We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for the Picos de Europa”
Review of Hotel Torrecerredo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Torrecerredo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Torrecerredo. The owners (Jim and Pilar) were very friendly and helpful, and all of the staff took trouble to make sure we had everything we needed. Our room was clean and a good size, with a splendid view over the Picos mountains, and very quiet at night. Few frills, as other reviewers have mentioned (and you might notice some wavering in the electrical supply voltage and the water pressure!) but that was fine with us. The free WiFi now extends throughout the hotel, not just the bar area. There's a generous breakfast buffet (including cereals, toast and fruit), with eggs as an option, good packed lunches are available, and a very good set menu evening meal (with meat, fish or vegetarian choices of main course), all at reasonable prices. We took that option twice, and on the other evenings made the easy walk into town, where there are several restaurants - we found decent food and excellent, friendly service in all the ones we tried. Las Arenas de Cabrales is a good location for exploring the Picos de Europa from their northern side, and we would definitely recommend Hotel Torrecerredo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 242 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

A really friendly and good value for money hotel. For a one star hotel the service and food are exceptional. All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - filling, tasty and lots of it - great if you're walking every day. Jim and Pilar, the owners, are very knowledgable about the area and really happy to share their knowledge of walks and lots of other activities in the area. The hotel has wonderful views of the mountains and is ideally situated a short walk walk from the village with shops, bars and restaurants. It is exceptional value for money and I can't wait for an opportunity to go back. Many thanks to Jim and Pilar for their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited this hotel last year as part of a motorbike trip, and came back this year with a hire car to spend more time in the area and to do some more walking. As other reviews say, this is not a hotel with all the frills, but it is clean and comfortable, the views from the valley-facing rooms are spectacular and the food is plentiful and tasty. The owners, Jim and Pilar are very friendly and helpful, as are the rest of their team. Jim was a great source of advice about walks and gave us a recommendation for each day of our week-long stay. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a friendly, down to earth place to stay in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for fourteen nights, half-board, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The owners, Jim & Pilar are models of helpfulness and are well supported by an excellent team of local staff. Jim (English) and Pilar (Spanish) are both qualified mountain guides and impressively knowledgeable about hiking (in our case) and other attractions of the area. Well situated in a superb location, the ambiance is welcoming,friendly, relaxed and comfortable and good 'value for money'. The food doesn't pretend to be haute cuisine but is certainly satisfying, varied and filling - in fact ideal if one is expending a lot of calories each day! As the mood takes there are, also, other good restaurants within easy walking distance in the village. It's clear why Exodus Holidays use the hotel as their base in the Picos. The bottom line is that we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again - indeed look forward to so doing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobart15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The restaurant caters very well for vegetarians. We stayed 2 nights and both nights we had a vegetarian soup, followed by a choice of 2 vegetarian main meals. They also do a choice of 2 fish dishes and 2 meat dishes, followed by dessert. Breakfast was plentiful but basic. You could have a cooked breakfast if you wanted it but we just had the continental.

The owner was an Englishman who quickly solved our room issue when we arrived. We had booked the superior room but found when we got there that the rooms are quite small and the bed is only a standard double not a queen size which is the size we had found in most other hotels in Spain for the same price. The room did have a nice view if you pulled the curtains back but it was too hot in the middle of the day to do this as the room faced south directly into the sun. The room was very hot so we changed to a room facing the west which was much cooler. There is no air conditioning in the rooms so you need to be able to open the windows and door to get a breeze in even in September. Our new room was really a triple room, which meant it was bigger, had a lounge to sit on and a single bed as well as the double. We ended up using both beds as we found the double too small for the 2 of us, but I suppose it is what you are used to.

The bathroom as small and clean, with plenty of hot water. Great for a shower after a long hard walk. The towels are a bit thin; probably about time they got replaced with new ones.

Overall, we thought the hotel is best described as rustic and basic, not modern. Be careful driving up the long driveway as it is very narrow and the wheel rim was slightly damaged when I got too close to the grass on the side as there are large hidden rocks in the grass.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enjoy_the_breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stopped here for three nights the rooms were clean and well appointed the food was good the views stunning the service and staff very friendly and the hotel is ideally placed for a quiet relaxing break yet within walking distance of the village where you can find everything you need.
The owners Jim and Pilar will give you all the local information and help you need to explore the beautiful Picos /Astaurius region whether you are on foot, bicycle, motorcycle or car.
We would highly recommend a stay at the Torrecerredo and are sure to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Recommended from another trip I went on last year; the hotel is a minute out of the town but very quiet and peaceful. The frontage and terrace area look over the vista of the hills which frame the 9000' peaks in the seemingly not too far distance. The rooms are very clean with state-of-the-art wash facilities. Free Wi-Fi in the bar area and, although we could have gone into Town to eat, the menu was extensive enough (with the view) to stay there every night. Jim and Pilar could not have been more accommodating in providing directions, tips and, in some cases (climbing and cycling) kit for our day activities - cycling, climbing, caving, canoeing (twice, on different rivers), go-karting and seeing the beach with dinosaur footprints.
Definitely to be recommended.

Room Tip: If you can get a front room, though the majority are at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenas de Cabrales
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rural El Torrejon
Hotel Rural El Torrejon
#9 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
#1 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Picos de Europa
Hotel Picos de Europa
#4 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arenas de Cabrales
Hotel Arenas de Cabrales
#5 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
#7 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torrecerredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torrecerredo

Address: Barrio de Vega | Picos de Europa, 33554 Arenas de Cabrales, Cabrales Municipality, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Cabrales Municipality > Arenas de Cabrales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Arenas de Cabrales
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Torrecerredo 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like: small, owner-managed places brimming with character and run by caring, direct, unpretentious, humorous hosts, with great food, views, and wildlife, the lived-in, the unexpected, the artistic, and even the eccentric. We are for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Torrecerredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torrecerredo s l

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing