We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Hotel La Pecherie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Pecherie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A small, quirky hotel with an excellent restaurant. Great location (free parking) on a quiet square close to the beach. Its an old building with some add-ons so no surprise to find tight stairs, low ceilings etc. Although on the Normandy beaches circuit, Courseulles seems to cater mostly for French visitors and that is true of La Pecherie also.

Its main business is the restaurant, On a quiet Monday evening in mid October, it was doing good business - almost all French patrons. No sign of the notorious maitresse described in other reviews and the staff we met were charming and helpful.

Dinner - mostly seafood as you would expect - was exceptional and breakfast was excellent too. A genuine French experience and good value.

Room Tip: Its a small hotel; don't expect a palace. It is also in France; expect to be dealing with peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were very dissapointed with this hotel , prompting me for the first time to write a bad review of a hotel. Our room was tiny, we had no where to put our case except the floor, which meant climbing over it to get out of bed. The toilet was a no bigger than a cupboard, which really meant you had to leave the door open! The bathroom was a bigger cupboard, and no door, and so small you had nowhere to put your toiletries. It had a good shower. The room had shutters instead of curtains, which you could only close if the windows were shut, which made it unbareably hot during the night. We could not leave the shutters open as we overlooked the resturant below which looked directly into the room. We paid 110 euros for this room, which was way over it's worth. We had good value and good rooms for the rest of our stay in France, which made me realise, you should always check the room before you pay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

A interesting stay in a quaint hotel with good views over the town. Handy to the beach and boat basin and priced very well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HokiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is ideally located only a short walk away from the harbour and beach. The restaurant is good and you can dine inside or outside on the terrace. Our room was a good size. All rooms appear to be on the front of the hotel so they overlook the street (which is quiet at night) and also the terrace. This can be poor if you wish to retire early as the noise of people talking and the taped music drifts up into the rooms. As well, it is a wooden structure so if you are not on the top floor you most certainly will hear the people above you. Our breakfast was minimal compared to other places we stayed in on our 3 week trip in France. No cold meats, cheese or breakfast cereal-- just bread and croissant. Orange juice and coffee were good.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to avoid noise from people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed one night at La Pecherie in late April 2011 and came away very impressed. At first glance we weren't sure about the hotel as the building is older and seemed a little rickety. The receptionist led us up to the top floor and down a hallway that we couldn't even stand up straight in, and we were really wondering what we had gotten ourselves into. Imagine our amazement when she opened the door and we saw our home for the night: a surprisingly large, very comfortable room with dormer windows and a fantastic view towards the beach! Everything was spotless and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom and shower were the biggest we had in any or our hotel rooms during our 2 week vacation in France, and there was plenty of hot water. We didn't watch TV at all, but the room was equipped with a very nice flat screen.

We decided to eat dinner that night at the restaurant downstairs, and the experience did nothing to dampen our enthusiasm about this hotel. It's not the cheapest place in town, but the food is excellent! My wife had the menu "Au fil des saisons" at 29 euros, and it was amazing. The meat dish came sizzling on top of a hot rock placed in her plate, and was incredible to look at as it tasted. My dessert included a mind-blowing fruit medley that came in a bowl made of apple slices held together with sugar. Amazing!

The hotel and area are very quiet and we had a great sleep. The only drawback I could imagine was that the floor was quite creaky. It didn't bother us any but I can imagine it may have been a little noisy in the room below us when we were walking around. Courseulles-sur-Mer is a sleepy little town. Even though we told them when we checked in that we would be leaving early in the morning, when we awoke at 7 am the place was dark, the front doors locked, and not a soul to be found anywhere. We were able to get out a side door to take our luggage to the car, but had to wait until 8 am for someone to show up so we could pay our bill!

All in all, it was a great little place to spend the night and I would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever make it back to Courseulles!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ailleurs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pour les personnes âgées ou peu mobiles, demander un hébergement au niveau du bâtiment principal (re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roberto d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courseulles-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
1,140 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
334 reviews
4.4 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
189 reviews
0 mi away
Le Manoir D'a Cote
Le Manoir D'a Cote
#2 of 8 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le C...
#1 of 5 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pecherie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pecherie

Address: 7 Place du 6 Juin, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Courseulles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Courseulles-sur-Mer
Price Range: $88 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pecherie 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel restaurant La Pecherie is an old seaside inn completely renovated, 3-star since 2011 by the Ministry of Tourism. This is one of the oldest commerce in Courseulles sur mer without having changed name since 1981, nearly 30 years on from father to son Is location is unique because it is located 100 meters from the beach, the marina and downtown. Ambiance and decor immerse you in an unusual atmosphere where the customer has his place very rapidly in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. A canopy style 1900 "Old Paris" performed by master craftsmen Illuminate the property for the delight of customers. His table is defined by a traditional kitchen where wild fish (Bar, turbot, sole, cod, place ...) Are present in will of tides and winds. Shellfish and seafood are also waiting for you. The classics are there for many years, kidney and sweetbreads casserole with pommeau cream sauce, bar in salt crust, grilled langoustines on stone, roasted camenbert in Calvados crust, the list is long. Certified Maitre restaurateur, this label provides a guarantee to our customers on our professional rigor and homemade dishes since many years. Renovated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Pecherie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pecherie Courseulles-Sur-Mer, France - Basse-Normandie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing