We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in historic village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starby Hotel, Conference & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vadstena
Ashland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in historic village”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The accommodations were clean and simple, and very quiet. The night we were there they had several business groups but served us dinner which turned out to be spectacular, Michelin quality. It is a short walk into the village on the shore of a huge lake, with a huge castle on the water. Service was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    30
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for one night. Easy to find in a great quiet location with plenty of parking. Located a short stroll from the centre of Vadstena with its old shops, castle etc. Check in and out a breeze and all the staff very friendly. Room was quiet and well appointed overlooking the garden area. No tea / coffee in rooms but is freely available near the bar. Didn't use the hotel for dinner just the bar, which was OK. Breakfast was included and had all the usual but no pastries, yogurts etc. at least I never found them. Free WiFi at the hotel which is always a bonus. Overall very pleased with the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place, located just outside the centre of Vadstena. Slightly expensive, but the service-minded staff and five star rooms more than makes up for it. It's the little things, like an offer of ice water when we hadn't realized we wanted it yet, that makes me love this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilStenstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights there and were very pleased. The room was fairly small, but nicely furnished. The breakfast tasty, the coffe very good.
The bistro food exelent. And the surroundings nice in a park. And only 5 minutes walking distance to the town center

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kva_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
746 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed one night at the Starby hotel and spa. The hotel location is very good (5 minutes walk to the castle) and the hotel grounds are very nice. The room are average and a bit dated. The breakfast was good. A bit expensive considering this.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The hotel wings are single-storied and the rooms are rather small and basic. The hotel restaurant is, however, very good. It serves tasty breakfast and bistro food of good quality. Everything in Vadstena is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juginem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vadstena
0.7 mi away
Vadstena Klosterhotel
Vadstena Klosterhotel
#1 of 2 in Vadstena
164 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotell Nostalgi
Hotell Nostalgi
#1 of 3 in Motala
57 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Motala Stadshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Mjolby Stadshotell
Mjolby Stadshotell
#1 of 1 in Mjolby
41 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 2 in Hjo
38 reviews
24.8 mi away
Scandic Linkoping West
Scandic Linkoping West
#5 of 12 in Linkoping
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starby Hotel, Conference & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starby Hotel, Conference & Spa

Property: Starby Hotel, Conference & Spa
Address: 1 Oedeshoegsvaegen | Box 16, Vadstena 592 91, Sweden (Formerly Starby Hotel & Conference and Spa)
Location: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Vadstena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vadstena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Starby Hotel, Conference & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Starby Hotel, Conference & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing