We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From A to Z perfect experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Savudrija
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I spend one week in this great hotel Kempinski Adriatic. From A to Z perfect experience.

Location is for those who is looking for quiet and relax destination without everyday rush and noise.

Countryside is perfect for walking, jogging, cycling, play golf or tennis. If you need clubbing and summer disco DON’T go here



Welcome and front desk – good with welcome drink, valet parking – just as should be

Hotel room – I had premium, very spacious with luxury details as electric curtains, Bang Olufsen TV with DVD player or free WIFI connection. And comfy beds, had nice and quiet 9 hours sleep every night.

Breakfast - all what you expect from Kempinski, fresh and delicacy with nice and friendly service. Hint – if you would like to enjoy breakfast without kids screaming go at 8.00

Pool – comfortable sun beds, enough for all. Without crazy Germans tourist which blocking sunbeds with towels as in other resorts across world.

But I spend all days on private beach by sea, believe me most beautiful sea what I saw in Europe summer destinations. Congratulation to Kempinski, this is really GEM in Croatia.

Beach boys are really friendly and they do their best to serve you and help you. The Barbecue on beach – yummy.

Restaurant on evening – nice experience, great view of sea and very taste food, great service.



Surrounding area – don’t waste time to go to Umag, nothing to see and choice of restaurant very bad. You could find some Pizza or Taverns in walking distance from hotel, they are quite good.

Hint – if you are by car go to Venice – 3 hours’ drive



Overall – Kempinski Adriatic hotel is one of the best destination in Croatia and maybe one of the best in this south region.

Ignore any negative comment to service or price and enjoy five star quality hotel.



Two point for improvement – Beach bar food offer – I would like to see some more options like club sandwiches, home-made ice creams

- Safety on Beach – did not see Rescue Ring or First Aid sign



Thanks to all staff in Kempinski for great vacation

Zdenek Lacman

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zdenek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 653 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

From a hotel or room perspective this is a 5 star hotel, but from a service/food point of view far from it. First of all hotel is isolated and I would recommend it only if you decide to go there and stay there for the whole vacation. The hotel is situated too far from the city and there is nothing else to do but to enjoy sea (which is much nicer in the south Croatia), spa or golf. Good for business meetings (lots of conference rooms), but we also noticed that there is a problem with GSM's because it is near the border with Slovenia and 1/2 of the time it is out of range of all networks. Breakfast was a huge disappointment due to the fact that it was too small for a 5 star hotel. They are a nice hotel, all room equipped by Bang&Olufsen... but they still have a lot of space for improvement.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gradovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We see that you stayed with us in September 2010 and hope that you had a comfortable rest at our hotel despite some points you disliked.

We are sorry to read we didn’t manage to meet your expectations last year. However, we have invested a lot in the resort since then and we are constantly working on improving in all service areas in order to meet all guests’ expectations. True, the location is isolated and to rephrase your words a bit, perfect for a good rest. Nevertheless, we offer a variety of events and are thinking about implementing new entertainment concepts for next year.

We thank you once again for your honest feedback and hope to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Konstantin Zeuke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in the hotel in early May. The hotel is wonderful, it has an indoor and outdoor pool with large sauna place, which we loved. The rooms are spacious and modern. We chose this hotel because my boyfriend plays golf. We found the hotel good but it really does not have a staff service that you are used to in a 5 star hotel. The bad service was for us the only minus. The only 5 star service I had was in spa where they also have wonderful face treatments.

There is nothing happening close to the hotel unfortunately. It is somehow isolated. Except sports there, you can not do much there. We like to go dining out, and there is nothing close to the hotel. But likely we knew some good restaurants in Brtonigla, which is a 20 minutes to half an hour drive.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maja05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are very pleased that you liked our facility and the Spa service. Our aim is to provide impeccable service to all our guests. Therefore, we are constantly providing trainings to our staff in order to maintain the service on a high level and to improve wherever needed.

On your next visit to Istria or to our hotel, we would like to recommend you to discover many of Istria’s rich historical and cultural sights and to enjoy the beautiful nature, since it’s a perfect destination for exploring by car.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Konstantin Zeuke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our family spent 2 days here in July. Beautiful hotel and room was perfect. Super clean and full of buttons and gadgets, which are not exactly 2 year old boy friendly, but nevertheless excellent.
Overall the staff were brilliant, the guy on the door was exceptional (who takes your car).
The breakfast and staff were also excellent, and breakfast had a great choice and beautifully laid out.
My only disappointment was the evening meal. It was so bad it was a joke. After having our kids meals brought out first, we eventually got ours 40 minutes after they had both finished. The steak was nice but my wife had chicken which was deep fried!! Maybe a pet hate of mine but there is nothing worse than deep fried whole chicken in it's skin. I also ask for a drink 3 times and didn't get one, then when he brought the bill he remember he had for the drink!! Really disappointing. Please for the hotels sake sort that out as the nearest restaurant next to you, which we went to the following day was fantastic and at a fraction of the cost.

Though the food experience was bad it will not put us off going back and I think the Kempinski experience overall is amazing.

Jason, Lucie, Anicka and Charlie.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your comment and for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that you have chosen our hotel for your holiday in Croatia and that you are very satisfied with your stay.

Thank you for your constructive feedback. It is very important for us to find out about our shortcomings in service and quality and to always improve wherever needed in our hotel.
I am truly sorry that we didn’t succeed in providing your family an exceptional dining experience at our restaurant. I have discussed your comment with my responsible Team members to follow up on the trainings we have for our staff and to make sure we provide good value for money in regards to all of our services. It is an imperative for us to always serve the highest quality of food in all our restaurants and bars as well as in room service.

We thank you once again for your comments and are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Konstantin Zeuke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hotl is nice, apartments even better then hotel rooms, but nothing to do in a 30 km away. Poor beach and very empty. Not very happy place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dino_Rasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonstantinZeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear Mr. Rasic,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.
The photos you posted do not match our property, although we are situated at the same location.
We were very much surprised and sorry to read you didn’t find the location inspiring. We truly believe there is a special charm in enjoying piece and quiet and restoring the energy in a seaside resort like ours.
We would love to have had the opportunity to assist you with discovering and enjoying Istria and its rich history, natural splendours, culture, arts and sports or some great food and wine.

We thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and would be pleased to welcome you to our hotel.

Best regards,
Konstantin Zeuke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed there in the beginning of May. The hotel is located in a bit deserted area which to my point is a plus - no big crowds, very quiet, clean and green. The area is great, the beach is very nice and though it was still too cold to swim we took some sun there. The sea is amazing and I can tell - really clean. As we travelled with car it was no problem for us to get aroung and visit nearby cities like Umag and Porec. By the way we went to Antica Torre restaurant in Umag, the best fish that I've tried in my life so far - the food was delicious!! And the service was really good and the staff really welcoming. I totally enjoyed my stay at this hotel and truly reccomend it. The only drawback - is that they were doing at that time some repairing works and we could hear noise from our room in the morning (we slept with the open window).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcholya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelStaff, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Istria and for taking the time to post your comment. It always helps us to improve the service and to keep us on course.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you were very satisfied.

We apologize for the occurrence with the repairing works. They should not disturb the guests, since we were assured that there would hardly be any outdoor works which would cause the noise.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us.

We would be pleased to welcome you back to our hotel or to any other Kempinski Hotel worldwide in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel last summer and returned for a few days. The rooms are spacious and in excellent condition. Our room had an incredible view over the bay (onto the snow-covered alps on one day) but even the rooms to the other side have a nice view over the Istrian countryside. Service was maybe not quite at levels you would expect from a Kempinski last summer but that was no longer an issue now. Service was what you would expect, very friendly and personable. Great front-desk team. Occupancy was light this early in the season and one of the two restaurants and the beach bar were still closed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelStaff, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much that you stayed with us again and took the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the amazing view on the Adriatic coast and had a comfortable rest in our Hotel. Your positive comments are the best recognition for a job well done and a great motivation to keep us on course in regards to quality and service.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savudrija
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
2.7 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
693 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
602 reviews
12.7 mi away
Aminess Maestral Hotel
Aminess Maestral Hotel
#1 of 12 in Novigrad
491 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia

Address: Alberi - Alberi 300 A, Savudrija 52475, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Savudrija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Savudrija
Price Range: $199 - $1,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia Savudrija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing