We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but great stay!”
Review of The Saffron House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Saffron House
Ranked #5 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for just a few days whilst attending the Climate change Conference in Durban.

Although it was some distance away from Durban, it was an excellent choice!

It is a small property and feels like you are in a home with a family. The room I was in was nice, cozy and clean. The hosts/owners were great and I appreciated their attention to the small details and the fact they made me feel comfortable there. I would highly recommend this property. It was just unfortunate i did not get to spend more time and see the surrounding area.

Room Tip: I got a room at the front of the hotel which seemed to have a cottage, nautical theme and was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAOI82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 130 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2011

We were booked here for 2 nights in November 2011 by our tour organiser "Selftours". We had specified Ballito but was placed at Salt Rock. We still do not know why we were booked here as the owners claim this was their first booking from Selftours and we certainly did not specify it.
The room was cluttered with furniture and what cupboards there were was filled with the guesthouses own items. As it was a 2 night stop on a 4 week tour we like to totally unpack our suitcases but in this case we could not. It may have been because we had asked for twin beds that the ammount of space was to say the least tight.
There was 2 chairs outside our room by the pool. No table and it was not covered so when it rained you could not use this facility.
We have stayed in better 3 star establishments

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesCUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack0705, Owner at The Saffron House, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Dear Les, thank you for doing a review of our guest house, we would have hoped that you might have said something to us at the time of your stay especially as we took time and effort to take you out to dinner with our family which you kindly paid for. Maybe if you had told us we could have moved you to a larger room.
These reviews have great effect on businesses and can contribute to failure so to see this was very disapointing. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa and we hope you visit the country on many more occassions. By the way, the extra blankets in the waredrobe are for when the guests are feeling cold and require them. Also I an not so sure why you would want to sit outside in the rain and there is a table between yours and the room next door, we have now added an additional table.

Best regards
Ian Gumbley
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at the Saffron House for the first time in August for 3 days. it was excellent in all apsects. Very freindly hosts in Ian & Jenny with a warm welcome. An excellent room, very clean and spacious with all required amenities and to a good standard. Looking forward to stay in the future on a another trip to the wonderful South Africa!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AeroWyatt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I can really high;y recommend this guest house. I stayed there whilst I was attending a conference in Salt Rock and also returned when I had a day to spend in Salt Rock on vacation.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and there is free wi-fi available in the guesthouse. As well as that the owners can advise on things to do in the surrounding area. The guest house also has a pool which is a decent enough size to actually swim in (as oppose to some others places I've stayed at!)

Breakfast is lovely with a variety of food available.

I would say this guest house would suit anyone traveling for business or for fun.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank cazmantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This was our secand time to stay in Saffron, Ian and Jenny are very welcoming and they have excellent staff.Rooms are very comfortable and the catering is 5 star, We plan to return again next year which indicates just how good it is!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cami8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The hosts were warm, friendly and approachable. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable with all the necessities in perfect working order. We enjoyed a well cooked dinner and breakfast, and the pool was a welcome retreat.

Will definitely be the first place I consider staying when I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yegengovender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

The rooms are very clean and comfortable and well equipped. The swimming pool was lovely to cool down in after our long journey. Ian and Jenny are very welcoming and helpful. It was very useful to have Ian drive us to a local restaurant on our first evening. Breakfast was very good lots of choice. A really enjoyable stay thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAP0269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
1.9 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#3 of 12 in Salt Rock
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#11 of 12 in Salt Rock
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
0.7 mi away
B&B Sheffield Beach
B&B Sheffield Beach
#8 of 12 in Salt Rock
1 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Montagne
La Montagne
#5 of 18 in Ballito
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saffron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saffron House

Address: 15 Robbins Road, Salt Rock 4392, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Price Range: $85 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saffron House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After traveling throughout Europe and Africa, we settled here in South Africa on the beautiful tropical Dolphin Coast. The Saffron House has all the best of our experiences, attention to detail and private gust areas. Our rooms each have private entrances, modern bathrooms, air-con, mini bar and satellite TV. Stroll back an easy 400m, from the beach and swim in our large pool or relax by our well stocked bar. Breakfast is served outside on our deck. Children welcome, Secure off road parking, close to local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Saffron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing