We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ailing hotel with a breathtaking seaview”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ailing hotel with a breathtaking seaview”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel gets its 3 star rating by the skin of its teeth. Rooms have recently been revamped. Ours had broken curtain rail, hot water took over 3 minutes to come through and the bathroom was yuk! Can't imagine what the rooms were like before the 'revamp' - eek. Food is of 2-star quality plus variety is scarce. The actual building is old with the view from the pool being walls that need painting and pipes that need to be 'hidden'. Staff seem tired. Management team will soon come to work with a zimmer frame. Lovely setting, incredible sea-view. I will not be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeRace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
47
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in the self catering part of the complex. The accomadation was well equipt and comfortable, The veiws of the ocean was one to die for. The restaraunt in the hotel wasn't that good so don't use. Apart from that we we're both very happy with the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Great location and good facilities. Nice breakfast and the pool and beach are great. We stayed in a room with a bacony so great if you want to hear the ocean. The room is small, but very clean. The hotel is a little tired looking. But good value if you want beach access. The big problem for me was the lack of internet access and the cost to purchase internet access. A hotel this size should have wireless in each room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed one night on transit as a stop over after arriving at Durban Airport on the way to Kruger. Very convenient location from Durban's new airport. Hotel is on the sandy beach over looking Indian Ocean. The hotel is a little tired and we did not like our room - we requested and got an change to a larger room with a big balcony - made all the difference being able to sit outside with a glass of wine listening to the surf. Dinner is only buffet so we went out to a restaurant they recommended - 15 minute drive. Breakfast had a good selection at the buffet.

Room Tip: ask for roomon upper floor with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hankvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We only stayed at Salt Rock Hotel because the place we are usually going to in Salt Rock was fully booked. But we did not regret the stay as we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The Hotel is not new and has somehow an old fashioned atmosphere. The lady receptionists were very friendly and helpful which contributed to the feeling that we were welcome. The setting is superbe since the hotel is just at the beach with direct access to it. The only two things I did not like was that down at the lawn there were no garden loungers and sun umbrellas. There is only a rustique bar which was mostly closed late afternoon and evening where you can sit in massive wooden chairs. But you cannot sunbath on the lawn with sea view because of the lack of loungers. There are enough loungers at the quite nice pool. The second thing was that in the evening you can only have dinner buffet style. If you are not very hungry they are not able to prepare a light meal like a salat or chips. They instead advise to go to the restaurants nearby (like the German Siggi's). Otherwise, fine place. Could be a little bit cheaper though.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laulalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This hotel was our first stop at the start of a 2 week holiday in S Africa. We got there tired & sticky after a flight from London, to be greated by a beautifully warm evening and the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. We had a good sized room looking out to sea & immediately opened the windows so we could hear the surf. The room waslight and bright and a good size though nothing amazing, but had everything we needed. Not the prettiest of buildings from the outside, there was loads of space downstairs with various eating areas, bar, pool, nice reception & direct access to the beach. DON'T SWIM THERE - I nearly lost my husband to the rip tide on the bathing beach to the right. Very dangerous undertow.
The staff and owners were very friendly, the food was surprisingly good for a buffet/carvery, plentiful good breakfasts and a nice snack lunch around the pool. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Great food, grate vibe and a wonderful time. Service was tops and all the staff were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tygerbergzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
1.1 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
83 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
104 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,065 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.1 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Basill Hulett Drive, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the gem of the Kwa Zulu-Natal Dolphin Coast, Salt Rock Resort, consisting of Salt Rock Hotel, Caravan Park, Salt Rock Palms Timeshare and Salt Rock Country Club. Salt Rock Resort is nestled amongst tropical palms on the golden shores of the warm and sparkling Indian Ocean. Salt Rock on the Dolphin Coast is home to hundreds of resident Bottlenose Dolphins and is a small resort 50km or 30 minutes north of Durban. Transfers from Durban International Airport are easily arranged. Salt Rock is surrounded by several world class golf courses. The largest shopping centre in the Southern hemisphere is a mere 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing