Service was excellent - friendly, helpful, warm. Food also very good - we only had an egg and chips for me, and the children's menu for her (home made chicken nuggets which she said were the best she'd ever tasted, chocolate brownie and icecream), but everything was freshly cooked and home made. Lovely to find free range eggs, really good fresh chips, proper children's food instead of mass produced rubbish. Good, honest food - surroundings old fashioned pub. Super value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Enjoyed the pub room fine local beers with friendly serve very much a local pub
The room was fine and location we great and very handy for Theakston Brewery and Black sheep Brewery

Great breakfast would recommend to anyone who wants a short stop in the masham area

Room Tip: Local butchersaround the corner with local sausages, Sticky Toffee Puddings Etc take some home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a really good Spanish night here. Good tapas, paella and sangria. Staples still available from the main menu. Really welcoming hosts and particularly helpful with our two dogs. Good position close to the market square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrawleyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharoncw67, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi There,

So glad you enjoyed our Spanish night - we thought it was a good night too!

Hope to see you again when you are next in the area.

Many Thanks

Sharon and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Only stopped here for a meal .Found this to be excellent .Good selection of food on offer .We had good old fish and chips and steak pie .Having had many of both over tyhe years this was one of the very best .
My advice if you`re looking for a meal in Masham don`t walk past this establishment .

Room Tip: Only had meal here but if rooms are anything to go with meals you won`t go far wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharoncw67, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and had good food.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Masham

Many Thanks

Sharon and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to this pub for a drink before going to the Black Sheep bistro on our first night in Masham. The atmosphere was great and when we saw the quality of the food coming through we decided to book for the following night. We were not disappointed. Fantastic food, great beer and friendly staff. Definitely going again when we return to Masham.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jogriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
748 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.1 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse

Property: The Bay Horse
Address: 5 Silver Street, Masham HG4 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Masham, The Bay Horse is an ideal base to stay if you wish to enjoy the beauty of both what we have on our doorstep as well as the stunning surrounding areas. At The Bay Horse, Masham you will get, a community local pub, that has a fantastic range of real ales, locally sourced food and great, genuine hospitality - we're not a hotel, we're a quality local pub, with well-appointed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing