We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in Salt Rock”
Review of The Saffron House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Saffron House
Ranked #5 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Serenity in Salt Rock”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ian Gumbley and his wife Jenny are genial hosts at this guest house, tucked away on a quiet side road, in sub-tropical gardens with a pool, within walking distance of the beach, close to some lovely restaurants and cafes, the iconic retro Salt Rock Hotel (worth visiting for a drink and reminiscent of the East African Coast), golf courses and more, convenient yet away from the ever growing Ballito. Well situated within easy access to Durban's Airport, its a quiet comfortable haven, of comfort and serenity. Breakfasts are delicious and I loved my boiled egg with Marmite Soldiers!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main house opposite the pool, each with their own cool verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
69
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Been here twice. Friendly, personal and clean. Can't ask for more. The spot is beautiful, the pool is clean and there is plenty of parking. Breakfast is hot, made to order and the French toast is killer bee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exploding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We recently made a trip back to our native RSA from the UK and we took some family with us for the break. We were astounded to find such a super B & B in Salt Rock, having holidayed in the area over so many years in the past. The welcome is super, our rooms full of luxury and comfort (and bar fridge) - we had booked 3 rooms. The swimming pool is just outside with direct access and my son spent time there when not at the beach, which was a 5 min walk down the road. Breakfast covers all bases and is made to order, which makes it even tastier. We had an evening meal and tried the bunny chow, which was fabulous (as was the wine to accompany it). It is a family run home and was excellent value for money. Highly recommend it to anyone that wants some time near the sea but wants to be pampered but also have privacy - should suit both foreign guests as well as 'locals' from RSA. Many thanks to Ian and Jenny.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johndieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our stay was most enjoyable, relaxed and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast a pleasure and the setting peaceful and tranquil. I can honestly recommend a stay at The Saffron House

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My Fiance and I had an unforeseen experience that meant that we could not fly back to Cape Town. Luckily we knew of the Saffron house and contacted for a reservation, it was well after 7 in the evening but Ian was at hand and confirmed availability for us. we arrived well 9 that evening, but where greeted by Ian and shown to our comfortable and well appointed room. we hadn't had dinner yet, so when we asked Ian for a small sandwich, he came back a couple of minutes later with a huge platter of sandwiches and salad, and this was at 10 o clock in the evening, you would struggle to find this hospitality elsewhere. the next morning after breakfast he took time out of his schedule to transport us to the Airport. Nothing was ever too much for him, he made us feel relaxed and made our bad situation a lot m ore positive, we left with fond memories and would come back again, recommending is to all our friends and colleagues, Thank you very much Ian and The Saffron House, you where great!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burgerben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I found Saffron House to be most pleasant. I had booked a few days away from the city just to catch my breath after a busy and stressful few months. Both Ian and Jenny were most welcoming and helpful during my stay, and the staff are cheerful and friendly. My room was neat, clean and well appointed; everything worked and I had a very comfortable stay. Breakfasts were delicious too, and a chance to have a 'natter' with my hosts. Alas I never got round to riding as planned due to a nasty head cold leaving me feeling very under the weather. I will definitely return and wish you both good health, much peace and prosperity.
Yours sincerely
Lesley Wyldbore

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Saffron House is a great place to stay. Jenny and Ian have become close friends and little Jack our 'grandson'. The Saffron House gives great hospitality, superb breakfasts and easy access to the beach. Salt Rock is a haven of tranquility with the opportunity to walk miles on the beach and great cycling too. It is a far cry from the commercialism of so much of the Dolphin Coast. Nothing is too much trouble. If we walk all the way to Tinley Manor, Ian will jump in the car to fetch us back. For me being able to go to the Saffron House can also be immensely healing as when a very dear friend died after a long struggle with cancer. All of the staff are pleasant, cheerful and helpful. Lucas cleans the cars without being asked and Connie and her ladies not only keep everywhere beautifully clean and neat, but can also turn their hands to cooking breakfast and checking in guests. Jenny and Ian really try to train their staff to empower them.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the back are separate from the main house and a little more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
1.9 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
83 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,822 reviews
1.1 mi away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#3 of 12 in Salt Rock
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Jaime
Villa Jaime
#4 of 17 in Ballito
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Sheffield Beach
B&B Sheffield Beach
#8 of 12 in Salt Rock
1 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zuider Zee Guest House
Zuider Zee Guest House
#1 of 12 in Salt Rock
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saffron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saffron House

Property: The Saffron House
Address: 15 Robbins Road, Salt Rock 4392, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saffron House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After traveling throughout Europe and Africa, we settled here in South Africa on the beautiful tropical Dolphin Coast. The Saffron House has all the best of our experiences, attention to detail and private gust areas. Our rooms each have private entrances, modern bathrooms, air-con, mini bar and satellite TV. Stroll back an easy 400m, from the beach and swim in our large pool or relax by our well stocked bar. Breakfast is served outside on our deck. Children welcome, Secure off road parking, close to local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Saffron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing