We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise, brought a little bit closer”
Review of Tilnik Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cerkno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tilnik Farm
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for 14 nights with our family. As Slovenia was unknown to us, it was a great help to get advice from Kate. But that isn't the main reason why Tilnik is a small paradise. Everything begins at the road side down in the vally. Driving up to Stopnik 26, or rather climbing, is an experience whileworth. Because once you reach Tilnik Farm, you're in a green paradise of tranquility and peace. Nothing else matters !!!!
I will long remember our nice summer evenings, some of them with a very tasteful home-made pizza, made by Kate.
We certainly recommend Tilnik Farm to everyone who wants to relax after a stressfull busy working life.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick_surgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Slovenia is one of our favorite vacation spots- the nature is stunning, the people are friendly. It's an easy going, family friendly destination and Tilnkik Farm, perfectly placed in the gentle foothills of the Julian Alps was a great find! We cannot recommend it highly enough! We spent two delicious weeks basking in the sun (plenty of it), swimming in the rivers (right next door), eating delicious food (fresh, hand picked produce and homemade goodies and exploring beautiful Slovenia. We loved it so much that we actually seriously considered looking into real estate in the area. No joke! We have two small children who had a wonderful time- friendly dogs, chickens, a veggie patch, forest paths, river swims, star gazing, a cozy apartment... what's not to love?! To top it all off Kate and Brett are excellent hosts- helpful and welcoming and full of good travel tips. We left Tilnik certain that we would be back soon again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Tilnik is a wonderful spot to enjoy the west side of Slovenia with its lakes, rivers, mountains and clear air. After enjoying the experience of climbing up to this tranquil green paradise, (much easier the second time), we discovered a beautiful setting and got to try out both apartments as the bigger one became available while we were there. With three teenagers (or almost) we enjoyed having the extra room, but enjoyed both apartments. Kate and Brett are great at welcoming and available to glean information from and have done a great job in making this a wonderful holiday spot. They also have good contacts for doing white water rafting which is a must in this area! The area was good for cycling and within one minute from the front door you can already be walking up through a forest up to plain at the top of the hill. At 800m the views are stunning from the apartment with the green valley below and the never end peaks in sight of the middle and higher mountain ranges. With the help of a car train through the mountains you can also get to Bled and Bohinj (the more busy tourist area of Western Slovenia) quite easily from 20 min drive away.
We've already told friends about Tilnik and hope they'll enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Pearl2992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Tilnik Farm. The view was amazing, and the house was very clean. The owners were friendly and warm, and we were able to get some badly needed R&R. We were looking for something quiet, and Tilnik farm was just the ticket.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOneFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We got the hint from some friends of ours: Why don't you visit Slovenia?
This was not the first country that we thought of, planning our summer holidays. But why not try something new and discover an to us unknown part of europe!

If you are looking for a place that you can feel at home - though you aren't,
if you want silence in a beautiful mountain surrounding,
if you like to be free to harvest organic vegetables right beneath your window and cook a delicious food from it,
if you like to swim in clean, untouched rivers and be all by yourself,
if you find it inspiring to wake up with a wide view over woody hills in any direction and start into a world of nice little and tenderly designed villages that overflow with colorful flowers,
if you aren't afraid of little winding streets which lead from one little surprise to the next, meeting friendly and open people (who don't mind, that you can't even pronounce the name of their town!),
if you like to discover european history from the stoneage on by visiting caves, little town- or outdoor-museums, rather then standing in line in front of an overrun Louvre or Altamira-Museum,
then you should visit tilnik farm!

There could be said a lot about the friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts! At this point only that:
They will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. You can call them any time and they will organize for you whatever you need - and they are really as nice as one can be! A fact that is reflected in the care they have put in redoing the rooms of the old farmhouse. The neat and tastefully designed flats are equipped in a simple, but practical way and the nice wood and fabric gave us a homely feeling. Like whole tilnik-Farm!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Kate and Brett have created a real haven at Tilnik Farm. As hosts, they are welcoming and helpful, always taking time to either show you the best places to go, guide you on a good walk or provide you with a lovely bottle of Slovenian wine.

We stayed in the smaller apartment on the farm and felt at home there immediately. The terrace is an amazing place to sit out and eat, taking in the stunning views of the valley. We cooked our own meals there every night, because a glass of wine on the terrace at sunset was our favourite part of the day.

Additionally, the farm is ideally located for visiting Slovenia's fascinating caves, beautiful rivers and generally breathtaking nature. We would highly recommend that anyone who loves the beauty of Europe, but is less keen on tacky tourism, stays on this wonderful farm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We, a Dutch family of five, stayed in the big appartment of Tilnik Farm for one week during high season. To us Slovenia in general and the Tilnik Farm in particular was a revelation. The country absolutely matches the beauty of its neighbors, yet it is quiet,laid back, relaxing and very affordable. People are truly friendly and welcoming and generally have a sound command of English and German. The Tilnik farm is situated on a little "shoulder" overlooking a majestic valley and affords great views of the surrounding mountain range. The region is graced with crystal clear rivers and lakes, great hiking trails, charming villages, and interesting historical sights spanning a period of over 40.000 years! The big appartment is well designed and beautifully appointed with furniture from the region. It's got all amenities you need and is adorned with a covered terrace inculding a BBQ. Kate and Brett are wonderful hosts who will do everything they can to make your stay pleasant. They produce fantastic local delicacies,will be glad to guide you on "off the path" walks through their own forest and spring together with their lovely dogs and are a great source of information on the region and Slovenia. Our family enjoyed the week tremendously and we can wholeheartedly recommend Tilnik farm to everyone in search of nature, tranquility and authenticity .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cerkno hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Cerkno
Hotel Cerkno
#2 of 2 in Cerkno
52 reviews
4.1 mi away
Turisticna kmetija Pri Flandru
5.6 mi away
No photo provided
Tourist Farm Grapar
#4 of 5 in Cerkno
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kurn'k Bar & Rooms
Kurn'k Bar & Rooms
#2 of 2 in Cerkno
1 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tourist Farm Zelinc
Tourist Farm Zelinc
#2 of 5 in Cerkno
2 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gacnk v Logu
Gacnk v Logu
#1 of 2 in Cerkno
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilnik Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilnik Farm

Address: Stopnik 25, Cerkno 5282, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Cerkno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cerkno
Price Range: $53 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilnik Farm is a traditional Slovenian farmhouse which has been converted into 2 luxury apartments for guests. It is situated on the Western side of Slovenia 8km from Cerkno in the foothills of the Julian Alps "the sunny side of the alps". The Farmhouse is available all year round with walking, fishing, swimming, water sports, horse riding plus many more activities in the summer and skiing in the winter. The farm is set in an elevated position looking down the Idrijca river valley. This is a working farm with animals surrounded by organic gardens and hay meadows, fruit trees and forests. There is a large stream running through the property with deep clear pools and waterfalls containing Cray fish and rainbow/brown trout this eventually joins up with the Idrijca River. The overall aim of Tilnik Farm is to have a self-sufficient enterprise combining sustainable tourism with organic farming. At the moment the livestock of the farm includes; sheep, goats and chickens providing fresh eggs, dairy and meat and a Vietnamese pot-bellied pig. We have our own renewable fuel (firewood, hydro electric and solar powered energy). The Farm is run by Brett and Kate Bedford with their two dogs Lupa and Ruby who re-located to Slovenia in 2005. They live on site and try to help guests get the most out of there stay by offering advice on places to visit and what to see in Slovenia. They also offer fresh, organic farm produce and pick your own fruit and veggies. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing