We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out....”
Review of Posthotel Ettal

Posthotel Ettal
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posthotel Ettal
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ettal
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I booked the hotel 2 days in advance, suddenly an option. It was the cheapest available on the internet (to be found) around Garmisch due to BMW Motorrad Days, and they asked for €280 for two nights. Insanely pricy, but as I couldn't find any thing else I went for it.

The initial impression was a friendly family run hotel, but then I discovered that the shower was partly broken (bikers like their showers), on the morning for checking the cleaning staff was knocking all doors at 8am (the excuse was that they did not know who was still in their room), then for payment, I ordered via the internet with my credit card, but they only would accept cash payment (excuse was that I only booked 2 days in advance, and their regular customers had all paid in advance - now do they only want regular customers???).

Have to be said that I was able to borrow a needle and some thread.

All in all, a place which a) can get them to charge this about of money, and b) do not take credit card from "non" regular customer in not a place I can recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casperghst42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

clean basic room. definately no frills in the family room. 1 bed, 1 pullout couch, closet, bath, toilet, towels.

Barbara spoke english very well. the breakfast was ample but german.
Don't stay here if looking for french toast! We did not leave hungry.

Unlike the other post, i had no problem with the pricing. I would say that rather than staying in Ettal, I would probably stay in oberammergau or garmisch in stead as it is a larger town. I stayed there in the family room which was very basic (much more so than the pictures)
We have 4 in the family and I was trying to save some money since 4 in a room in difficult in Europe. The couch was a littel tight for my 13 and 17 year old sons but we made due. Barbara did offer two rooms instead but the price was $75 more per night.

post hotel is in the center of town and central to a few things. Although i did not stay in the kloisterbrauhaus next door, i did eat dinner there it was great!. I would consider that hotel instead. I would stay if money was a real concern and it was the best rate you could find. you get what you pay for however.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

When I inquired about the price for a double room, I was quoted a price of 60 euros. I asked THREE times to clarify. However, when I checked out, I was informed that the price was per person, so that a double room actually costs 120 Euros. It is a nice hotel very close to a monastery in a tiny little town, and the room was big, but I felt like I had been tricked with the price. The night before we stayed in Garmisch, which is a ski resort town nearby, and only paid 70 Euros for a beautiful huge suite with a view of the Alps. No other hotel during my trip (I stayed at 14 hotels) quoted the price per person -- every other hotel quoted prices per room. I don't mind paying more for a hotel with nice facilities, but I would rather be told the price up front rather than getting a bill for twice what I expect when I check out, as that makes me feel like I have been lied to. When I inquired about the price difference at check out, the owner showed me a sheet of room prices which says, in the midst of a lot of text, that the room quotes are per person. However, I was not shown this chart when I checked in. Basically, the hotel needs to make it clear that they are quoting prices per person, rather than per room (especially since 99% of the time in germany rates are quoted per room).

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank congomongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank badancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Anderes Hotel buchen!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank grazia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blaue Gams
Hotel Blaue Gams
#1 of 4 in Ettal
151 reviews
6.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Linderhof
14.2 mi away
Hotel Schmied von Kochel
Hotel Schmied von Kochel
#8 of 8 in Kochel am See
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterhotel Ludwig der Bayer
0.5 mi away
Alphotel Ettal
Alphotel Ettal
#1 of 4 in Ettal
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gastehaus Ethiko
Gastehaus Ethiko
#2 of 4 in Ettal
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posthotel Ettal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posthotel Ettal

Address: Kaiser-Ludwig-Platz 18, 82488 Ettal, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Ettal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ettal
Price Range: $90 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posthotel Ettal 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posthotel Ettal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing