We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, relaxed, wonderful hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Absolutely beautiful location with the most amazing sea views. It's the perfect little getaway for a cosy, relaxed stay. Sue is the perfect host, she is so pleasant & ensures you have everything you need. This was my sister & I's third stay & we'll definitely go back! 2 thumbs up as always!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThandekaMagudulela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed in the self catering Garden Cottage with my boyfriend over Christmas 2013 and returned in February after having such a lovely stay. The apartment had everything we needed and the terrace outside was great. It is described as not having a sea view but if you were stood up you could see the ocean and it was a lovely private area - great for braais!
Sue (owner) became like a second mum to us - helping with anything she could and nothing was too much trouble. We loved her and her husbands company but if your private people they will leave you to it and the accommodation is very private unlike some B & B's.
We walked to both Sheffield beach and Salt Rock from the apartment most days and both walks were pleasant. The area is really beautiful with lots of restaurants to try out. We saw a huge number of dolphins from Sue's balcony one morning which was a real treat - amazing!
We would go back in an instant if we visited the area again. A *

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mcmullenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

great location, stunning sea views and very pleasant host, namely Sue. Enjoyed our stay but have one complaint, stayed in the Blue Waters s/c room which their website says is a brand new 2 bedroom unit, not so maybe 10 years ago, so very misleading, even though the unit is clean, it is dated and weathered.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank falow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a lovely place to stay, great apartment with stunning views of the beach and ocean. We saw six pods of Dolphins in one day.
Sue the owner was charming and couldn't do enough for us. Her husband Captain Dave, told us where to find Leopards when we went on Safari. We are defiantly going to return. A very memorable holiday. Five star.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Siggyclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Amazing little get away for our 1st wedding anniversary! Beautiful room with stunning sea views, what a blessing to wake up to the sound of the surf on the rocks down in front! delicious breakfast served over looking the ocean. The wonderful owner Sue is such a delight and made our stay so special!!! we can't wait to go back for our next anniversary!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. We were fully equipped in a private self catering flat with the most spectacular veiws. The highlight was the great breakfast that was served on a private deck with a beautiful ocean view, we saw whales and dolphins! We had a great host, very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived fairly late coming straight from the airport which is an easy drive. A warm welcome was given by Sue our fantastic host. Beer wine and snacks were provided, most welcome. Great wi-fi access allowing us to check in at home. Even though it was dark the views down over to the sea were amazing sat out on the veranda. The views in the morning were even better, we had a lovely breakfast outside with eggs from the resident chickens. We were fortunate to see whales and dolphins go by. Easy to see from our elevated position. Nothing to fault the place, great place to start our hols and get some good advice. We have booked to come back for our last night as well!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Rock hotels
1.5 mi away
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#2 of 12 in Salt Rock
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#11 of 12 in Salt Rock
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dash Luxury Apartments
Dash Luxury Apartments
#1 of 5 in Salt Rock
102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zuider Zee Guest House
Zuider Zee Guest House
#1 of 12 in Salt Rock
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Sea

Address: 16 Summit Road | Sheffield Beach, Salt Rock 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing