We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected more got way less”

Siggi's German Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Salt Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“expected more got way less”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Having entered the restaurant the staff were very friendly and full of humour but that was the only pro! My husband ordered the eisbein which tasted old, i had the angel fish and three tiny prawns which was just covered in oil and butter, the beans was also not cooked properly. My daughter ordered the pork schnitzel which she did not eat because of it being extremely oily and sinewy with just a big blob of cheese on top. My son ordered the calamari starter which he too did not eat as it was stringy and the crumbs just fell off. We ordered him then a frankfurter which was extremely salty. So yes very disappointed after having read all the "good" reviews .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liesa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    73
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
201 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good German meals”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have a meal here every year when we stay in our timeshare apartment. Good traditional German food, their Eisbein is excellent! Ambience and service is good. One can also have German beer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food is excellent. Nice vibe for watching sport on the big screen TV. Friendly and efficient staff. Good food served in a short time - no waiting for hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A rustic restaurant with good food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We enjoyed the German décor and music while eating a delicious roasted eisbein which comes with really tasty sauerkraut (not overcooked) and roast potatoes with a variety of mustards on the side. An enjoyable evening with good service

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 31Tobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not realy to german”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

i had a assorted meat platter a couple of week ago there and it was way below anything german. I love the selection of beer, the service was very good, but maby i must try someting else the next time. Bis bald

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siggi's German Restaurant also viewed

Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
Shaka's Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Siggi's German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing