We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quitte ou double”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Sables d'Or
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stella-Plage
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Not such a bad address, knowing that:
There is free wifi, but only in the lobby;
The rooms are very small (but clean and well decorated)
The walls are obviously very thin (we could hear the neighbourg coughing)
And last but not least: the fire alarm is very, very sensitive (being woken up by the fire alarm at midnight and waiting outside the hotel in my pyjamas was definitely not the kind of experience I enjoy)
Breakfast is ok.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sacha1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 267 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Buildings are dilapidated and should be forbidden to the rent; humidity in every bedrooms and lugubrious decoration of another time. The service is in touch with the place: the boss is also unpleasant with his employees as with customers. In brief: book somewhere else!

Room Tip: GO somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Celine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here last July however after 2 nights we couldn't stand it any longer and left earlier than planned.

The hotel was full of young school trip children and whilst this didn't really affect us other than the noise from the adjacent breakfast room to theirs it gave us the impression it was more used to dealing with travellers who don't have any expectations or standards to live up to.

Our room was dirty, dark and damp with badly stained floors, insufficient wardrobe space for one person never mind two and cramped conditions even though it was supposed to be a double room.

I hated every minute we were there, it is a soul-less and dismal place. We won't be returning!

Room Tip: Do not consider staying here unless you are desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING HERE. This place is a filthy dilapidated dump. We arrived and were shown around this empty hotel with its paint peeling off outside, it's overgrown back garden with ash trays swimming in rain water and cigarette butts and we started to get an overwhelming feeling of impending doom. We were left to find our way to the room and had to ask where the entrance was and then as we climbed the stairs we noticed the hideous dark red walls and dark brown carpets, cracks in the wall and as we entered the so called 'superior double room' we both looked at each other in dismay. It was filthy the paintwork was shabby, carpets were stained and animal PAW PRINTS ON THE SHEETS!!! the bathroom was as depressing and dirty as you can imagine, doors with kick marks, broken fixtures, stains, sticky crud up the bathroom door, radiators from the 60's covered in dirty smeg. Threadbare towels. A DISGUSTING ROOM IN A DISGUSTING HOTEL. We went down and didn't see any staff member whatsoever and the place was in semi darkness so we headed into town. There wasn't one! it was so run down and ugly so we headed to stella plage which brightened our mood a little bit as we found a lovely restaurant there. We discussed the room and decided we would complain and also decided we would checkout the next day. We got back just after 9pm still no staff, still in darkness, yet no security on the door, which was open for anyone to walk in. We never saw another guest or sight of a cleaner, no surprise there. Next day we packed our cases and headed down to reception to complain. We did this politely but determinedly and suddenly our host could no longer understand english particularly the word 'DIRTY' but she did understand small and pokey and seized upon this opportunity to upgrade us to a bigger room. No, Thank you, we said we don't want to stay here, its filthy. We offered to pay for one nights stay. She refused. She got booking.com on the phone and put me on to speak to them. They said that the hotel owner had the right to accept our offer of one nights pay only. The hostess said she didn't have the right as she was not the owner. We asked to see the owner and conveniently he was not available till the next day. So we left without further ado. Then came the sting. After talking to barclaycard who assured me they would help and taking their advice not to block my barclaycard. The despicable dishonest owner took the full 5 days off my card and barclaycard twice refused to take the matter up and get my money back so I will pay them off and never use the card again. I will never use booking.com again and as for this S**thole hotel, well, read carefully what I've written here because this is the first time in my 48 years on this planet I have felt so angry at a hotel and the treatment I received from them. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from stay at sables d'or and I have to say its a lovely place to stay. Located near to Stella plage beach and town all within walking distance. We had a family room and was pleasantly surprised as we had reviews on here some of which weren't great. The room had large double bed and 2 single beds all of which were extremely comfortable, the room was spacious and very clean, in the bathroom we had a shower, once again very clean although yes there is some smell coming from bathroom but how long do you really spend in there!!!! The hotel has a lovely garden with tables and chairs scattered around and a small reasonable bar. All in all a very enjoyable stay in a lovely town with beautiful beach, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

spent 3 nights here as a last resort as all hotels in Le Touquet were full. 100 euros for a very large triple room that was clean and nice fresh white bed linen (no nylon frilly spread). There is a nice garden with lounging furniture and a reasonable bar. Staff were friendly and helpful, spoke English well but went with my tired French for as long as any of us could endure. it is a bit of a walk from the beach but it is a great beach. Brekkie is a bit steep at 9euros each but we are thrifty travellers and had our kettle and mugs so a swift trip to the boulangerie sorted that out nicely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerkyBerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I went to the Hotel Sables D'or on a school trip last June. This 'hotel' was supposed to be an upgrade from where we were previously supposed to be staying, but unless the other hotel was a landfill, there is no way this was an upgrade.
On arrival, the people there, who don't speak English, decided we had to wait on the coach for 75 mins, despite the fact we arrived 5 mins late. Check in took almost an hour and a half. It was at this time we began to notice the dilapidated building. Still, we had looked forward to this for months, so we ignored it as to keep positive.
Eventually, we got our room, to find the door falling apart. On opening the door, a terrible stench hit us. The carpet was red, but in areas it was so old, it had gone black. One of the lights in the bathroom above the sink didn't work. The bathroom stunk even worse than the main room. Mildew was present above the toilet, which didn't flush properly. More on the bathroom later.
Back in the main room, we decided to check the place out, as we had been told to report any problems to the teaching staff with us. We opened the wardrobe, which also stunk, and found that the middle shelf twirled round with the slightest touch. My cousin's French-English dictionary fell down the back of the wardrobe, so we pulled it forward to find dirty socks, hair grips and cobwebs behind the wardrobe. The desk was all scratched, as was the mirror on top of the desk. The chair was broken and worn. The curtains had a hole in them and were fading. The window ledge was so chipped and broken it was only half there. The radiator in the bedroom was hanging off while the bathroom radiator was rusty and had leaked, forming an orange stain on the floor below. There were also orange stains on the side of the wardrobe, the wall above the desk, the bathroom door and the shower tub.
We found a hole by the bathroom window where spiders were coming in and out, and the sealing on the windows were broken. The plug socket in the bathroom was hanging off (the teacher said it was the result of a bodge job). The shower didn't work, and kept falling down, so we just left it on the floor of the filthy tub. The shower wall was mouldy and unclean, and there was no frosted glass in the shower door or the window, meaning people could see right in from the street anyway. The corners were filled with cobwebs and filth, we kept shoes next to the bed so we wouldn't have to walk on the floor. The beds were comfortable but ridiculously narrow, and the pillows were hard as rocks. Apparently, the teaching staff had been told we couldn't touch the tiny TV's. The rooms were large enough but basic even for a 2-star. Our friends room had large gaps under and above the door. They had a large patch of the wall completely eroded and replaced with damp, causing the room to be filled with flies. Their shower tub did not drain properly, meaning they had to wait at least 5 mins after they were done in the shower before they could get out otherwise the bathroom floor would flood. Breakfast was ok, but the packed lunches were really bad, especially if you didn't like nuts, which a lot of people don't (I do, but my cousin is allergic, they didn't say the tiny cake slices were nutty and its only because I ate mine first that he knew not to eat it because of the nuts). We had tea at a local hotel restaurant, which was disgusting quality, but that's not to do with the hotel. The garden was just overgrown grass and weeds, with a plastic swing set and wooden stairs and platform (no slide) which looked about to come out of the ground. All in all, a disgrace to this lovely region of France.

Room Tip: If you have the misfortune of staying here, choose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kalahari234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stella-Plage
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge de la Renaissance
5.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Pelouses
Les Pelouses
#1 of 2 in Stella-Plage
77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Les Jardins D'Ulysse
Les Jardins D'Ulysse
#15 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
133 reviews
5.3 mi away
Neptune Hotel
Neptune Hotel
#2 of 10 in Berck
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Sables d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Sables d'Or

Address: 1184 avenue de la Concorde, 62780 Stella-Plage, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Stella-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stella-Plage
Price Range: $60 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Sables d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hôtel des Sables d'Or est situé à Stella Plage. Devant vous, vous aurez le plaisir de contempler la forêt et les dunes ou encore notre jardin arboré et sa multitude de fleurs.Construit dans les années 1900, la bâtisse principale a vu défiler le 20ème siècle et la fin de la dernière rénovation date de cette année, loin des cubes de l'architecture moderne, nos chambres ont chacune leur forme et leur cachet. Les deux bâtisses du jardin, si elles sont plus récentes ont été aussi rénovées en 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Sables d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Sables d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing