We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So personal......so delicious!”
Review of Hycesia

Hycesia
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Panarea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $87
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So personal......so delicious!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Dined at Hycesia four times last year and couldn't wait to go back this year. When we arrived, we were greeted by Andrea, who greeted us warmly like old friends. We had the big round table in the corner---tons of space and a view of the entire room, which was of course full and buzzy. They feature freshly caught fish every day----our table shared a sea bass baked in a salt crust that was so moist and fresh. Started with freshly made pasta. Wine list is superb and not very pricey. Andrea is very happy to make recommendations---very knowledgable. Special dining experience on all fronts. You want to make this your local when you are in Panarea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Penney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    58
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unforgetable dining experience!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

After eating here on our first night in Panarea, we knew we had to return on our second (and last) night. Both meals were outstanding -- the crudo, the pasta, the fish -- in fact, everything we put in our mouths was delicious. Andrea, the co-owner, is so warm and gracious. On our second night, we told her we didn't want to see a menu and hoped she would bring us whatever the chef (her husband) preferred. It truly ranked up there as one of our most memorable dining experiences. We hope to return one day...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dina4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place, great service-the owner is really nice and takes the orders and speaks excellent english-, fantastic food! A bit on the expensive side but worth every cent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were in Panarea for 3 nights and spent 2 of them at Hycesia. The owner was absolutely lovely and made our meals that much more special. She had an outstanding knowledge of wine and was generous and engaging and made us feel as if we were guests in her own home. The food was fantastic... Do not miss eating here if you are on the island

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Panarea”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ate here twice in 5 nights great clean food. Try he steak florentina the service was wonderful too. The owner is the most pleasant women and a pleasure to speak with.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Br0sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hycesia also viewed

Panarea, Aeolian Islands
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
 
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
 
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
 

Been to Hycesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing