We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Picos de Europa
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

First impressions here were very good-well furnished public areas,attractive garden with pool, friendly staff.When we got to our room we were a bit disappointed to find it was one of the ones overlooking the building work(as mentioned in a previous review) but as it was the weekend this wasn't a problem at all.The room was a good size and clean and comfortable but we felt it could have been better with just a couple of additions e.g.mirror in room, drawers for clothes instead of just a small wardrobe.These were minor issues though and we would stay again.
At first the town didn't seem to have much, but there were fantastic views of the mountains and we found some very good restaurants and bars. They all seemed to have a good local feel to them. My husband really enjoyed trying the local cheese and cider! Also the town was a good location for exploring the Picos de Europa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    92
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
117
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I read the 1* review just before setting off from our hotel in Bilbao, but it was too late to change our booking, so we were a little bit concerned heading towards the building site known as Hotel Picos de Europa. With hindsight, we needn't have worried. This is Spain. Builders barely work during the day, so what chance is there of pneumatic drills hammering away throughout the night? The complaint about the heat, however, was well justified. Las Arenas was unexpectedly hot and very humid, and since the rooms were not air conditioned there was no choice except to open the windows wide during the night and pray for a cooling breeze. Our room was at the back of the hotel, away from the road but overlooking the picturesque river (that nobody warned us about when we made our booking!) Rivers don't knock-off early. This one kept going, and it was very noisy. I would have asked for a free breakfast, but I got my compensation in a different way; seeing backpackers washing naked. Anyway, the hotel and the staff were fine. Our room was fairly large and appeared to have been recently decorated. The furnishings were basic, but comfortable. There was a fridge, which was useful for cooling bottled water. The hotel has a lounge/library and there is a swimming pool, which was popular in the hot evenings. Location is the main benefit since the hotel is on the edge of the national park. There are also restaurants, cafes and supermarkets nearby. The hotel staff were very helpful giving directions to local attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We biked in the Picos de Europa and when we saw this hotel we were ecstatic. They let us put our bikes in a covered area near the parking lot. The staff was very friendly. Our room felt like it was designed just for 2012. We could hear the river behind us. We also rode our bikes and took the tram to a small town to view Bulnes, a large rock mountain.

Room Tip: If you are biking, stay in this hotel. If you are driving, stay in this hotel. Request a room alon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelersanonOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights as a base for motorcycle touring with our bike club. Staff are friendly and the facilities are good. They have a nice pool area as well as a very good bar - which is reasonably priced. Only let down was that the restaurant was closed, however there are half a dozen eateries within a five minute walk of the hotel, so no real hardship.

Overall a great little hotel and we'll be going again next year.

A video f the hotel and nearby restaurants here: https://vimeo.com/47380209

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very friendly staff/ welcome. All spoke perfect English but were good enough to put up with our halting Spanish (and, realising we actually wanted to speak the language, didn't do the usual; and revert to English immediately).

Room was spotlessly maintained and was airy despite the lack of air-conditioning (this wasn't an issue even in August as the mountain air was cool in the evening/night). Nice big bathroom.

Facilities were great- the pool/ garden area was a superb place to relax after a heavy day in the mountains. Hotel is slap-bang in the middle of Arenas and is superly placed for exploring the southern PIcos- particularly the Cares Gorge hike from Pocebos to Cain. Could not recommend this place more.

Room Tip: We had 112- which was towards the back- the sound of the babbling Cares river has a magnificent somn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nibblepibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The disappointments were relentless on our stay...
There is a major construction site directly opposite the hotel creating a huge amount of noise, but with no air conditioning you had to choose to suffer it (where you couldnt hear each other talk in the room, let alone sleep) or stifle. We were not advised of this when we booked the room nor is it mentioned on their website.
Despite booking a double room, we had two single beds. The Wifi didn't work. Whilst the signal was very good, the hotel had used the maximum no. of guest accounts. The bedside lights were broken / didn't work. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. We could hear the WC from the room above flushing very loudly. On the one night we stayed the restaurant was unexpectedly shut.
On top of all this the staff were unprepared to move our room (apparently they were fully booked) however when we asked for a reduction in the room rate of €100, they would not even prepared to concede in providing breakfast (€6) in compensation. We had many significantly better stays in other hotels in the region for far less €. We were desperately dissatisfied with the customer service.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Third time we have stayed here, and it was as fantastic as ever. Great welcome, lovely rooms and an excellent sitting room and bar on the ground floor. This hotel is in a perfect location in the Picos, and within walking distance of everything in the small village/town of Arenas - we can definitely recommend it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GilesDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenas de Cabrales
0.1 mi away
Hotel Naranjo de Bulnes
Hotel Naranjo de Bulnes
#6 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
84 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
#7 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torrecerredo
Hotel Torrecerredo
#2 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon de la Cuesta
10.9 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa de Cabrales Hotel-Apartamentos
Villa de Cabrales Hotel-Apartame...
#8 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Picos de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picos de Europa

Property: Hotel Picos de Europa
Address: Calle Mayor, s/n, 33554 Arenas de Cabrales, Cabrales Municipality, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Cabrales Municipality > Arenas de Cabrales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Arenas de Cabrales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Picos de Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Picos de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picos De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing