We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real 5˙* in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Savudrija
Certificate of Excellence
Kastav, Croatia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Real 5˙* in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Kempinski in the Umag, Croatia is beautiful hotel where you really can relax and enjoy. It's situated out of the town, surrounded with family houses.
Almost all rooms have a sea view.
Spa is an another story. Almost the best one in the "regular" hotels ( hotels which are not thermal hotels specialized for spa and wellness)It very clean, inside pool is not awesome, but together with outside jacuzzi makes beautiful entity (outside pools are open i the October too).
I liked food too. Breakfast is excellent at any time. You don't have to rush in order to avoid shortage of salmon, excellent cheese...
MY room was nice and it looks exactly like on the hotel web page.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Knoll_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic during your stay in the Bujština region, and of course for sharing with us your detailed impressions. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your Kempinski Adriatic experience.

Thank you as well for your kind compliments, which I have shared with my Team. They are the best recognition for a job well done and a great motivation for all of us.

I hope to welcome you back to our resort in 2014 and will be glad to assist you with your next bookings.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Knoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    153
    35
    16
    11
See reviews for
150
301
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Top notch hotel in the Istrian countryside. It is not too big a facility – just the right size, luxurious, with excellent service, state of the art rooms with high-tech equipment (B&O, fully integrated: bravo!), comfortable beds, marble bathrooms, excellent gym, excellent spa, good restaurants. This is not a place for party goers – it is a perfect place for couples who come with their own car (the hotel is a bit outside of the main Umag area – located in essentially a luxurious holiday-maker district, in nature, close to a good golf course) and want to explore Istria with style, play golf, perhaps stop by neighboring Postojna or Trieste (if you have a car, everything is nearby, and the roads in Croatia are excellent) or just relax along the very nice pool or down at the very nice beach. Cleaning and maintenance is perfect. Breakfast area is a bit small and gets crowded, but from the other side the food is great. Service and staff are friendly and very professional. Another good aspect of this property is that even though it is a Kempinski, it is quite affordable outside the main high season.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zlatko Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Knoll_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic during your stay in Istria and for taking the time to share your detailed impressions on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we succeed to meet your expectations. Thank you once again for your compliments.

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and will be glad to assist you with your next bookings.

Best regards,

Peter Knoll – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just about everything was perfect in this hotel. I am a frequent business traveller with luxury chains, thus was expecting a certain type of standard, but this was even one league above global five star. The exterior of the hotel does not tell much about how well and bright it is equipped on the inside. All elements make sense. Yes, this is a large hotel, but once you disappear into your part of the hotel, everything is muted and comfortable. Staff is very well trained not just to be pretending they care, but they do in fact care. The rooms are bright, very well kept (even when being nit-picky eg. in the bathroom or bed) and most of all quiet. We had a restless, crying toddler in the room next to us and you really had to listen hard to hear him cry. The best thing is definitely how much space there is for so many guests both around the pool and when going for breakfast or dinner. Despite being at dinner with 100+ people, one felt well served and still unaffected by others. Another fantastic effect of this is that families with and without children co-exist very well, because there is so much space. So recommendable for all! The beach is a minor walk away and beautiful. Food and drink service everywhere and very tidy amenities at the beach and the pool. Finally, just witness the view to Piran for yourself when sitting outside for dinner!
Verdict: make no mistake, this is an expensive hotel, especially when it comes to the food (fresh fish), but it is worth every cent. (In fact, you can go eat dinner outside just around the corner). The manager and his team are getting just about everything right. We felt extremely relaxed and taken care of after only one week there. This is a poster example of a coast hotel in Croatia.

Room Tip: Of course, the sea view to Piran is very nice, but we can very much also recommend the "park ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theurbancowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Knoll_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic during your stay in Istria and for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we succeed to meet your expectations. Thank you once again for your compliments and for a very detailed feedback. Basically, you managed to review almost every aspect of our hotel and to make your post a very valuable one for us.

Further on, September in Istria is very charming, because on one side the weather is still nice and warm and you can enjoy the sun and the beach, and on the other the gastronomical season characterized by wine, olives and truffles is starting.

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and will be glad to assist you with your next bookings.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Knoll – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel and it's facilities were excellent - the pools, spa, and private beach were great but the gym is disappointingly small and under equipped. Fantastic location with sea views and a quiet environment and the breakfast was excellent. Room well equipped and free wifi everywhere was a nice change from many hotels who still do not offer this. We would definitely go back but would not use the beach side restaurant again. The restaurant was cold and the staff kept forgetting too shut the outside door. We had to ask to be moved but it was still cold. Our initial drinks order took 20 minutes to arrive.The food was over priced and the quantity of each course was tiny. The quality of the food was fine but here was just so little of it. It's a shame as this spoilt an otherwise very good over night stop.

Room Tip: Book one with a sea view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walnut20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Knoll_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic and for taking the time to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor. Your constructive feedback continues to assist us in the improvement of our quality.

As I have seen from your comments you were dissatisfied with your restaurant experience and I would like to apologize for this. The temperature currently in the fall is difficult to judge in the evening, therefore we provide blankets to assist as we realize that it may get cold on the sea very quickly. Concerning the food portion I will speak with the chef to ensure that the size matches the pricing, very sorry that this was not the case during your dinner. Also about the slow service, I am sorry to hear that, as we usually receive compliments about the service, which is in general courteous and restrained at the same time, to allow for privacy but offering a great service experience.

I am satisfied to see that you have enjoyed the remaining aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. I have received many very positive comments from our guests concerning their restaurant experience and would like for you to have the opportunity for a positive experience in the future!

Best regards,

Peter Knoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Kempinski in Savudrija at the end of June. We spent a week there, our first week away since the advent of our second baby. Obviously with two under two we were more than usually reliant on staff for help with cots and warming food at breakfast, the boy tearing around and getting under people's feet but the staff couldn't have been more helpful and charming with it. The room was lovely and well maintained, lovely bathrooms and a B&O tv and sound system which was greatnflrmwatching the Tour de France.
I never shy away from providing unvarnished reviews and am happy to report that this was a great hotel, lifted by its lovely staff (Nensi for one) and an efficient front of house. True Kempinski quality. Worth staying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Knoll_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic during your family holidays in Istria and for sharing with us your impressions. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you as well for your kind compliments, which I have promptly shared with my Team. They are the best recognition for a job well done and a great motivation for all of us.

I hope to welcome you back to our resort next year or in the near future and will be glad to assist you with your next bookings.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Knoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Mr Knoll and team is managing an amazing place with excellent service! Staff is genuinely friendly and customer service oriented. The hotel is modern, quiet, clean and have ambiance. Great for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting. Both pool and beach is wonderful, and well serviced with drinks & food. The food is excellent (breakfast, dinner), great wine & local food selection. Highly recommended, and would definitely go for a visit again!

Room Tip: Sea view for the perfect holiday feeling, sit on the large balcony enjoy sunset over a romantic dinn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajsa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Knoll_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mrs Kajsa,

thank you very much for your kind words and detailed feedback. I am really glad to hear that you utterly enjoyed the time spent at the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic. I have shared with my team all the compliments received by your side, as for us your satisfaction is definitely the best motivation ever.

I hope you will visit us soon. It would be a great honor to host you again. In the meantime, do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Best regards,

Peter Knoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is one of the best locations for single couples. No kids required in this trip. Location is perfect near the boarder of Italy / Slovenia / Croatia. From the balcony if you are lucky you can see Venice. Very clean, professional staff, silver cutlery everything is at superlative. The problem appear when you want to make a bath in the see. But you can choose from the indoor / outdoor swimming. A good remark to the hotel restaurant for the food and location. Technologically speaking is the best hotel room every seen. Equipment's like B&O you cannot see everywhere.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are mandatorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Knoll_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic during your stay in Istria and for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we succeed to meet your expectations. Thank you once again for your compliments.

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to our hotel or to any other Kempinski hotel worldwide, and will be glad to assist you with your next bookings.

Best regards,

Peter Knoll – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savudrija
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
2.7 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
633 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
559 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Rosetta Hotel
Villa Rosetta Hotel
#2 of 6 in Savudrija
132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia

Property: Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
Address: Alberi - Alberi 300 A, Savudrija 52475, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Savudrija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Savudrija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia Savudrija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing