We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss”
Review of Da Francesco

Da Francesco
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Panarea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $52
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant came recommended by tour guide. Seating area and position are great, toilets are clean. Lasagna was Luke warm, small portion. Kids pizza was very small. No menus available. Staff very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    129
    62
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb Fish”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very charming place with a superb view! We had dinner here on our first night on Panarea, the fish was very fresh, we had octopus salad and a caprese as a starter, both were very good the tomato's in the caprese were so fresh and tasty! As main courses we had spaghetti Vongole and a local fish the name of which escapes me, it was a shame though that the muscles were sold out but I think that said a lot as everyone around us were having them and all seemed to be enjoying them. Great dining experience and very reasonably priced! Better than the other fish restaurants we have tried so far.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimboshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No atmosphere,veryslow”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Thought on
the basis of reviews it would be good. Wrong. Unfriendly. Slow.food awful. Do not eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuarm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food and staff in Panarea!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The restaurant is absolutely outstanding and after our first meal here we decided to come back almost every day! The food is fresh and tasty and reasonably priced compared to other restaurants in Panarea. The view from their terrace room is very nice. Make sure you try the tagliata di Tonno that is supposed to be spectacular - we tried everything but that as we didn't know it was their specialty! The waiters and very sweet and although the restaurant is always busy, the service is very good. The owners are extremely kind and friendly and I highly recommend to eat here both for lunch and dinner! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We must've had some bad luck this night, judging from the abundance of positive reviews here. Service was slow and random, waiter didn't seem to give a s***. (ie: "What is in this pasta?" "Umm, just the basics.. Tomato... Yeh. I dunno..*stares off into space*)
Very weird.

Meals came out 15 minutes apart from each other, one of the diners at our table never received their main meal.
No one really seemed to care.

In fairness, to put all this in perspective it was very busy this night so obviously the kitchen staff/ waiters were overworked.
The waiters (like most of the hospitality staff on this island) seemed to be either friends of the family waitressing for a summer job (one of our wait staff was probably 15yrs old, max)

Anyway, this doesn't change that we had an extremely unpleasant experience here this night, I hope for their sake that it was an exception and not the rule.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank verve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Francesco also viewed

Panarea, Aeolian Islands
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
 
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
 

Been to Da Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing