We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendy Yorkshire welcome”
Review of The Bay Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Horse
Ranked #2 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendy Yorkshire welcome”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a totally amazing place to stay. I stayed for the second time on the same weekend that is refered to below where the couple were not happy about the noise. I had a very different experience as we joined in with the pub crowd and were welcome with open arms by all the staff and the wonderful locals who really make this whole village the most enjoyable place to visit.
The food here is amazing which has been stated in so many of the reviews, we kept telling ourselves to try somewhere else to eat but each time I looked at the Bay Horse menu I just couldn't resist!
The rooms are small if you go for the cheaper ones but we expected that as the website photos show them, we stayed in the larger room the last weekend we went and it was beautiful but as we spent so little time in the room we were happy to stick to the smaller double and save the extra money for some Black Sheep ale!

The breakfast here is spectacular and as an added bonus all the staff are really helpful and carry on the wonderful Masham hospitality.
We stayed with our dog, Earl, who loves The Bay Horse as much as we do and is given just as warm a welcome!

Myself and Lee enjoyed our visit so much we are now planning our wedding in Masham next year and hope to see everyone again very soon for some more good craic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    98
    23
    22
    22
See reviews for
39
238
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Popped in for lunch was staying near by. What a lovely little place! Lovely cheery staff, fab food and drinks! Ploughman's lunch was delicious and I am assured by my partner the sausage and mash was equally good! Real pub feel, polite and friendly staff and well stocked bar for such a cosy place. We also went to Ripon races in the evening and backed the horse owned by the pub, which was our only winner of the night! Would like to try a stay here and see if the rooms are as good. Real log fires (and real chips)! fab find.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We arrived at lunch time to start our Sun-Tues walk in the dales, but our room wasn't ready, which was fine as we enjoyed a tasty lunch at the Bay Horse and then went for a walk in the dales. We arrived back at 6 o'clock to find a pub filled with people who had been drinking all day and then had to run the gauntlet of drunken revellers to try to find someone to show us to our room (may I suggest a separate entrance for residents??). We were finally shown to Room 2 which was tiny and, although it had a nice bathroom and good linen on the bed, was very disappointing,cobwebs on the ceiling not helping!!!. It was also a bit annoying that you could only get into the bed from one side.

We decided to go out to eat and heard on our return that a Karaoke evening was in full swing. We made our way back to our room and heard every word of every song and the bass was making the walls rattle until shortly after 1am. As we had booked over the phone it would have been courteous of the owners to let us know that we would not be getting any sleep in our room until after this time.

We were suppoed to be staying two nights, but were so tired and annoyed about our weekend getaway being spoilt that we decided to call it a day and check out without breakfast. We were given a discount, only after asking, although it was the lady on the front desk rather than the owner who had to take the brunt of our disappointment as they didn't come out to apologise themsleves,even though there was only one other couple having breakfast.

We know it is a busy pub with rooms, but we've stayed in many pubs with rooms in the Dales which have great atmospheres, and have always had a good night's sleep!!! A good pub for eating and drinking, but for £75 a night you can definitely find better acommodation elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask when you book to make sure you will be well away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaken, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you were disturbed on bank holiday sunday due to our Karaoke. We would have told you had you booked directly but the booking came via Late rooms so did not speak to you personally.

We only have karaoke a couple of times a year - and usually on a bank holiday weekend so just unfortunate that this was the night you chose to stay with us. I do mention on our website that we are a very busy pub with rooms - especially on a friday and saturday evening - and bank holidays and that we have a late license until 1 am.

Re - your small room - again I am sorry but when you booked, this was the only room left available which we charge £65 including breakfast.... you were quoted £75 for a standard double which we were moving you to the next day. I did apologise for this when you arrived.

We have many people coming to stay with us that are very happy and I am just sorry you are not one of them.

Thank you for your comments

sharon and ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Have stayed here twice on walking trips. All the staff are very friendly (not always the way by any means in the Dales), especially the host and hostess - you feel relaxed straightaway. Rooms are clean, very comfortable and a good size. The bathrooms are immaculate with a good shower and nice toiletries. Great location in the centre of Masham. As has been mentioned, the food portions are enormous (too big for me, but I'm not a farmer!). The food is very tasty and well presented but could be improved (I ordered medium rare steak but it was on the well done side of medium; liver was a little rubbery). This is a small complaint though and shouldn't put you off - this is the best pub/hotel in the Dales that I have tried by far.

Room Tip: If you want it a little quieter ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoungerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay over, just popped in for a drink and some food.
Kenny (owner) and Emma (girl on bar) were lovely and couldn't be more friendly and hospitable! They had stopped doing hot bar food (it was about 3:30) but they happily accommodated my pregnant lady cravings and made me a burger and chips. No bother at all! Food was great value (all home made real food with a real meat burger, not cheap and fatty!!) and the cheesecake I managed to stuff in was LUSH! Im often disappointed by the poor desserts some pubs have to offer but my cheesecake was definitely homemade and delicious!!

Would not think twice about coming back for lunch. Sit by the fire and play with the resident dogs hank and Tilly.
It gets dead busy on a night with people popping in for drinks after work so book a
Table if it's steak night or something!
The interior is lovely, open fire and a lush beer garden out the back and tables overlooking the market at the front.

Definitely worth a visit for a snackerel and a pint. Thanks! <3

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed one night at the Bay Horse, we were made to feel very welcome by the hosts and locals. Good choice of local beers and nice hearty pub food. Will definitely be returning to stay again when we are in the area. Kev and Ang

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaken, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Kev and Ange,

Thank you for your great review. It was lovely to meet you both and hope to see you again soon.

Sharon and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Spent 2 marvellous nights at the Bay Horse in April, with perfect location in the centre of Masham. Lovely Pub, beer excellent as you would expect in Masham, evening meals good value & good portions, the breakfast needs seeing to believe the size & quality - you certainly don't need lunch. Very friendly & helpful staff. Excellent base for exploring.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaken, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Hope to see you again soon

Sharon and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,260 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
758 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.1 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse

Property: The Bay Horse
Address: 5 Silver Street, Masham HG4 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Masham, The Bay Horse is an ideal base to stay if you wish to enjoy the beauty of both what we have on our doorstep as well as the stunning surrounding areas. At The Bay Horse, Masham you will get, a community local pub, that has a fantastic range of real ales, locally sourced food and great, genuine hospitality - we're not a hotel, we're a quality local pub, with well-appointed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Masham/Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing