We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Stay”
Review of The Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach House
Ranked #10 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“wonderful Stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The beach house Salt Rock was ideal for me in every way. Pet friendly, wonderful room and views
Breakfast each morning delicious and different each morning.
The owners/hosts were charming and warm. I loved my stay and my blind old lady Cliquot(My dog) was very settled and showed no signs of stress at being in a different place.
I WILL BE BACK it was simply divine and the locations to the beach and my family perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just returned from a relaxing stay at this cosy, pet friendly B&B. the room with balcony, jacquzzy bath and shower was more than spacious; brilliant breakfasts and sea views made this a real winner.full use of fully kitted kitchen, lounge and TV room an extra plus! walking distance to beach another plus. we specifically went at this time of year end May beginning June to duck the crowds and heat. owner operated and managed very inviting.

Room Tip: sea view premier suite with balcony tops reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Overall a nice place but lacking a bit of flare! The executive room does not have aircon, no bar fridge and the smallest TV I have seen in years. Its 2014 not 1990. Its all white which is nice but if you go for white you must clean more often, curtains were in need of a wash.
Oh if you are a bit late checking out the owner will come and tell you to leave, not ask, but just a rude, time to get out folks. Breakfast was nice, friendly overall except when we were told to leave. The picture of the pool deck is old, not nice wooden chairs to lounge on in the sun, now there is one white and one blue plastic lounger and the pool was dirty.

Room Tip: Most rooms looked very small go for the executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great hospitality. Delicious breakfast! Beautifull ocean view. It was an ideal break from our busy city life styles. Quiet beach where we could take our labrador for a walk without a leash, just walking distance away. Quick drive to Ballito and Umhlanga where we could experience a little more of the hussle and bustle. Great restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roelf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

For the price we paid for the honeymoon/premier suite p/night, we expected automatic gates on entering the property, not a gate that you have to lock and unlock with a padlock, percale bed linen with good pillows, coffee, tea, sugar and milk in the room, not just a kettle with 2 cups, a descent size TV (in working order) and a small fridge with a mini bar. The breakfast was also a disappointment. No fresh fruit juice, a platter of fruit, yoghurt, etc., just 3 containers with cornflakes, all Bran and muesli .And then you were offered bacon and eggs. In comparison to other establishments where we have stayed for less the price we paid, all the above were included. We felt we were ripped off and taken advantage of because of the high season.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The owners were friendly and helpful and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. Beautiful views from the room. very centrally located. Breakfast was not fancy, but perfectly good and tasty. Only downside for me was the dogs in the house as I am not an animal person.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have open plan bathrooms - check before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliWix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the Beach House for one night. We enjoyed the splendid viewe over the Ocean, and the spacious rooms. In fact we were booked at an other Bed & Breakfast in Shaka's Rock but due to problems with the watersystem the owners of the Beach House were asked to host us for that night. Unfortunately it Rained the first day so we couldn't use the sunchairs on the veranda beside the pool... something to come back for later.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
0.6 mi away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#3 of 12 in Salt Rock
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Saffron House
The Saffron House
#5 of 12 in Salt Rock
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Zuider Zee Guest House
Zuider Zee Guest House
#1 of 12 in Salt Rock
108 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 23 in Ballito
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 3 Osborne Drive, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing