We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Klosterhotel Ludwig der Bayer
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Gastehaus Ethiko(Ettal)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Das Posch Hotel(Oberammergau)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arnika(Oberammergau)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romantik Hotel Bold(Oberammergau)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
72
70
21
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
70
21
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardacross the streetswimming poolbavarian hospitalityettal monasterygarmisch partenkirchenlarge grouphigh qualitybowling alleysouvenir shopsnice viewa great stayroom was largebreakfast buffetgerman alpsludwigtowels
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 178 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is located on the main road linking Ammergau to Garmisch Patenkirchen, just opposite to the Ettal Monastery. We had a room on the backside of the hotel, overlooking the gardens.
Standard double room #105 is spacious, newly remodelled, clean and comfortably equipped with a settee. The bed offering a good sleep quality, LCD TV, free and fast internet, a large writing desk, and a bathroom with a shower cabin, all kept spotless clean.
Half board is available for € 18.- for a 4 course dinner (reservation until 05.00 PM). The food was perfectly cooked and generously served. The “Braustuben” tavern restaurant offers all day traditional German food and Bavarian specialities. The beer brewed by monastery is excellent; my preference goes for the “dunkel Weizen” a speciality beer.
The breakfast buffet is richly garnished. In spite that a group of tourist on a bus tour pilfered the buffet, fresh supplies were immediately brought.
The visit of the Monastery should not to be missed. Free parking space is available in front of the hotel. A tourist card for the free use of public transport to Oberammergau and Garmisch is handed out, even to guests staying only for one night.
We enjoyed our stay and can recommend the hotel, which is reasonably priced for the service and quality offered.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view, as they are not impacted by traffic noise
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This might be the best place we stayed during our recent tour of Christmas markets in Austria and Germany. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel architecture is charming. The restaurant was great and the beer is freshly brewed in the monestary opposite the hotel. The room was spacious and nicely furnished with a balcony facing the Alps. The Christmas market on the Kloster grounds was very festive, especially in the snow. When we awoke in the morning, our car was buried in a foot of snow on top of the 2 1/2 feet already there. A perfect visit and we shall stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main part of the hotel facing the Alps.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C0rgiL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is opposite the Ettal Koster as previously said in a much quieter area than Garmisch or Oberammergau. The majority of the rooms appear to be large appartments some with kitchen facilities others without, we were in an annex that was connected to the main hotel by a walkway near to the swimming pool and had stunning views down the valley towards Oberammergau. The seems to cater for a number of coach tours with the meals being aimed at that market and personally the food was not of the standard achieved elsewhere in the area. The rooms were of high quality and good value, though the cleaner missed our room on one ocassion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74Tabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We chose this hotel after visiting Ettal Kloster on a previous visit. It is close to Garmesh (on a winding mountain road) and more cost effective for our family. We paid 82 euros/night for five adults. We have five adults (2 parents and 3 kids) and prefer to have rooms adjoining or together. We had an apartment with this hotel which slept five (1 queen bed/1 twin in the bedroom; 1 queen sofa bed in living room). It also had a dining room (combo with living room), a kitchen, and a bathroom. The apartment was in a separate building from the hotel proper, the same one that houses the spa and the pool. We had a lovely balcony with views of the mountain and valleys. It was a quiet location and very enjoyable. Ettal, itself, is a quiet little town with the Abbey as the main tourist attraction. There are a few restaurants in the area, but they have different opening hours. No AC but we never needed it. With the apartment, you could order food with the price of the room, but we didn't preferring to explore our options. We were provided a bag of hard rolls every morning. With that and coffee/tea, butter, and jam, we had our breakfast morning for cheap. We also visited the Kloster cheese store and bought some cheese as well and, of course, some Kloster beer! They also allowed pets which was a benefit for us because we had 3 small dogs.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. Marie 1 and 2 are closer to the mountain views, but the hotel rooms would be closer to the restaurants. Marie 1 has the spa and swimming pool in the basement.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Set amidst the beautiful mountain scenery, this hotel is full of charm with great food in their restaurant and bar area. The staff are helpful and, with the proximity of the local monastery and locally brewed beers, there is a superb range of beers and wines to accompany the food. The rooms are well equipped, comfortable and the hotel has a great indoor pool. This hotel is absolutely on our 'must visit again' list.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews