We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality with sea views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hospitality with sea views”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a lovely place, and well situated---either to avoid the crowds and noise of the city, or as a night-stop on the way to the KZN game parks. We were on our way to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi National Park.
Our party was in the suite above the garage, which has 2 en-suite bedrooms, plus lounge, and kitchen. It’s fully equipped with tea and coffee, a fridge, microwave, TV and DVD in the room, plus plates and cutlery. If the weather is good, there is a braai (barbecue) area by the pool that guests can use, then you wouldn’t need the kitchen. The balcony has stunning views down over the indigenous garden (with fragrant frangipani trees) to the sea and rocky beach.
Unfortunately, when we were there it was pouring so we could not eat outside, nor really enjoy the sea views much, although we could tell they were wonderful. The stairs up to the suite were very slippery in the rain, so we had to be careful.
Lock-up garage for guests cars is a great feature, for many reasons, not least of which are all the vervet monkeys that live around here---very mischievous creatures that try to get into everything.
If the weather is good, breakfast is served on the balcony overlooking the beach and many mornings you’ll see dolphins swim past. On rainy days, Sue serves breakfast inside (as was our case).
The breakfast was excellent: fruit, cereal, juices, joghurt; cooked eggs (fresh from her chickens running around on the grass outside), bacon, sausage, mushrooms and tomatoes; toast with home-made jam and marmalade; tea or coffee. Sue and her husband are wonderful hosts, who chatted about the local sights, life in South Africa etc, and made sure that we had everything that we needed.
We paid R450 pp for bed and fully cooked breakfast. No charge for kids under 5 years. But I think prices have increased a little very recently. 50% deposit required.
As you leave the highway for the Salt Rock/Sheffield Beach turn-off, there is a shopping mall, with a Super Spar, banks, a Topps Liquor Store, and a pleasant restaurant called BBM---where we ate, as it wasn’t possible to braai at our B&B. Some of us had the fish of the day, which was a local Red Roman. Delicious. Reasonably priced too.

It's about 15-20 minutes north of Durban’s King Shaka Airport. Take the N2 north to exit 214 and cross the bridge back over the highway towards Salt Rock. The web page gives full directions.
Contact Sue Stiles at bbsue@iafrica.com
Tel: +27 (0) 32 525 8079
Web: www.bbbythesea.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in the Blue Ocean flat at Sue's B & B. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we stayed on THREE separate occassions. Sue is a very generous host and goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable and help with any of your needs. The place has gorgeous ocean views and my husband even saw dolphins swimming one morning (the Dolphin Coast was true to its name!). It is clean and comfortable and plenty of room for a small family (we were a couple with a young child).
We highly recommend this B&B for travelers to the area and if we ever make it back to South Africa I am certain we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Sue's is a 2 star B&B and it delivers very well on that promise. We stayed in the apartment with exceptional views of the ocean. The apartment was clean and well provided and with two bedrooms is good for four but a push for five. There is a new Spa supermarket nearby that is excellent. The beaches are good and there are a couple of ok restaurants nearby. Litchis Farm is well worth a visit for breakfast and cakes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BishopLatimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed at 'Blue Waters' flat, a very nice and comfortable two bedroom apartment with large patio that has amazing ocean view. The apartment was very clean, serviced daily and had fully equipped kitchen. There are a few nice beaches and restaurants in the area. Sue, the owner, is a remarkable person, took very good care of us. We will definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrey_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Top notch lodging, as my wife and stayed for 3 nights during the World Cup. Sue (the proprietor) is very hospitable and attended to our every need. Stunning views to the Indian Ocean down below the room, a top notch breakfast complete with eggs, meat, tea, coffee, potatoes, cereal, toast, etc. We loved staying here and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
2.6 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
83 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,823 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Saffron House
The Saffron House
#5 of 12 in Salt Rock
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Villa Jaime
Villa Jaime
#4 of 17 in Ballito
100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zuider Zee Guest House
Zuider Zee Guest House
#1 of 12 in Salt Rock
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Sea

Property: Bed & Breakfast by the Sea
Address: 16 Summit Road | Sheffield Beach, Salt Rock 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing