We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a full week stay here at beginning of August. Apartment was very clean, well equipped and comfortable.

Very close to Juno D-Day beach and only 5 minute walk to numerous cafe bars which serve excellent food and (expensive) drinks.

Very much hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 947 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

P&V was perfect for this part of our trip. With 2 teen age boys the two bedroom gave us enough space and was more comfortable than a hotel. Having a kitchen was great. Good breakfast and not rushed to start the day.
5 minute walk to Juno beach and center. Good place to visit D-Day beaches and memorials.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We (me and my three youngsters) stayed for three days at P&V in Courseilles. Clean, nice staff, a functioning kitchen and a good view. The receptionist told me on our arrival that there was nowhere to get grocerys on a sunday because everything was closed in the village. I didn´t believe him so I took the car for a trip in to the centre, and sure enough, the Carrefour was open and so was the local bakery. A good example of poor service ! The pool area and the swimmingpool close at 1800 ! Incredibly bad since we would have liked to take a swim in the evening. In daytime one is out sightseeing!


  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
1  Thank Fotbollsfarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Average hotel Close to Juno beach. Pool was ok, services should have included internet, but that did not work fore the appartement, and nobody knew how to fix it. Polight personal. Did not include soap, toiletpapir etc.??? - just not right.
Not any large bolls and not enough sheeds (reception closes at 19).
We will og somewhere else next time.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank ldniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

While this residence-type place is ideally located within walking distance of the Juno Beach center and other attractions, it is run in a disrespectful way. We were NOT advised in advance that we would have to pay to rent towels, obtain toilet paper, or soap. We did not expect to make our own beds. We were given linen that was too small for the beds and the duvets. There was only one flat sheet and one pillowcase per person. What is this? A Salvation Army shelter? The "beds" are basically camping cots and are extremely uncomfortable. The one in the living area was stained and looked very dirty. Covering it with one flat sheet to sleep on it make me cringe. We were charged 6 Euros to rent one small and one medium towel. When we asked about dish soap, we were told that we could purchase a kit that contained many things we did not need. They did not sell just dish soap. They also did not provide toilet paper. There was a remnant left on a roll when we got to the place (see the photo) and we had to buy more.

We were there at a totally lax time of year - there were less than a dozen cars in the parking lot. However, it appears parking could become a problem when the place is full since people typically took two spaces each to park a single car. Maybe it's a European thing. There was a washer and dryer on site and they worked. However, there is only one set for many units. I would not bank on doing my laundry here when the place is busy.

The pool area was dirty and a large puddle of slimy water lay right at the entrance so it was impossible to get into the pool area without wading through it. How clean is the pool? My guess is as clean as that slime in the puddle.

Finally, the worse offenders were the totally unhelpful, snotty kids this place hired to pass for service personnel. Aside from just standing around reading information that was posted (we can read, too), they could provide no useful information. All they could say was that we had to pay extra for everything. These include towels, soap, toilet paper, the use of the room safe, toaster, etc... Finally, they were not able to provide a receipt for our stay - only for the extras! They also lied when they informed us that the bill would be emailed to us. It is not.

We tried to contact the company but there is no contact information on the website - except a link for bookings. We tried the email address provided when we booked the place and it bounced back.

We stayed at several places during our weeks in France and this place was by far the one that had the worst quality/price ratio and customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dondedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Brilliant location, close to village. The apartments had most things you would require & were comfortable although in both we had problems with the extractor fan - 1 wouldn;t turn on, the other wouldn;t turn off! The showers were not exactly powerful but did the job slowly...
Good secure parking which was important to us as we travelled by motorbike.
It would have been good if there was a little shop on site selling tea, coffee, milk etc like most self catering places do...
The leaflet was in French only so a little transation was required to understand the services on offer but reception was helpful.
We arrived very late & struggled to find anywhere to eat in the village after 9pm & no convenient supermarket opening late....eventually a kind restauranteur allowed us some simple food (salad, mussels, coffee - she even sold us some teabags!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crendon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascaleferet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelationClientPVR, L'équipe at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courseulles-sur-Mer
0.6 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
1,127 reviews
24 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Normandy Garden
24.7 mi away
Ibis Deauville Centre
Ibis Deauville Centre
#9 of 27 in Deauville
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
La Closerie Cabourg
La Closerie Cabourg
#9 of 14 in Cabourg
301 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
16 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux

Address: Chemin de la Tuilerie, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Courseulles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Courseulles-sur-Mer
Price Range: $73 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant Des Oiseaux Courseulles-Sur-Mer, France - Basse-Normandie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing