We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly, lovely accommodation and great monkeys!”
Review of The Saffron House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Saffron House
Ranked #5 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2009

excellent, will definitely go back for longer. rooms were very luxurious with lovely little touches- like candles round the bath. very friendly hosts in a nice area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

We were extremely well looked after by Ian and Jenny who dealt superbly with our quite demanding needs! Friendly, kind and helpful, we wish we had longer to spend at The Saffron House as our visit was woefully brief.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cricketcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

My wife and I are just back from South Africa and we spent 5 days at the Saffron House. We stayed at 6 guest houses in total during a 3 week period and this was the best by far. It is located in quiet secure surroundings and has a great swimming pool which has private access from all the guest rooms. We stayed in the Mimosa Suite which is lovely and roomy and has all the amenities that we required. A lovely breakfast is provided, on the terrace weather permitting or in the airy dining room. (Try the French Toast and Bacon....SCRUMMY) It's only a short stroll from the beach where the Indian Ocean surf crashes onto lovely soft sand and there are natural rock pools great for cooling off in. Salt Rock is only a 45 minute drive from Durban Airport. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within easy reach and ample shopping oppertunities in Balito or slightly further afield in Umhlanga. Jen and Ian are the perfect hosts and are happy to offer advice on the area or answer any questions. We'll stay here the next time we're on the Dolphin Coast. Well done Jen and Ian!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillCowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

we had a very lovely stay at saffron house from the moment we arrived ian and jenny were very helpful-especially about local attractions
we did recomend this to friends and they have been to stay

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunflowersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

The owners were very helpful in every way. The beach was a very close walk and they have a lovely pool if you get tired of the beach sand.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shando4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

This place is just great. Spotless rooms, fantastic location, friendly atmosphere, delicious breakfast. One of the best guesthouses I've stayed in while traveling in South Africa, if not the entire world. Lovely lovely place, I strongly recommend it! Will be back, sooner than they expect :)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mikupiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We spent the Christmas holiday at Saffron house. For us who are used to a cold Chrismas with snow it was quite different but to be honest we didn't miss the December darkness of our own country at all. The service was excellent and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Ian and Jenny are very friendly hosts and we can really recommend this guesthouse to everyone who for any reason need a holiday or a mini break.

Magnus Wetterqvist
Sweden

Stayed: December 2008
Thank HaboPrincipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
1.1 mi away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#3 of 12 in Salt Rock
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
4.1 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#10 of 12 in Salt Rock
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zuider Zee Guest House
Zuider Zee Guest House
#1 of 12 in Salt Rock
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dash Luxury Apartments
Dash Luxury Apartments
#1 of 5 in Salt Rock
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saffron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saffron House

Address: 15 Robbins Road, Salt Rock 4392, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Price Range: $86 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saffron House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After traveling throughout Europe and Africa, we settled here in South Africa on the beautiful tropical Dolphin Coast. The Saffron House has all the best of our experiences, attention to detail and private gust areas. Our rooms each have private entrances, modern bathrooms, air-con, mini bar and satellite TV. Stroll back an easy 400m, from the beach and swim in our large pool or relax by our well stocked bar. Breakfast is served outside on our deck. Children welcome, Secure off road parking, close to local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Saffron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing