We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Canelands Beach Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midrand, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic stay at Canelands Beach Club”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked a sea-facing suite and was greeted by a beautiful, tastefully-decorated room incorporating a giant king size bed, a giant tub and rain shower. Magnificent appointment in a gorgeous setting. The aircon unit is tiny and underpowered to deal with a room of this size and the bathroom is a little lacking in amenities i.e. no bubble bath or bath salts for the tub. Other than those minor issues, everything was wonderful. The breakfast was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. When we needed something the guys at reception where awesome (Binesh and Minesh). I will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    35
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
79
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Room 8 - overlooking the ocean was the only saving grace for this hotel.

It was evident that there was no one in charge. The service was haphazard to say the least. There isn't enough space to write about all the things that went wrong during our stay. BUT - had someone been there who cared enough about service things could have been so different. There was nobody to meet us when we arrived, no one at the bar to take a drinks order in the evening. Basic maintenance items around the hotel have been overlooked for what seems like weeks.

I know business is tough - but there won't be a business unless some of these things are addressed!

Room Tip: Don't get room 6 as it opens directly into the dining room as mentioned in other reports
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Well... you see - this is how it goes. Often you stay in places that have the 'Nice' factor, you know, the places where everything goes according to plan, and you get what it says on the box. Then you get the places that you visit, that as you leave there is a part of you that reaches out, like a terrible two's hand hanging onto the end of a messy melting ice cream, and clings on to the door handle refusing to leave. This is one of those places.

The setting is incredible. Any closer to the beach and you'll be on it. The 25m (To the centimetre..) pool which runs parallel to the beach is absolutely amazing. As you take your breath while swimming you look across and it seems like you're actually swimming in the sea.

During our stay, my wife made use of the Spa which forms part of the hotel and from what I gathered is very reasonably priced and offers an amazing service.

Although there are a number of very worthwhile restaurants in the surrounding area, with it being so close to Ballito, however the in house restaurant is superb !! Definitely worth dining at...

That's it from this traveller. All in all a visit to Canelands certainly won't leave you with a bitter taste - quite to the contrary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllOurTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The deluxe sea facing room had an incredible view, right on the beach. Great bathrooms, comfy beds and linen. Some maintenance needed, cracked walls, curtains coming off rails etc.
No WiFi reception in room as advertised. In-room minibar was locked the whole weekend (despite requesting 3 times that it be opened). On arrival phone was not working. Only fixed after 3rd request. Never got served drinks despite sitting in lounge with a barman on duty and no other guests around. Morning breakfast was 2 muffins and yoghurt and muesli. Everything else was finished at 10:10 despite service continuing until 10:30. Why include it in the price if you can't serve it? No turn down service offered (although at this price it should be). All these issues were discussed with the manager on duty. Only the phone got fixed..... At this price (almost $400/night/room) one can do much better, maybe not the same location but definitely with less frustration.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WJO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

As an extended family of 12 from the Netherlands, we had booked 6 rooms (out of 10) for three nights. It was to be our relaxing stay on the Indian Ocean between Christmas and New Year. Of course it was not the hotel's fault that the weather on 1 January 2013 was awful. Had it not been for the chef, who gave three of us a lift to a nearby shopping centre on New Year's Day, it would have been a very secluded stay in a very inhospitable boutique hotel!
On arrival (30-12) it proved already difficult to make the manager understand that it would not do to put a family of three in the smallest room available. But with some persuasion this was sorted out. Dinner that evening at the hotel was superb, thanks to the chef! It was just not possible to put the bill on our joint room account, it had to be settled there and then. For New Year's Eve we had to book a package including a welcome drink and some buffet food at R175 per head. There was no option to have dinner at the restaurant. Needless to say it was a disappointment to have to ask for the welcome drink again and again for some of us, and to notice that all the food available was only deep-fried and all finished by 22.00 hrs. The DJ who was there to entertain the crowd decided to pack it all in at 22.30 hrs. That was the cue for the rest of the hotel staff to leave the hotel before 23.00 hrs. At midnight, we had to crack open the bar ourselves to get our hands on a bottle of champagne, which did not go down well with the night porter. On New Year's Day, we tried to book a taxi to go the nearest shopping centre at Tiffany's. There were none to be booked. The hotel's chef saved the day by offering three of us a lift! His junior however spoiled the afternoon by refusing to serve lunch to 6 of us when we turned up 10 minutes later than the designated "closing time" for lunch in an otherwise deserted hotel. The other 6 of us had managed to put in their order just in time ..... Luckily we could get some food from a nearby supermaket. We did manage to eat this in the restaurant while junior chef was preparing dinner for that evening. She ignored us completely. Luckily, we had booked a table for 12 for dinner well ahead!
It goes to show how a small hotel has no customer service to offer if there is no dedicated manager on site. None of the staff wished us a Happy New Year, we had to bring our luggage down ourselves on the 2nd of January when we had an early departure. It took quite a bit of negotiation in orde to organise a compact breakfast on the day of our departure. Canelands does however sit on a perfect beach location, but it does not deserve any credits for a lack of service and complete absence of hospitality.

Room Tip: This hotel provides no additional services that would qualify it to be an exclusive, boutique hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ToineWester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and besides the view and the quality of the food, the stay was atrocious. Primarily because of well-known power failures that management had not made provisions for. At the price we pay for the accommodation, they could at least put in battery or generator backup for the lights. And not leave us in complete darkness. The power failed on both nights of our stay for hours on end.
There are other minor things like the air-conditioning not working or broken electrical plugs or huge cracks in walls, broken ceiling and furniture, poor waiter and bar services and poor room ventilation resulting in rooms smelling like bacon from breakfast first thing in the morning… etc… that don’t belong in such a highly priced venue.
I would not return unless it was the last option available…

Room Tip: Don't take room 6. We did not stay there, but it opened up into the dining room. We stayed in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 8mmSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We needed a 1 night stay in the Durban area before moving on and choose this place for it's sea views and "on the beach" location. We were not dissapointed, loved the views from the terrace and had a nice walk along the spotless beach just below the club. A great location if you want a beach based holiday. Our room was at the back and not particularly special, dissapointed that the air con was not working, luckily it was not all that hot at the time.Bed was very comfortable and all else about the room was fine. Dinner & breakfast was good, nothing remarkable, but again nothing to complain about. Although brief we overall enjoyed our stay but would not consider returning as it is very expensive in comparison to other places we stayed whilst on holiday in South Africa.

Room Tip: A sea view room would be awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ongeypongey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
18.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,756 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 23 in Ballito
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#3 of 12 in Salt Rock
165 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canelands Beach Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canelands Beach Club and Spa

Property: Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Address: 2 Shrimp Lane, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canelands Beach Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Jewel of the North Coast is located in Salt Rock on the North Coast Of KwaZulu-Natal, this 4 star luxury boutique hotel has an Exceptional positon only 100 metres away from the beach which has direct access. Sip a cocktail in our 25m lap outdoor swimming pool parallel to the beach while watching the dolphins and wales playing in the surf. Our Western and Thai Asian infused Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can have a meal or a barbeque overlooking the ocean. Canelands Beach Club and Spa is 25 minutes away from King Shaka International Airport and is on the doorstep of all the major golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canelands Beach Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canelands Beach Club Hotel Salt Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing